We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great budget hotel in perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hides Hotel Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hides Hotel Cairns
Ranked #58 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel in perfect location”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We had a great experience here - the room was clean and comfy and had everything we needed. Reception was very helpful when needed and breakfast on the terrace each morning was a nice option to have. The location is unbeatable, literally in the heart of Cairns and close to everything. I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    114
    109
    51
    33
See reviews for
47
128
70
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Just as the title says, the hotel was awful, the room was OK and the location was spot on. On arrival the receptionist was rude and unhelpful. It was a very unpleasant looking hotel from the outside, and from the reception. The room was a little better, 4 single beds, but, as they were on wheels during the night they moved A LOT. I ended up having a kingsize type bed with the girl next to me!! (We were friends so it was ok!) The plug sockets were shoddy, a couple were coming out of the wall - dangerous.
The bathroom was huge, really decent shower, 2 sinks, no problems there at all.
The location was great, by that I mean central, 5 minute walk to night market, bus station right outside. Sitting on the communal balcony there seemed to be a little square where the local drunks would hang out. Three times in two days I saw police with these drunks. I wouldn't like to be a lone female walking around there at night time.
On the whole, depending on what you want you could stay here for a relatively cheap stay, but, there are much better places in Cairns.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donnym23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

La Paz, Bolivia
Level Contributor
612 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

The HIdes is in a great location in the center of everything and close to the ferry terminal. Our room had a nice sized refrigerator, queen bed, twin bed, and nice bathroom. We actually stayed two separate nights as we took the ferry to Fitzroy. The continental breakfast included hard boiled eggs, different varieties of breads and spreads, cereals, juice, etc. We didn't need anything else until dinner. The managers can recommend tours and restaurants and are most accommodating. Rooms to the back are the quietest. Breakfast is on the balcony of the heritage original building with lovely views. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back, away from the street are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdventurePhiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We booked a Heritage Ensuite for two nights for $75 per night. The room we were given was in the middle of the hotel which did have a noisy air conditioner unit outside the window. We called reception and they immediately sent someone up to show us to a new room. The new room was larger with a double and a single bed. The room, bathroom, etc. were clean, and everything including the TV worked well. The room was very quiet. Breakfast was a choice of 4 cereals, boiled eggs, tea, coffee, toast and various spreads. Buses leave from out front of the hotel and Woolworths is across the road for all your shopping. Overall, we were very happy with our stay and would come back again.

Room Tip: The rooms are cheaper if you book online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beachabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I read the Trip Advisor reviews and booked an ensuite room in the newer part of the hotel - note: newer is a relative term here!
Size-wise the room was terrific. The bathroom was also very big for motel-type accommodation. Not usually a bad thing except here, the towel rail was as far from the shower as it could possibly be. You had to leave your towel on the floor to pick it up after your shower or, if left on the rail, traipse quite a few steps to get it. But the oddities didn't end there. The shower taps were "outside" the shower! Reachable but you dripped water everywhere if you wanted to adjust the temperature.
In the bedroom - to turn off the reading lamps once you were in bed you needed six foot (2 metre!) arms or else you had to get out of bed to turn the light off. Not good if you'd fallen asleep while reading in bed.
Real problems (rather than idiosyncracies) ...
i) Cleanliness and Housekeeping - leaves a lot to be desired. Hairs from previous guests floated about the bathroom. Daily housekeeping (3 night stay) was limited to non-existent.
ii) Noise - from outside traffic, pubs, clubs and inside fellow guests - not a peep. However, my room suffered from the constant hum of airconditioning units on the wall opposite my room. Also, I didn't dare open my window for fresh air for fear of what pollutants might come from chimney vents that finished at window height. I don't know how building regs could not insist that the chimney vents be considerably higher than they were so as to clear the windows.
Good points ....
i) the verandah is wonderful .... provided there are no smokers there
ii) breakfast is plentiful. It's more what you'd have at home than the rich stuff you too often indulge in when you're on holidays. I really appreciated that.
iii) Position - absolutely central Cairns
Overall, in spite of the drawbacks, I'd stay here again ... trying for a room further away from the airconditioners.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MobileEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed here 2 days in March 2013.

Our initial booking was 'heritage double'. After, checking the fine details we realized that this room has no bathroom - I.e. share facility!

Luckily, we changed our booking to 'heritage ensuite' room which has private bathroom. For this we paid $75/nt through hotels.com (after we asked them to price match with Agoda).

After reading a few reviews from tripadvisor, we realized that there are 2 parts to this hotel, the renovated and the old part. We rang up Hides hotel and checked, they told us that the 'heritage ensuite' is in the old part.

Upon turning up, we got an up grade to the superior room which was in the renovated part of the property. The room was in fairly good condition, spacious and clean. There was quite a bit of noise from the pub below which goes until 12 am. But this is not the hotel fault.

Free Breakfast was simple but good enough ( toast, boil egg, instant noodle, bread and cereals). Location is great! Close to everything.

Overall, I would recommend the Hide hotels, Cairns and would come back again.

Room Tip: The renovated part of the hotel is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Global_travel7035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

After reading the reviews on TA I finally decided to book a 5 night stay in a "Superior Room"

On arrival the room presented very well. Clean, tidy and everything where it was expected. To paraphrase and old expression; the rooms appear to be a couple of pieces of furniture short of being well furnished.

The daily servicing left a bit to be desired. The best I could describe it is as "superficial" and at times appeared to be a bit "slap dash". This did not improve during the stay. Interestingly the preparation and servicing for a change of booking appeared to be thorough.

The buffet breakfast was basic, nutritious and adequate. Cereals, eggs, juice, toast and an amazing array of condiments.

The reception staff were helpful and friendly at all times.

Minor faults and failings in the room were reported but at no time during my stay were they attended to.

The location is convenient to all parts of Cairns.

You do get what you pay for. Yes I would stay here again, in a superior room, but only for stays of 2 or 3 days. For longer periods I would look for a holiday appartment.

Room Tip: Superior room should always be requested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#62 of 64 in Cairns
109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#18 of 64 in Cairns
469 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#16 of 64 in Cairns
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#15 of 64 in Cairns
525 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#25 of 64 in Cairns
457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mid City Luxury Suites
Mid City Luxury Suites
#41 of 64 in Cairns
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hides Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hides Hotel Cairns

Property: Hides Hotel Cairns
Address: 87 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hides Hotel Cairns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hides Hotel Cairns offers affordable accommodation right in the heart of Cairns. It is surrounded by restaurants, pubs and shops and is only a short walk to the Casino, Reef Fleet Terminal, Esplanade Lagoon Pool, Cairns Central Shopping Centre and Kuranda Railway Station. With the convenience of public transport 100 metres from reception and a tour desk to book all your tours that will collect you from our Hotel, you will be able to enjoy the Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest, Kuranda Village and all of what Tropical North Queensland has to offer. Hides Hotel Cairns is a preferred and recommended leisure property for the tourist, corporate, family and large groups visiting Tropical North Queensland. It offers both the comfort and convenience of a modern, large and comfortable hotel or the nostalgic charm and grace of budget heritage rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hides Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crocodile Hides

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing