We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very authentic”

Cairns Historical Society Museum
Ranked #61 of 121 things to do in Cairns
Attraction details
Tully, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very authentic”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

If you would like a really authentic museum experience this is where you will get it! The tour guides are as old as the exhibits and brimming with actual knowledge and experience of the pieces they love to educate about. Volunteer run, they are there for the love of it and if you are not in a rush to 'tick it off' on your list of 'things to do' mosey on in, enjoy the musty smells the rusty looks and the laid back liaison.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    26
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worth to take a look”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We visited this place before July 2013 and forgot to give a rating. They had a open day at the Esplanade with all their museum information. Very friendly people who are volunteers who looked after the place. Unfortunately, there is road works going on at the moment at Lake Street and its so many renovation, hence the place is close for the moment. Hopefully, it will reopen soon, after all the road works is done.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Closed”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The museum is currently closed. A lovely gentleman directed me to the temporary location, but sadly the very friendly staff informed me that the exhibit is not running, only the research facility. When the museum reopens in a year or more, I'm sure it will be great!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yaounde
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a quiet collection of history and fun for kids”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I took my young children to the museum looking for something to do in town. I was pleasantly suprised by the friendly staff with a depth of knowledge of the exhibits. They made it fun and involved for the kids with shark jaws and the flight simulator. We spent a solid two hours looking around and reading the informative descriptions. I thouroghly recommend a visit to get an understanding of the past and history of Cairns.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marticulate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Museum closed 2014, Library alternative good”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Museum closed for reno. Went to library to see old photos which they had in many old travel books/brochures available to handle in reference area. Helpful lass in Reference, lovely old building.
Good alternative for history buffs whilst museum closed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cairns Historical Society Museum also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Cairns Historical Society Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing