We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well positioned and great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Village Tropical Retreat
Ranked #27 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We booked and stayed in a Studio Room. Great sized apartment with the basics for a kitchenette. No cooktop but we did not want one and a microwave fine by us. What more could you want on a holiday. Large shower bathroom. Public transport, if you want it, is one to 2 streets away. Less than a 5 minute walk to the front and a nice 15 - 20 min leisurely walk to the centre. We booked through an online agency and received excellent value. The staff were all very friendly and extremely helpful. Great value overall and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macca46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, and were upgraded to a 2-bed apartment as it was our honeymoon. We were also pleased to find some free smellies and a voucher for a free dessert platter at the hotel restaurant - nice touches!

The apartment was massive, and in a complex over the road from the main hotel. It had a small pool that was bitterly cold with limited space around it. However, as Cairns is basically a base for exploring the rainforests and reef, the pool was under-used and so relatively peaceful.

Location-wise this is set back on the main road and about a 15 minute walk from the main restaurants in Cairns. If there are hotels closer to the Esplanade at similar prices it might be worth checking those out first if you want to be closer to the action, however judging by the buzz on the Esplanade I would guess closer locations might prove noisier. We got some noise through the night from passing party-goers but not too much.

Breakfast is served in the hotel restaurant and is a basic continental. Wifi is not free but you do get 20 minutes free use of the hotel's computer.

In all we were impressed with the room upgrade and the size of the apartment, but disappointed with the hotel location and with Cairns in general. In fact, if you're only going here in order to see the Rainforests and Reef then it might be worth checking out Port Douglas instead as it's closer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kazgraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Bay Village during the very busy QLD school holidays! Despite being full we were upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment from a 1 bedroom!

The larger apartments are in a separate building across the street from reception, but we were walked over and the second building has secure carport parking!

Location wise it is a 5 minute walk from 'muddy's' playground - a MUST for families, beach volleyball courts and free bbq's! The main area of town is about a 15min pleasant walk!

Our apartment had 2 x bedrooms ( one king with ensuite and 1 twin with separate bathroom), full kitchen with full size fridge and laundry with washer, dryer.

The staff are attentive and helpful! There are 2 pools, one on the main complex and one in the apartment block! Both modest in size but refreshing and the perfect place to cool off! Note, that they are not heated in the winter but fine for us southeners traveling to thaw!

Breakfast was included daily in the Bay Leaf restaurant - the provisions were plentiful and the staff delightful! The restaurant is Balinese and a true asset to Cairns - deserving of all it's awards!

We enjoyed every minute of our week here and would most certainly return!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 25pixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Bay Village Resort, has been an excellent place to stay for my 10 days in Cairns this month. Its not far for a leisurely walk into the city centre, or local buses pass across the road. My room was excellent, with regular cleaning if required. I choose to have my room made up on the days i was away on trips out of town. It had a microwave, fridge, sink, table & chairs. Which enabled me to have some meals in my room. Washing facilities are good. The staff were friendly and helpful. There is lots of outdoor areas for sitting around, either by the pool or in the tropical garden. The bathroom was clean and had all you need. I was in the tropical garden area downstairs, had no problems with noise etc. people have to talk and move around, after all you are in resort accommodation. There is a restaurant attached to the resort, i had my final breakfast there and it was good value. I got 5 hours free internet. The cock n bull tavern around the corner had wholesome hearty meals which i had a couple of. And shops are close by to get other food. All the tour companies will pick up and drop off there. And local buses can take you to the town centre, botanical gardens, palm cove, the zoo etc. The only whinge I have is when i went to check in and print the boarding pass on their computers, i could checkin but not print it out, as the computers aren't set up to print remotely to a printer in the office. I enjoyed my stay there and would stay again. Very reasonably priced. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Me & my partner stayed at the hotel 12th - 19th May & all I can say is the hotel was perfect. The check-in process was good they even escort you to your room and make sure the room is ok. We had room 29 which is directly above the reception but this did not make any difference to the noise levels it was fine we got plenty of sleep during our 7 night stay. Outside our room was a balcony type area with sunbeds which were for the use of all the hotel guests this was perfect as it was in the sun all day and gave you a place to relax.
Included in our weeks stay was breakfast which was served in the hotel Restaurant again this was very nice good choice of food and you could get as much or little as you like.
The walk from the hotel to the centre is around 15 - 20 mins but its a fairly straight forward walk and all well lit up at night.
All in all our week in cairns was brilliant from start to finish, dont worry about any of the bad reviews you see on here about this hotel I think some people just like to moan about the smallest things.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

we stayed here as part of our honeymon upon checking in we were given a room upgrade at no extra cost the hotel grounds are really nicely done, the location is very good too i would definately recomend this hotel

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonnyt0779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

My wife and I recently stayed for 6 nights in a studio apartment which came with 1 double and 1 single bed (neither being particularly comfortable), a kitchenette with fridge and a reasonable bathroom. Although reasonably clean, the décor was a bit drab and it could do with a refurb. Sound insulation was particularly poor, so if you value your sleep, think about it very carefully. I also see little point in having no smoking in rooms when 1 foot outside your door there is a smoking table (which was occupied almost constantly by our neighbours) resulting in smoke pouring in through the poorly fitting windows/door into our room. Not pleasant. The pool was nice, but small and with only space for 4 (yes 4) sun loungers around it! Overall, it is better to think of the hotel as simply a base to explore Cairns (actually, not Cairns but the surrounding area and the reef as Cairns itself is rather disappointing) rather than a place to savour per se. The location is fairly quiet generally, but is a longish walk from town and most of the restaurants. However, one of the hotel's best features is the adjoining Balinese restaurant. It is excellent - we ate there on more than one occasion. Although when we booked we were told that Wi-Fi is payable, we were offered 5 free hours when we checked in which was most welcome.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SussexAdventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
627 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
0.3 mi away
Cascade Gardens
Cascade Gardens
#19 of 63 in Cairns
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
#20 of 63 in Cairns
359 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#12 of 63 in Cairns
1,163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#26 of 63 in Cairns
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Village Tropical Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Village Tropical Retreat

Address: Cnr Lake & Gatton Sts, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range: £63 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Village Tropical Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique style hotel with a Balinese theme, nestled amongst lush tropical gardens. Centrally located with a short stroll to the Cairns esplanade. Guests will experience warm hospitality, with personal, friendly and attentive service. An onsite award winning licensed Balinese restaurant offering authentic Balinese cuisine with a tropical ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bay Village Tropical Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Village Tropical Retreat Hotel Cairns
Bay Village Tropical Retreat Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing