We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kuranda Scenic Railway

Kuranda Scenic Railway
Book In Advance
More Info
US$135.78*
and up
Kuranda Day Trip from Cairns by Scenic Railway and Skyrail Including Army Duck...
Ranked #8 of 118 things to do in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kuranda Scenic Railway is the original scenic rail journey to Kuranda. This spectacular experience travels over bridges and through tunnels hand-made by North Queensland's pioneers over 100 years ago. Traversing the World Heritage listed rainforest of the Barron Gorge National Park, this is one of the world's great railway journeys.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

At must if you are in Cairns. The day we went it was raining but we still had a great day. My Husband loved the ride on the train.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karenandnewby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,669 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,482
    853
    237
    72
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mooroopma
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We had a day here took the train up and the injoy a lovely lunch in the pub but but got busy we got there just before the lunch rush good choice. Wondering around market then came down on Skyrail this was absoultely beautiful scenery took longer than i first thought but well worth the money spent

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erina, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best day of our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We went up on the SkyRail to Kuranda and spent a day there wandering around the markets. We caught the train back which was amazing. Spend the extra and go in the gold lounge.....well worth it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank HakkaChrissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Interesting Day Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

The uphill climb is slow but extremely scenic...an amazing feat of engineering. The return trip on the gondola above the rainforest is a " must do ". Kerranda itself nestled high in the hills is an interesting little town well worth a browse around.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pictonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great day-highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience, the scenery, customer service, commentary on the train, Kuranda town...a must do in Cairns

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank jwhytcross1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kuranda Scenic Railway also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Kuranda Scenic Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing