We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE MOST RELAXING & ENJOYABLE PLACE EVER”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bay Village Tropical Retreat
Ranked #26 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“THE MOST RELAXING & ENJOYABLE PLACE EVER”
Reviewed 31 October 2010

the boutique resort is made in a spectacular way that you can just sit back and relax. Very friendly and effecient staff all round the hotel. they helped us all the way. The rooms were very nice and clean and also really good sized rooms. Ended up staying at the resort for 7 days instead of 3. please do not miss the food at their restaurant which is bay leaf, had a meal up there almost everyday . Authentic balinese food with excellent flavours and they also have one awards for the best wine list in cairns. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and it was a birthday well enjoyed.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppiess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    221
    105
    31
    17
See reviews for
108
236
42
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

The Bay Village was a fantastic hotel located a 15 min walk away from the main water front and about an easy 30 min walk away from the Reef Tour boat docks. The hotel was beautiful with its tropical trees, salt water plunge pool and clean rooms.

The Bay Leaf restuarant is by far the best in the area (We ate there 3 times and you even get a discount if you get it ordered to your room!) and I could not recommend it enough!

The service was excellent allowing us a free upgrade of our room as the hotel has quite when we were there.

I would happily stay here again and would recommend it to everyone thinking of going to cairns.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutch321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2010

The bayleaf restaurant wich is located within the hotel is so so so good , dined there 4 nights out of my 7 in cairns. Happy hour at the bar with all those award winning wines by the glass!!! cant waite to go back booked in again for the 14th of november..yehhhh

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenniefisho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

The hotel staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. The garden and pool area are beautiful. If you get there earlier in the day they have limited gated secure parking which was great. The on-site restaurant is very good, although a bit pricey. The room itself was nothing fancy but clean and did the trick. The overall feel of the hotel made it that much better.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lil_calgary_woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2010

What I loved about this place was the lush greenery. It felt so tropical! I loved it!

I definitely didn't share the experience the other reviewer had. Our room was clean and sheets fresh. I checked out the bay village website before booking and there was no false advertising there. The place was exactly as the photos they posted. Sure the pool wasn't olympic sized but it was perfectly sweet and tranquil place to hang out and unwind by.

The staff were very helpful and gave us directions around town and pointed out good attractions nearby. They booked our reef trip for us which was brilliant. A fun day out. We also took a couple of nice drives up to Kuranda and the beaches nearby based on staff recommendations.

Last but in no way least was the hotel restaurant. Normally when traveling we avoid hotel restaurants but in this case, the food was sooo good, we opted to stay in to eat at BayLeaf a couple of times.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed out stay at the Bay Village, it was indeed a very tropical retreat and would love to make another trip back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trippindaisys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2010

I stayed here for a few days with my girl friend on my way to New Guinea for business and spent a few extra days because I'd never spent time in this part of Australia. I really liked it. The rooms are neat and clean and there's a small but decent pool that I hung out by in the mornings. The staff was helpful and the prices were reasonable.
The restaurant is really a stand out here. Its very good and worth going to even if you don't stay at the hotel. As far as a good convenient place to stay I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bfitzg410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Seriously don't stay here!
I was on my honeymoon and this was sold as a 4* property when it is nothing but a cheap American style motel.
The picture you see in the brochures is not of the hotel but the entrance to the restaurant.

The pool is nothing but a pond in the centre of the complex. The balcony is shared with everyone else on your floor.

Our room was basic to say the least. Old rickety bed, dirty sheets and my pillow smelt of stale sweat. There are no curtains here - just wooden slatted blinds that don't meet in the middle so anyone can see into your room.

All the loungers and seats on the shared balcony can be used by anyone and we had a fat old man lounging semi naked against our window smoking a cigar.

We didn't even stay the night and moved to the Holiday Inn which is a 4*. The receptionist informed us we were not an isolated case - people had moved from the Bay Village to Holiday Inn for the same reasons, dirty, cockroaches etc.

DO NOT STAY HERE

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CEK1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.4 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#19 of 64 in Cairns
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,080 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#24 of 64 in Cairns
465 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#15 of 64 in Cairns
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Village Tropical Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Village Tropical Retreat

Property: Bay Village Tropical Retreat
Address: Cnr Lake & Gatton Sts, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Village Tropical Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique style hotel with a Balinese theme, nestled amongst lush tropical gardens. Centrally located with a short stroll to the Cairns esplanade. Guests will experience warm hospitality, with personal, friendly and attentive service. An onsite award winning licensed Balinese restaurant offering authentic Balinese cuisine with a tropical ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bay Village Tropical Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Village Tropical Retreat Hotel Cairns
Bay Village Tropical Retreat Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing