We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central and good value for money”
Review of Hides Hotel Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hides Hotel Cairns
Ranked #54 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed 7 April 2009

For its central location it is hard to beat the rate of 98A$ per night for a family room accomodating 2 adults and 2 children inclusive of breakfast. The room was spacious , housekeeping was satisfactory and the breakfast on the verandah was enjoyable although the spread was standard Juice+cereals+bread+spreads. The staff were helpful and overall we had a pleasant enjoyable stay. The property is a little bit outdated , but well maintained.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UNNIMAYA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

271 - 277 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2009

Great location, nice rooms (don't look too closely at the odd bit of dirt or grime in the bathroom and on the walls and carpets. Comfy beds. GREAT! hotwater. The woman on the breakfast detail is a bit strange - stares u down if u take a 2nd orange juice. Most reception staff fantastic, had one guy w/a French accent, he is bordering on RUDE!!!!!!!! Most inconsiderate person.
I arrived long after midnight (last flight in) and felt that he was put out by my arriving so late, when at time of booking (on-line) I stated that I would be arriving after midnight. All in all I'd give it an 8 out of 10, I wasn't in the room long enough to be bothered by the fact that it's not a 3* hotel. Would def. return.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank maris1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2008

We did not expect such a great location, everything within walking distance, supermarket just opposite the road, bus terminal, shops, restaurants, even reef terminal.

We booked 4 nights special through Wotif, $66 per night for a superior double room. Room is not bad, but the air-con is very old fashion. The stuff there is very friendly, you can borrow big towel for free from front desk, and the breakfast is simple but enough.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Chigal-sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2008

Hi they make mention about their good 24hr tour service........not to be too busy between 0900 and1000 to help just not at all interested. Not the service I expected after the wonderfull service when I rang and made the booking for the accommodation last year. I was the only person in the reception at that time.
Only half the lights in the room worked and the fan in the bathroom didnt work either. As Isay not quite what i expected

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank Kiwi12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2008

I traveled to Cairns with my adult brother and parents. My dad chose the Hides Hotel for its awesome central location and very reasonable rates. It's in the center of the Cairns Esplanade area and quick walk to great restaurants and shopping. Can be a bit loud at night due to the proximity to the bars. This is a budget location so the beds are not that luxurious and a/c a bit dated. The balcony is beautiful and breezy and continental breakfast was simple but appreciated. This is great for any cost-conscious traveler.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BeachGal5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2008

I stayed here end of May 2008. The reception is nice and can book any tour for you, 24 hours a day for free. If you speak to them they can suggest which ones are best. The 2 tours I went on were very good. They have hundreds of travel pamphlets for tours in the reception area. You can also reserve the airport bus from the front desk and it picks up just across the hotel.

There are 2 different types of room. One is like a hostel where they charge Per person with no bathroom. The Superior one is the one with ensuite bathroom. Make sure you book the Superior room if you don't like to share. The price difference is about $20AUD when i stayed there. The hotel is right next to the central bus terminal which you can take anywhere.

The impression I got for the room is a low cost motel. Everything was clean but old. In the superior room, there's a shower, toilet, tv, electric water kettle with tea/coffee packs, and a small fridge. There was no noise in my room. My AC worked perfectly and my bed was made everyday. Free breakfast is nice but they end the service promptly at 9:30am.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2008

I stayed here this week and must say I wished I'd booked 1 night here and then had a look around. These rooms were old, tired and in need of a good clean. The beds arent made up daily and the balcony, where the smokers and travellers meet, are only cleaned infrequently. Overpriced by 25% and a surcharge to use the room safe. Not recomended at all.

Stayed: April 2008
2  Thank sharpy2223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
3.2 mi away
Cairns New Chalon
Cairns New Chalon
#43 of 63 in Cairns
70 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#26 of 63 in Cairns
513 reviews
0.3 mi away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#60 of 63 in Cairns
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Cairns Southside International
0.5 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
2.3 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#29 of 63 in Cairns
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hides Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hides Hotel Cairns

Address: 87 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range: £40 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hides Hotel Cairns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hides Hotel Cairns offers affordable accommodation right in the heart of Cairns. It is surrounded by restaurants, pubs and shops and is only a short walk to the Casino, Reef Fleet Terminal, Esplanade Lagoon Pool, Cairns Central Shopping Centre and Kuranda Railway Station. With the convenience of public transport 100 metres from reception and a tour desk to book all your tours that will collect you from our Hotel, you will be able to enjoy the Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest, Kuranda Village and all of what Tropical North Queensland has to offer. Hides Hotel Cairns is a preferred and recommended leisure property for the tourist, corporate, family and large groups visiting Tropical North Queensland. It offers both the comfort and convenience of a modern, large and comfortable hotel or the nostalgic charm and grace of budget heritage rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hides Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crocodile Hides

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing