We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do Not Stay Here!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hides Hotel Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hides Hotel Cairns
Ranked #58 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Do Not Stay Here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Whatever you do - do not stay here. I have never encountered (I backpack and have seen a lot) such a dump. Not only is the place a dump but no one cares who works there. The front desk staff are very open to tell you how much they hate working there, that the boss and owner do not care so why should they care. We were sent to 3 rooms before we found a room that had been cleaned as each time they room was not made up. The room we finally got was noisy, everything was broken, the mini fridge was discusting - not sure what was growing in it plus had broken glass in it, etc. We eneded up checking out and going across to Global Backpackers which was not only cheaper but 300% cleaner and quieter. While at Hides we asked for a wake up call as we were going out on the reef that morning and they did not even give us our wake up call. When we mentioned it at the desk it was....oh well - not sure why you did not get one. Tell the manager when he comes in at 8 am - knowing that we would not be there to tell the manager as we were on our way out to the reef that day.

I booked this hotel through Air Canada's hotel website and I also complained to Air Canada about it but they do not want to do anything about it so this is why I am writing this review as I have never gone online to post a review before. Do yourself a favor - do not stay here!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms - stay away from this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mic r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hides M, Manager at Hides Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
It is always disappointing to hear negative experiences from guests. Generally speaking our guests have responded positively. We are a centrally located Hotel right in the city centre of Cairns, close to all amenities. We are a budget Hotel and focus on providing clean and comfortable amenities with friendly and efficient customer service. There have been many positive remarks about our service in previous reviews and our team on reception to a large extent has not changed. The managers and owners realise that friendly service cost nothing and are disappointed to hear such feedback. We will continue to emphasise to our staff the importance of friendly Customer service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    114
    105
    48
    33
See reviews for
45
127
69
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bathurst NSW
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

I will start by wondering why an employer would ever employ a guy who NEVER smiled, NEVER expressed any form of gratitude of hospitality, NEVER made eye contact wil you when you walk in or out, and then put him on the front desk? WHY????? Okay, now that's off my chest, there was not one other thing negative about this hotel (apart from some late night/eatly morning noise from a nearby establishment) and we found it PERFECT! Once we found how to get to the pool, it was great. Location, location, location. Perfect. Breakfast, well it's been said before me, but great never the less. Remember what you paid, and the Hides will definitely be seeing us back if we stay in Cairns again. We'll just avoid the afternoon shift to check in!

Room Tip: Ask for the new section. Centre rooms would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

i stayed in a very plain room, with a really noisy air-conditioner and tiny little tv with 2 channels. After 3 days of staying there i became covered in a rash, the doctor told me it was bed bugs (similar to scabies) and that i had gotten it from the mattress in the hotel.
i told the people at reception, but they didn't care at all, offered no refund or discount and didn't even want to know what room i had stayed in

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicdis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hides M, Manager at Hides Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
The problem of bed bugs is a worldwide issue affecting all styles of accommodation from five stars to budget accommodation. They are transported into rooms from guest luggage from their previous stay, either from a hotel or luggage held on a plane, train or alike. We have not had an issue such as this for a very long period of time and when an issue such as this is identified we shut down the room and have it treated by licensed contractors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed here for just 1 night, the room was ok, very plain but clean, the bathroom was again ok. We had underground parking which was also where the swimming pool was! not that you would use it, it looked pretty awful, plus Cairns has a beautiful lagoon just 5 mins walk away(FREE) Our room was over a very noisy bar but I should think other rooms could be quieter. Included in the price is breakfast of cereal and toast on the balcony overlooking the square.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room if you want to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann100London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

I had a large, clean, pleasant room in the newer part of the hotel. It's in a superb location, right in the CBD with the bus terminus outside the front door. Staff were efficient, friendly and courteous; the continental breakfast was a little disappointing (no fresh fruit), our tour group's meals from the Hides cafe downstairs were good. Lack of liquour licence was no problem as there is a BWS bottle shop next door to Woolworths directly opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozanima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Great location - I love the pool. Spacious, gracious. Good staff and parking.Will go again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edward m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coromandel NZ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

No frills property and very modestly priced, light breakfast on the balcony consisted of cereal, toast, tea, coffee buffet style, we had a good basic clean room with ensuite bathroom. Excellent laundry facilities too a real bonus. A short walk to a huge free pool complex we did not use the hotel pool. Each evening we sat on the balcony and enjoyed the atmosphere of being rght in the town with lots of lush trees around. Buses to everywhere right outside. Would go back next time.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HOTDIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#63 of 65 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#14 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#16 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#25 of 65 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#20 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hides Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hides Hotel Cairns

Property: Hides Hotel Cairns
Address: 87 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hides Hotel Cairns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hides Hotel Cairns offers affordable accommodation right in the heart of Cairns. It is surrounded by restaurants, pubs and shops and is only a short walk to the Casino, Reef Fleet Terminal, Esplanade Lagoon Pool, Cairns Central Shopping Centre and Kuranda Railway Station. With the convenience of public transport 100 metres from reception and a tour desk to book all your tours that will collect you from our Hotel, you will be able to enjoy the Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest, Kuranda Village and all of what Tropical North Queensland has to offer. Hides Hotel Cairns is a preferred and recommended leisure property for the tourist, corporate, family and large groups visiting Tropical North Queensland. It offers both the comfort and convenience of a modern, large and comfortable hotel or the nostalgic charm and grace of budget heritage rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hides Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crocodile Hides

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing