We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright”
Review of Hides Hotel Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hides Hotel Cairns
Ranked #54 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I was staying in the hostel part and although the hotel is old, it's clean and BIGGGG!!!!!!
It's in a brilliant location and is close to literally everything!
I was quite happy with everything as I hadn't paid much to be there!
I enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelflecsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

239 - 245 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2011

I really have to give this hotel five stars because it exceeded all my hopes and was great value, but in doing this, I have to admit that not all rooms may be as good as that given to us.

We booked the cheapest so were expecting a shared bathroom. We must have been upgraded without them telling us because we walked in and found a lovely ensuite bathroom. We were clearly lucky here. I also expect that some of the rooms might be noisy, though I can't be sure. The hotel is in the very heart of town and backpackers, young 'uns and yobbos do some very serious drinking not far outside. However, we had an inner room and it was beautifully quiet. Lucky again, I know!

Reception was very helpful and efficient. Wakeup call came through right on time and there was no-fuss friendliness.

Room was very clean, beds were comfy and the room had everything we needed. Unfortunately, as we had to catch a train before 6.30 am, we could not avail ourselves of the free brekky, which we would have liked, but we felt we more than got our money's worth and would happily stay again, hoping for the same luck we had this time.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for inner rooms if you want quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderlustWend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Stayed here for two nights. Location is in the heart of Cairns and accordingly noisy when drunk teens browse the streets in the morning. Double rooms are reasonably large but there's not much storage space though. Free breakfast but poor selection of spreads.

Room Tip: Take price discount instead of free breakfast (free anyway)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HecBarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

The stay at the Hides Hotel spoiled the beginning of my vacation in Australia. The room was located in the old part of the building and had a very awkward small just like the entire building section. The rooms were simply filthy and the aircon a big joke. My room mate and me found found at least too long hairs in the sheets that clearly did not belong to us. Afterwards we decided to put the inlays of our sleeping bags onto the bed and sleep in them. If somebody wants to stay here and profit from brilliant location in the center of Cairns he or she should make sure to get a room in the newer section.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eck2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Our school group stayed at the Hides Hotel for three nights as part of a two-week self-organized tour of Australia and New Zealand. To keep costs down, we did not rent a van in Cairns, so had to get everywhere by foot. The location of this hotel cannot be beat. Just a few blocks to the launch terminal for Green Island, similar short walk to the railway station for the train to Kuranda, and all the shops and restaurants within easy walking distance.
While the hotel itself is not a luxury accommodation like a Ramada or Hyatt, the rooms were very nice, quiet, and spotlessly clean. There is a complimentary continental breakfast each morning with cereals, bread, pastry, and beverages, and a charming outdoor veranda on which to relax and eat. The staff at the reception desk were consistently courteous and helpful. Everyone in our group gave positive reviews on this hotel.
We obtained a nice discount on our four rooms by using a promotion code online. Given the reasonable rates, good quality, and excellent location, I would not consider staying anywhere else but the Hides Hotel if I were to return to Cairns!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GroupLeaderSJHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Clean, tidy rooms, friendly receptionist's, TV don't work properly, air conditioning well past their use by dates,noisy & don't cool the room and external noise can be a problem. If you are on a budget, then hides is for you, but if you want comfort, quiet accommodation especially if you are past 40, then I suggest you look for something more up market.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MBK1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We stayed here for one night at the start of our trip. We booked this hotel because we wanted somewhere cheap, central and clean and it ticked all our boxes. Reception staff were very helpful, we had a problem with our A/C which they fixed within 30 mins. The included continental breakfast was a bonus, especially as we wanted an early start the next day.
Would definitely recommend this hotel for a short stay, but perhaps not if you're spending longer in Cairns.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
3.2 mi away
Cairns New Chalon
Cairns New Chalon
#42 of 63 in Cairns
70 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#25 of 63 in Cairns
510 reviews
0.3 mi away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#59 of 63 in Cairns
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
2.5 mi away
Cairns Southside International
2.3 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#29 of 63 in Cairns
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hides Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hides Hotel Cairns

Address: 87 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range: £42 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hides Hotel Cairns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hides Hotel Cairns offers affordable accommodation right in the heart of Cairns. It is surrounded by restaurants, pubs and shops and is only a short walk to the Casino, Reef Fleet Terminal, Esplanade Lagoon Pool, Cairns Central Shopping Centre and Kuranda Railway Station. With the convenience of public transport 100 metres from reception and a tour desk to book all your tours that will collect you from our Hotel, you will be able to enjoy the Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest, Kuranda Village and all of what Tropical North Queensland has to offer. Hides Hotel Cairns is a preferred and recommended leisure property for the tourist, corporate, family and large groups visiting Tropical North Queensland. It offers both the comfort and convenience of a modern, large and comfortable hotel or the nostalgic charm and grace of budget heritage rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hides Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crocodile Hides

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing