We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central location”
Review of Hides Hotel Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hides Hotel Cairns
Ranked #54 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed 31 December 2011

I had a large, clean, pleasant room in the newer part of the hotel. It's in a superb location, right in the CBD with the bus terminus outside the front door. Staff were efficient, friendly and courteous; the continental breakfast was a little disappointing (no fresh fruit), our tour group's meals from the Hides cafe downstairs were good. Lack of liquour licence was no problem as there is a BWS bottle shop next door to Woolworths directly opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ozanima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 241 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2011

Great location - I love the pool. Spacious, gracious. Good staff and parking.Will go again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edward m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

No frills property and very modestly priced, light breakfast on the balcony consisted of cereal, toast, tea, coffee buffet style, we had a good basic clean room with ensuite bathroom. Excellent laundry facilities too a real bonus. A short walk to a huge free pool complex we did not use the hotel pool. Each evening we sat on the balcony and enjoyed the atmosphere of being rght in the town with lots of lush trees around. Buses to everywhere right outside. Would go back next time.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HOTDIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stayed here for a week and it was not as bad as what some of the previous reviews made it out to be. Sure we had no view - except for a brick wall when you looked out the window, and breakfast wasnt realy anything to write back home about. It can be quit noisy, but it seem to be better in the newer section of the hotel - we stayed in the "twin superior" rooms - that is further away from the street + not on top of the pub below the hotel, but still had a noisy airvent closeby that had us keep the window(glazed) closed for most of the time .
Location is defninately this hotels greatest asset! Irish pub right below the hotel, Woollies just accross the street, bus+Taxi ranks within 100m, curio shops galore, "beach" + harbour + convention centre + most shops + many pubs/restaurants/cafes + casino within 1km from the hotel (Within easy walking distance).
If you are goiing to be spending a lot of time in your hotel room, then rather shop around and you can find places with much better views, at the same rate eg. an apartment at "Harbour lights" for 100-120$ per night !?

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the newer section of the hotel, as they are quiter + have newer Aircon units in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wouter675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I was staying in the hostel part and although the hotel is old, it's clean and BIGGGG!!!!!!
It's in a brilliant location and is close to literally everything!
I was quite happy with everything as I hadn't paid much to be there!
I enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelflecsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I really have to give this hotel five stars because it exceeded all my hopes and was great value, but in doing this, I have to admit that not all rooms may be as good as that given to us.

We booked the cheapest so were expecting a shared bathroom. We must have been upgraded without them telling us because we walked in and found a lovely ensuite bathroom. We were clearly lucky here. I also expect that some of the rooms might be noisy, though I can't be sure. The hotel is in the very heart of town and backpackers, young 'uns and yobbos do some very serious drinking not far outside. However, we had an inner room and it was beautifully quiet. Lucky again, I know!

Reception was very helpful and efficient. Wakeup call came through right on time and there was no-fuss friendliness.

Room was very clean, beds were comfy and the room had everything we needed. Unfortunately, as we had to catch a train before 6.30 am, we could not avail ourselves of the free brekky, which we would have liked, but we felt we more than got our money's worth and would happily stay again, hoping for the same luck we had this time.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for inner rooms if you want quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderlustWend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Stayed here for two nights. Location is in the heart of Cairns and accordingly noisy when drunk teens browse the streets in the morning. Double rooms are reasonably large but there's not much storage space though. Free breakfast but poor selection of spreads.

Room Tip: Take price discount instead of free breakfast (free anyway)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HecBarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
3.2 mi away
Cairns New Chalon
Cairns New Chalon
#42 of 63 in Cairns
70 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#25 of 63 in Cairns
510 reviews
0.3 mi away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#59 of 63 in Cairns
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
2.5 mi away
Cairns Southside International
2.3 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#29 of 63 in Cairns
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hides Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hides Hotel Cairns

Address: 87 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range: £42 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hides Hotel Cairns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hides Hotel Cairns offers affordable accommodation right in the heart of Cairns. It is surrounded by restaurants, pubs and shops and is only a short walk to the Casino, Reef Fleet Terminal, Esplanade Lagoon Pool, Cairns Central Shopping Centre and Kuranda Railway Station. With the convenience of public transport 100 metres from reception and a tour desk to book all your tours that will collect you from our Hotel, you will be able to enjoy the Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest, Kuranda Village and all of what Tropical North Queensland has to offer. Hides Hotel Cairns is a preferred and recommended leisure property for the tourist, corporate, family and large groups visiting Tropical North Queensland. It offers both the comfort and convenience of a modern, large and comfortable hotel or the nostalgic charm and grace of budget heritage rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hides Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crocodile Hides

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing