We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overall experience”
Review of Hides Hotel Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hides Hotel Cairns
Ranked #58 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
south australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“overall experience”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

stayed at the hides for 9 nights, first 5 in heritage room, straight of the balcony,clean room, but very noisy at night, over an irish pub, young ones went till 3am, then the very noisy rubbish truck came at 5.30am.but was very handy straight to balcony. we then changed rooms to second floor, and a long walk down corridor, so that was a bit inconvienent for my husband as he is a smoker. but a great location, close to everything, breakfast on balcony was great,met some great people there.pool area in carpark, not very inviting, but if your hot its a pool.not many car spaces if you hire a car. have to book a few days in advance to get one.i had to ask for clean towel, and took my own rubbish out.heard better hotels on esplanade.lady i spoke to stayed at the bellvue and the hides, liked the bellvue a lot better, on the eslanade.

Room Tip: heritage rooms older but right on balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodwill_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    118
    114
    51
    34
See reviews for
47
129
76
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gavleborg County, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

large rooms and spacious rooms. However, there was a door in our room to the room next to it. when we would sleep there came two backpackers into the room through the door .. talk about that we were surprised.
the breakfast that was included was good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My partner and I came over from Perth WA and found the location very central. 10 minutes to the Esplanade, 5 minutes to the local pub. Room was clean and basic as was the breakfast, 9am was the end of brekkie and the doors were clsed on the dot. Cleaning of the room was a bit slack but for the price we'd stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin_ward63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

A hostel not a hotel. Unfriendly welcome although most of the staff were nice otherwise. Breakfast was just cereal and toast not continental as advertised. The room smelt musty, the curtains had stains, the room wasn't clean or cleaned during our stay. Only towels were changed and bins emptied. I've stayed in much better hostels for a fraction of the price. The location is good shame the 'hotel' is below par.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Stodebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanGroup, Manager at Hides Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for providing feedback and it is the best way for us to make continual improvements, where possible.

Hides Hotel Cairns prides itself on offering affordable accommodation right in the heart of the Cairns CBD. Some of our more affordable accommodation options do not include housekeeping in pricing, which may have been the case here. I will pass on your feedback to the housekeeping team though.

We do provide a light continental breakfast for all guests, regardless of pricing option chosen, but this certainly is not a full buffet breakfast. We are surrounded by restaurant and dining options and guests wanting a substantial breakfast often make a short stroll to one of these.

We look forward to welcoming you to our property in the future.

Regards,


Malcolm Wooldridge
General Manager
Hides Hotel Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

My friends and I spent 3 nights at the Hides hotel in Cairns. We chose the hotel because it was one of (if not) the cheapest options available, since the cost of snorkeling and heading to Kuranda rainforest is so pricey.
Hides is perfectly located and within walking distance of everything in Cairns - the Esplanade, shops, restaurants, night market, station etc.

The staff were helpful and our room was comfortable. However, there was a cockroach in our bathroom!! And the room was not serviced once during our stay! The breakfast was alright, there's only really cereal and toast available. Moreover, the temperature in the hotel was very warm and stuffy compared to the outside temperature in Cairns - I don't know why, maybe there's no proper ventilation??

Overall, very affordable and nicely located with a rustic feel to the hotel, but if I go back to Cairns I probably wouldn't stay at the Hides hotel again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Dani_F007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Room was pretty large. Fridge and tv was nice, a/c made it easy to sleep, but there is no a/c in the hallways or in the bathroom/showers. We had a quiet room, but our bed caved in the middle. Breakfast was good with a decent selection. The wrap around balcony is a great relaxing or reading place. We stayed for 3 nights.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kristina g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Historical and charming Hides hotel is in the very centre of Cairns, 10min walking to piers and to the train.
Friendly and helpful staff.
Rooms were OK, just as expected for the price. The ceiling fan was a nice addition to the AC unit as it was quieter and sufficient during the night.
Breakfast consisted of toast with jam on peanut butter (or vegemite for people lacking taste buds), boiled eggs and orange juice. Quite OK since it's included, if it's unsatisfactory there's plenty of alternatives right outside.
If we ever return to Cairns we'll probably stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank dirr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#62 of 64 in Cairns
111 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#24 of 64 in Cairns
465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#18 of 64 in Cairns
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#15 of 64 in Cairns
752 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Cairns City
Comfort Inn Cairns City
#28 of 64 in Cairns
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hides Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hides Hotel Cairns

Property: Hides Hotel Cairns
Address: 87 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hides Hotel Cairns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hides Hotel Cairns offers affordable accommodation right in the heart of Cairns. It is surrounded by restaurants, pubs and shops and is only a short walk to the Casino, Reef Fleet Terminal, Esplanade Lagoon Pool, Cairns Central Shopping Centre and Kuranda Railway Station. With the convenience of public transport 100 metres from reception and a tour desk to book all your tours that will collect you from our Hotel, you will be able to enjoy the Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest, Kuranda Village and all of what Tropical North Queensland has to offer. Hides Hotel Cairns is a preferred and recommended leisure property for the tourist, corporate, family and large groups visiting Tropical North Queensland. It offers both the comfort and convenience of a modern, large and comfortable hotel or the nostalgic charm and grace of budget heritage rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hides Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crocodile Hides

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing