We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value, clean, good breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bay Village Tropical Retreat
Ranked #26 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
UK
Level Contributor
95 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“great value, clean, good breakfast”
Reviewed 28 August 2008

Nice rooms, great price, a bit of a retreat and provides excellent overall value for money
Had supper there too. Food very good, not expensive and way better than the fast food stuff sold in most of the town centre restaurants.

Yes it is a 20 min walk from town centre (see a previous complaint) but the town centre is a bit of a dump... so who would want to stay there.

  • Liked — clean, spacious, good food
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lord_Blackadder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    221
    105
    31
    17
See reviews for
108
236
42
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2008

My girlfriend and I went to the Bay Village Retreat last July and it was fantastic. We had some doubts about this hotel but when we arrived everything was great. The receptionist was very nice and we had no problem with the room.
It is a good value hotel. I will recommend it if you are looking for a little friendly hotel in Cairns without wasting money but with a good standard.

Just two little problems:
- The breakfast is very light comparing to what other hotels can offer.
- The hotel is still 10 to 15 minutes walking to the heart of the city.

But overall, it is an great hotel!!
And do not go there without going to the Balinese Restaurant of the hotel, it is simply gorgeous!

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomtomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2008

Stayed here for 4 nights in August 2005, great place.
The location was excellent with easy walking distance to the marina and shops and restaurants. The staff were really friendly, particularly when they came to pick us up from the airport, they were knowledgable and happy to advise on the best things to do in Cairns.
As for the rooms - clean & tidy. We had been given two adjoining rooms which was great as we were a family and standard rooms only sleep two. The larger of the two rooms also had cooking facilities.
We were staying on a B&B basis and the buffett for breakfast was fantastic! We also used the pool at the hotel which was good but it didn't get much sunlight i don't think so it was rather chilly.
All in all an excellent hotel!

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — Pool
  • Stayed August 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Rubber_Duckie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2008

Very rude receptionist tried to charge us again for a trip we had already paid for and wouldnt take our word that we had paid and said there was no record of it (very rudely). I gave her our invoice that we paid off and she said 'that means nothing!!' Their unorganised staff hadnt taken the charge off our room.

I have also never stayed in a hotel where they make you pay per night to use a safe (there are none in the room) however there are notices in your room saying there are thieves around, lock your doors, dont take a lot of cash out etc. Doesnt make sense!

However nice clean rooms with small kitchen.

I must say that the restaurant there is very nice though - Balinese.

Very nice friendly hotel airport shuttle driver - and its free!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Honeyjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2008

The hotel was well priced and very clean. The staff was very friendly and helped us book excursions for the days ahead. But by far the best thing there was the wonderful restaurant. We ordered a feast for two that gave us a taste of just about everything on the menu. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — the restaurant
  • Disliked — the beds were a little old
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2007

The start of our australian break was 5 days at Bay Village. We were collected from the airport by a member of the management who told us the hotel wasn't overly busy on that particular day (bank holiday). Arrived at hotel reception having just travelled on a 10hr flight at 8.30am. Told by a very unhelpful receptionist that they were BUSY (we actually belived the management as it certainly didn't seem busy and if it was why was he reading a magazine) and the room wouldn't be ready until 2pm. He could store our bags. With that he went back to reading and left us standing. We were given no information on where we could get a drink, or freshen up so we ended up walking the 15 mins walk to the shops. As it was a bank holiday many of the cafes were shut but we managed to find friendly staff at a cafe in the town. We arrived back at the hotel at 12 hot, sticky and extremely tired and ended up dozing on the sofa in reception. We eventually got into our room at 13:45 - had a shower and went straight to sleep exhausted. What a waste of a day, had their been facilities for us to get a drink and freshen up on our arrival it would have been much nicer. The receptionist was unfriendly and we spent the rest of our stay avoiding asking him anything. The rest of the staff were friendly - but first impressions count.

The Bay Tree restaraunt served excellant food and the inclusive breakfasts were nicely presented and cooked.

The room was clean and a good size, with its own kitchenette. It was situated next to the restaurant and late at night it was noisy with the sound of bottles being disposed of - so be aware if you are a light sleeper (luckily we are not).

My advice if you are going to be staying at Bay Village is get a later flight so you arrive 2pm onwards as there appears to be no give in the checking in time unlike the other 5 places we stayed all of which accommodated us on arrival.

There is an excellant range of brochures for excusions in the reception and it is ideally situated if you intend to spend most of your time on excursions or have your own vehicle.

  • Liked — Spacious
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank horseshoes89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2007

I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived at this hotel. You never know what you are getting when you book from a review and don't have a personal recommendation. I loved it. I felt like I was in the South Pacific. They have an open air lobby which is nice. I don't know if I got upgraded or if that was a standard room but it was huge! I am used to small hotel rooms in my price range and this was a very nice surprise. I had a kitchen area and very large bathroom. The bed was comfy as well. I felt like I was staying in an apartment. This hotel is a 15 min. walk into the heart of Cairns which was fine for me. Downtown Cairns can be loud at night if there is an event going on so staying 15 mins. away was nice and quiet for me. I was traveling alone and felt very safe walking around by myself. The staff is very friendly (well at least for the most part). Be aware, they charge extra for everything to beach towels, safety deposit boxes and if you don't wash your dishes and put them away in your room, they will charge you extra. You must dine at the yummy balinese restaurant on the property. It was delicious but also be aware, you can't take a doggy bag home in Queensland. The portions were pretty big. So if you can't eat it all, you can't take it with you. 1 added bonus is they provide free shuttle service to and from the airport. Overall, I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — The feel of the South Pacific
  • Disliked — I thought they charged for too standard items, ie. beach towels, safety deposit and if you didn't clean your dishes in your room. That is what maid service is for.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank travelingfool01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.4 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#20 of 64 in Cairns
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,081 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#24 of 64 in Cairns
465 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#15 of 64 in Cairns
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Village Tropical Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Village Tropical Retreat

Property: Bay Village Tropical Retreat
Address: Cnr Lake & Gatton Sts, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Village Tropical Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique style hotel with a Balinese theme, nestled amongst lush tropical gardens. Centrally located with a short stroll to the Cairns esplanade. Guests will experience warm hospitality, with personal, friendly and attentive service. An onsite award winning licensed Balinese restaurant offering authentic Balinese cuisine with a tropical ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bay Village Tropical Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Village Tropical Retreat Hotel Cairns
Bay Village Tropical Retreat Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing