We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the money but ....”
Review of Hides Hotel Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hides Hotel Cairns
Ranked #58 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good for the money but ....”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I read the Trip Advisor reviews and booked an ensuite room in the newer part of the hotel - note: newer is a relative term here!
Size-wise the room was terrific. The bathroom was also very big for motel-type accommodation. Not usually a bad thing except here, the towel rail was as far from the shower as it could possibly be. You had to leave your towel on the floor to pick it up after your shower or, if left on the rail, traipse quite a few steps to get it. But the oddities didn't end there. The shower taps were "outside" the shower! Reachable but you dripped water everywhere if you wanted to adjust the temperature.
In the bedroom - to turn off the reading lamps once you were in bed you needed six foot (2 metre!) arms or else you had to get out of bed to turn the light off. Not good if you'd fallen asleep while reading in bed.
Real problems (rather than idiosyncracies) ...
i) Cleanliness and Housekeeping - leaves a lot to be desired. Hairs from previous guests floated about the bathroom. Daily housekeeping (3 night stay) was limited to non-existent.
ii) Noise - from outside traffic, pubs, clubs and inside fellow guests - not a peep. However, my room suffered from the constant hum of airconditioning units on the wall opposite my room. Also, I didn't dare open my window for fresh air for fear of what pollutants might come from chimney vents that finished at window height. I don't know how building regs could not insist that the chimney vents be considerably higher than they were so as to clear the windows.
Good points ....
i) the verandah is wonderful .... provided there are no smokers there
ii) breakfast is plentiful. It's more what you'd have at home than the rich stuff you too often indulge in when you're on holidays. I really appreciated that.
iii) Position - absolutely central Cairns
Overall, in spite of the drawbacks, I'd stay here again ... trying for a room further away from the airconditioners.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MobileEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    118
    115
    51
    34
See reviews for
47
129
76
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed here 2 days in March 2013.

Our initial booking was 'heritage double'. After, checking the fine details we realized that this room has no bathroom - I.e. share facility!

Luckily, we changed our booking to 'heritage ensuite' room which has private bathroom. For this we paid $75/nt through hotels.com (after we asked them to price match with Agoda).

After reading a few reviews from tripadvisor, we realized that there are 2 parts to this hotel, the renovated and the old part. We rang up Hides hotel and checked, they told us that the 'heritage ensuite' is in the old part.

Upon turning up, we got an up grade to the superior room which was in the renovated part of the property. The room was in fairly good condition, spacious and clean. There was quite a bit of noise from the pub below which goes until 12 am. But this is not the hotel fault.

Free Breakfast was simple but good enough ( toast, boil egg, instant noodle, bread and cereals). Location is great! Close to everything.

Overall, I would recommend the Hide hotels, Cairns and would come back again.

Room Tip: The renovated part of the hotel is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Global_travel7035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

After reading the reviews on TA I finally decided to book a 5 night stay in a "Superior Room"

On arrival the room presented very well. Clean, tidy and everything where it was expected. To paraphrase and old expression; the rooms appear to be a couple of pieces of furniture short of being well furnished.

The daily servicing left a bit to be desired. The best I could describe it is as "superficial" and at times appeared to be a bit "slap dash". This did not improve during the stay. Interestingly the preparation and servicing for a change of booking appeared to be thorough.

The buffet breakfast was basic, nutritious and adequate. Cereals, eggs, juice, toast and an amazing array of condiments.

The reception staff were helpful and friendly at all times.

Minor faults and failings in the room were reported but at no time during my stay were they attended to.

The location is convenient to all parts of Cairns.

You do get what you pay for. Yes I would stay here again, in a superior room, but only for stays of 2 or 3 days. For longer periods I would look for a holiday appartment.

Room Tip: Superior room should always be requested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

i stayed at this hotel for 4 days, the 1st 4 days of March 2013... i was traveling with large group of 10, that ranged from a 6month old to grandparents

its location was really good, walking distance to shops, restaurant, the lagoon and plenty of free internet places and tour booking places too..

the hotel its self seems very old, there are two parts to the hotel you have rooms where you share a bathroom and you have rooms where you have your own en suite. (we had our own )

the rooms were basic, we had 3 in out room and it was 2 single beds pushed together and another single,
beds are very firm, so i did have a little trouble sleeping but it was okay,
bathroom was tiny, and shower had a little bit of mold in it.

cleaners are very basic, we had three in the room and keep all our stuff together, but they basically just cleaned the bathroom if that's what you would that.

one day i left something on the bed and it didn't get made, which i can understand
but the bathroom, didn't get cleaned, they may have wiped the toilet but that's all i could say they did. as we had still could see toothpaste in the sink from us brushing teeth each morning, which i ending up cleaning away

one day we came home and the cleaner had left chemicals in our bathroom and we had placed all our dirty towels outside the bathroom on the floor, she didn't take them and didn't give us new ones, so had to go down to reception.

Breakfast was basic and filling, had 4 different cereal options, 4 bread options, 2 flavors of cup noodles, and plenty of tea/coffee/hot choc options...

the hotel was very basic but if your doing a lot during the day, it was a good place to rest your head. they locked the doors after 11pm, but you had a code to get in, and there was always someone on the desk.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tashie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed with our teenage daughter for 3 nights and if you are just after a cheap place to lay your head and have a wash, in a reasonably clean environment with tv and aircon then I would recommend staying. It is in central Cairns with shopping at the foot of the stairs and within walking distance to the Lagoon, night market, restaurants and reef tour departures.

Room Tip: There are apparently 2 parts to the hotel, one is more for backpackers and the the newer part is &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Ended up here on a Wotif.au "mystery deal" and it wasn't a "deal" at all - compared to regular price, saved all of $5! Had a private room with bathroom. The location was great, and the beds are ok - in fact the rooms are surprisingly ok. However the noise (!) is a problem - and this was on the "quiet" side. Rooms have single-pane windows that don't fully close which is really annoying. The breakfast was poor - dry cold bread, cereals, etc. Internet was $2.50 per 30 minutes, more expensive than everywhere else around - there is a café next door with wifi, and also most of the tour booking places (which are EVERYWHERE in this town) have internet use for free.

Overall Cairns is completely a young backpacker tourist haven, more so than I was expecting. Good as a jumping off point for a daytrip out to the Reef, or a trip up to Cape Tribulation (on the way back stop overnight at Port Douglas... beautiful!). A tip for a cheap dinner in Cairns, head to the night markets after 8 or 9 pm, the couple of Asian places where you pay for the size of the plate/container and fill it yourself as much as you can cut their prices in half, so for $5 you can get a massive heaping plate of food.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Was a bit worried about this due to the mixed reviews on Tripadvisor. However overall very happy with this hotel. It is right at the heart of the centre and only 10 min walk from the ferry terminal which was convenient for the Reef Cruises (tour operators generally charge $10-15 pp for transfers which we avoided), Hotel decor bit shabby from the outside but the rooms were all very clean and cleaned regularly. We specifically asked for en-suite bathroom while booking as some rooms are very basic with shared facilities.
Complimentary breakfast very basic but did provide susteinance and at this cheap rate one can't complain too much. For those with more refined palates there are many eating options close by.
The only negative aspect is the noice from surrounding venues where parties go on till late night, Ear muffs would be handy,
I would recommend this to those on tight budgets who want to use the room as a spring board to do exciting things in and around Cairns.

Room Tip: Double check when booking regarding ensuite bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vit666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#62 of 64 in Cairns
111 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#24 of 64 in Cairns
476 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#19 of 64 in Cairns
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Cairns City
Comfort Inn Cairns City
#28 of 64 in Cairns
229 reviews
2.3 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#33 of 64 in Cairns
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hides Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hides Hotel Cairns

Property: Hides Hotel Cairns
Address: 87 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hides Hotel Cairns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hides Hotel Cairns offers affordable accommodation right in the heart of Cairns. It is surrounded by restaurants, pubs and shops and is only a short walk to the Casino, Reef Fleet Terminal, Esplanade Lagoon Pool, Cairns Central Shopping Centre and Kuranda Railway Station. With the convenience of public transport 100 metres from reception and a tour desk to book all your tours that will collect you from our Hotel, you will be able to enjoy the Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest, Kuranda Village and all of what Tropical North Queensland has to offer. Hides Hotel Cairns is a preferred and recommended leisure property for the tourist, corporate, family and large groups visiting Tropical North Queensland. It offers both the comfort and convenience of a modern, large and comfortable hotel or the nostalgic charm and grace of budget heritage rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hides Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crocodile Hides

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing