We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money accommodation in the centre of Cairns”
Review of Hides Hotel Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hides Hotel Cairns
Ranked #54 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have stayed at this great heritage hotel before and on every occasion we have been treated so well by all staff member at this centrally located 'home away from home'. The rooms are well provided with large screen television , a little fridge (which is not a mini bar) and a beautiful King size bed.

Sharon booked a day trip to Fitzroy Island Resort at a cheaper price than the advertised "special" price. Breakfast was lovely especially the Saturday hot breakfast. We stayed 4 nights and we were surprised at the price of the taxi fare to the air port as the return fare was under $20 ! Visit the Court House Hotel and of course P J O'Brien's for their great Guinness pie.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room in the newer section. Some of the older rooms have trouble with TV receptio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilandMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

I always stay at Hides as I normally arrive/depart Cairns by train (yes how quaint) and Hides is close to the station.
However the Hotel is in dire need of a makeover as the hession lining the verandah over the collapsed ceiling will attest. I stay in the hotel section as I don't mind sharing the bathroom, however the minimal number of guests staying there means meeting others in the bathroom is a rare occurrence.
Guests in the hotel section must seek out a maid to procure a change of towels and fresh bath soap etc
I'm well aware of the cut rate hotel tariffs these days and unfortunately Hides is caught in the middle.The continental breakfast included in the rate is appreciated.

Room Tip: Hotel rooms are cheaper and if you don't mind sharing with the occasional guests are worth the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Themikanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed for 3 nights, found thanks to Tripadvisor - inexpensive I think it was under $100 per night, right downtown Cairns, close to everything walking. Across the street from grocery Woolworths, lots of small souvenier shops and restaurants around. Walking distance (about 10 mins) to the Lagoon swimming pool and to the harbour from where the reef boat trips depart. Cairns can be muggy, hot in summer time (went in Feb 2014), hallways are hot, but A/C in my room worked great. After spending couple of nights in a tiny room at Budget Ibis airport hotel in Sydney, the room in Hide hotel seemed enormous! Spacious, 1 queen and 1 single bed, small fridge, TV, comfy... bonus points - great breakfast, filling. Not so great - had to purchase internet time, come on, this is 2014 - hotels should offer it for free... just a suggestions. Overall - looks average, but it provided what was needed - good night rest, shower, clean, good brekky :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YvetteG970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Not bad for a cheap one night stopover. It was clean and the staff were friendly. The single bed wasn't real comfy and it is shared bathroom down the hallway. Included brekky was fine. Would stay again

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed 4 nights at the Hides and were really impressed at the value for money.A simple breakfast true-but it was fine for us and the location was just fantastic-close to everything.The down side of that is that some of the rooms can be noisy.When we asked about changing our room, we were given a room on the 2nd floor (at no extra cost) which was much quieter.The hotel is older style and no frills but it was clean and the staff (particularly Dianna on the night shift)were friendly and very customer orientated.All in all we considered it great value for the money.

Room Tip: Rooms in the center of the building are quieter-The budget rooms on the veranda etc can get a bit o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights either side of a liveaboard dive trip. We had a heritage room.

Both rooms were very comfy and the aircon was really welcome as the bathrooms and non aircon areas could get rather warm.

The room had everything we needed for a very nice stay.

We had breakfast both mornings and it was very nice - all that you needed and could sit outside on the terrace which was lovely.

We would stay here again if ever back in Cairns.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Twizbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We managed to get a cheap deal via the information site at late notice after leaving the awful Globetrotters hostel (see my review!). This hotel is well managed by full time reception staff, you get free breakfast (which oddly includes pots of noodles, who wants these for breakfast?) which is between 6:30 - 9am and the air conditioning in your room is a life saver from the tropic heat. We also had a fridge and a TV although we didn't watch it at all. It was pretty quiet when we stayed here in March 2014, I don't know what the breakfast situation would be like in peak season - properly mental. Overall, a good stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnnyDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
3.2 mi away
Cairns New Chalon
Cairns New Chalon
#43 of 63 in Cairns
70 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#26 of 63 in Cairns
513 reviews
0.3 mi away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#60 of 63 in Cairns
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Cairns Southside International
0.5 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
2.3 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#29 of 63 in Cairns
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hides Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hides Hotel Cairns

Address: 87 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range: £40 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hides Hotel Cairns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hides Hotel Cairns offers affordable accommodation right in the heart of Cairns. It is surrounded by restaurants, pubs and shops and is only a short walk to the Casino, Reef Fleet Terminal, Esplanade Lagoon Pool, Cairns Central Shopping Centre and Kuranda Railway Station. With the convenience of public transport 100 metres from reception and a tour desk to book all your tours that will collect you from our Hotel, you will be able to enjoy the Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest, Kuranda Village and all of what Tropical North Queensland has to offer. Hides Hotel Cairns is a preferred and recommended leisure property for the tourist, corporate, family and large groups visiting Tropical North Queensland. It offers both the comfort and convenience of a modern, large and comfortable hotel or the nostalgic charm and grace of budget heritage rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hides Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crocodile Hides

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing