We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated but lovely warm and friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Village Tropical Retreat
Ranked #24 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dated but lovely warm and friendly hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2010

We stayed at the Bay Village on either side of a liveaboard diving trip from Cairns. The rooms are mainly centred in a courtyard fashion around a small swimming pool (that seems to have been built after the rooms as it seemed very squeezed in). The hotel is a good 15 minute walk from the town centre but that wasn't a real problem for us.
The rooms were clean and spacious - we had a one bedroom apartment that had a kitchen area, living area, bedroom and bathroom. The rooms and furniture were quite dated but all in good order.
The reception staff were very friendly and helpful especially booking us a day trip to Cape Tribulation and the Daintree River.
We really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend the hotel. Very suitable for families and couples and those not looking for mad drinking sessions in backpackers. A great escape.
Don't forget to eat at the restaurant - beautiful Balinese food.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DizLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    221
    102
    30
    15
See reviews for
108
232
42
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2010

stayed for for 3 nights in December and had a great time, the staff was very friendly the rooms are decorated with simply furniture but its was very clean and spacious. We loved our stay as it was close to the Esplanade and only a 10 minute walk to the city Centre. We thought it was very good value for money, and the Bayleaf Restaurant was the highlight on our whole trip we will be back, thanks to all the staff who made our holiday very enjoyable.The free airport pick up, was another bonus we took advantage off.

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stefan54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove,
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2009

Arrived at 9am after long day previously and an overnight flight. Room not available until 2pm. Was advised to 'go for a walk'. Having been awake for nearly 30 hours this was not what we wanted to hear. We didn't realise at the time but breakfasts were still being served but we were not asked if we would like one. We would have gladly paid for it. Tea/coffee was not offered either but, again if it had been we would have paid.
Otherwise Bay Village Retreat was fine. Room was very spacious and well kitted out. Room service was very efficient.
Bay Village need to look at their reception procedure and make visitors/guests more welcome particularly after overnight flights. I would not make it my first choice in the future.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyBromsgrove_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2009

stayed here in sep 2004 , it was a good clean hotel , about 3 star irish standards , with all facilities required by us . Very helpful and friendly staff. Good balinese resturant at this hotel .

Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pk247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2009

Reading the other reviews, we are so glad we choose this inexpensive yet good quality hotel. Sure the pool is a little smaller but the resort is cosy in style and the reception staff friendly with housekeeping also doing an amazing job (although we did not see them but on return from tours the room was always spotless)! All tours can be booked and picked up from the hotel which is a bonus. It was a holiday to celebrate our anniversary and good thing we dined at the restaurant...they serve a whole array of different balinese dishes to try (sort of like a tapas but indonesian style) so very different and utterly delicious and very special without being expensive...(hungry just thinking about it now:-))....all in all we have had great memories of this stay and would definitely recommend our friends and family to stay here....also with the airport pickup and dropoff, another bonus!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomj001975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2009

We stayed at Bay Village for three nights during our trip in cairns, we found the hotel very pleasant, inexpensive, nice clean rooms, friendly helpful staff, and a fantastic restaurant. We were surprised with the standard for a 3.5 star hotel, and found it an ideal place to be located to do all the tours in the surrounding areas.We had a pick up from the hotel with every tour we booked at reception, and it is only a 15 min. walk to the pier along the waterfront esplanade. We certaibnly would stay there again, thanks for making our stay so enjoyable.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jamie060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

This was a good place for the money. We were on a budget and I didn't want to spend a ton on hotels since we were doing so much sightseeing and would only be sleeping there but that backfired on me in Brisbane and Sydney. This was a good location, not a bad walk to the esplanade and downtown. It was quiet, had a very nice staff and the room for four was spacious. It only had a small pool but we didn't need one so that was ok for us.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#16 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#18 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Village Tropical Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Village Tropical Retreat

Property: Bay Village Tropical Retreat
Address: Cnr Lake & Gatton Sts, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Village Tropical Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bay Village Tropical Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Village Tropical Retreat Hotel Cairns
Bay Village Tropical Retreat Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing