We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!”

Brothers Leagues Club
Ranked #177 of 596 Restaurants in Cairns
Price range: US$4 - US$22
Cuisines: Chinese, Australian, Asian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Brothers Leagues Club offer's plenty of options for lunch, dinner or a quick snack at Lanterns Cafe & Restaurant. The popular Buffet features Asian, Australian, Roasts, Desserts, Soups, Salads and even some extra special Ala Carte dishes you can select from to give your palate an even bigger boost!
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We used to eat at Brothers all the time and were always very impressed with the food and value for money. We went for dinner just last month after hearing all the advertising about it being upgraded and were severely disappointed. The buffet used to have an excellent range of quality food that nowhere else could compete with, Now it has diminished to half the original size and the quality of the food was not even worth paying for. Unless changed back to what it was I will not be renewing my membership as it is no longer a place I will be eating. It no longer offers enough variety, good food or value for money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fordgirl89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy J, at Brothers Leagues Club, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hi Fordgirl89, I'm sorry you were disappointed during your visit recently. Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate this takes time and it enables us to make improvements based on your review :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    49
    23
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Was expecting more considering the spruking about its revitalisation!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were expecting far better, especially given the recent advertising campaign about being upgraded, best buffet in town, value for money and huge range of dishes. Methinks they speak with forked tongue! The decor has changed but the food was ordinary.... really ordinary.....

None of the above claims of excellence proved remotely true! Food was really ordinary, general run of the mill, mass produced, uninspired fare. We wouldnt have minded the noticable lack of variety in the dishes on offer if it had been prepared well....but it wasn't! The servery area seemed quite small, when we then found out was actually half the size as the dishes were duplicated on both sides of the area..... it was half the size!

Compared to many other places offering buffets, Laterns fell noticably short of the acceptable mark, especially considering the price you pay per head!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Diannasaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy J, at Brothers Leagues Club, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hi Diannasaur, Thank you for taking the time to review Lanterns. Your feedback will be very useful in our efforts to make continuous improvements :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lanterns Restaurant Revival Worth the Wait !”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

As a local and a Club member, I have been visiting Brothers for at least 10 years, always with a group of friends on Wednesday nights (members cash back night!). The buffet always has something for everybody. We are a group of all ages (25 to 60 y.o) from a local bushwalking club and we never leave hungry. The restaurant has had a major makeover, had some teething problems but seems to have ironed out all the major issues. The senior staff we see every visit are very attentive to any suggestions offered or concerns, and without fail (so far) have been rectified by the time of our following visit. Members pay $11.90 for a full Buffet after $5 cash back and it only costs $5 to Join for a year! My typical meal is a Soup with a Dinner roll, a Salad plate, Roast Pork/Beef with Crackling and vege's, fresh fruit and my final indulgence is often the soft serve Chocolate Icecream (but I love their vanilla slices and cakes!) There is a good variety of dishes (some not to my liking, but the diversity of patrons is very wide!) My Mum is coming to visit from Melbourne for a couple of Months and recently commented, I will have to renew my Brothers membership ! Latest A La Cart offerings not tried yet but look 5* quality (twice cooked beef cheeks will try next week, not sure if Menu is on their website yet.)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy J, at Brothers Leagues Club, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hi Andrew D, I'm so glad you enjoyed your meal at Lanterns recently! It certainly is good value, especially for members. Let us know how your mum enjoys Brothers during her visit from Melbourne. Thank you for your (and your bushwalking club's) support. And to answer your question, yes, the new menu is on our website :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awful food, shocking service!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

I have read through other reviews & noticed the same old excuse " refurbishments, all new resteraunt". This is no excuse the new lanterns has now been open & functioning for too long now for excuses.

We arrive to try the new buffet & we where overwelmed by a horrible stench through the resteraunt, a bit like parmassn cheese that was an instant off putter.
We then went & grabbed a plate. We then had a choice of sloppy, dry & over cooked or just plain horrid looking food. When we got back to our table the head waitress had given our table to someone else & made us walk around the resteraunt with our plates till she found somewhere else to seat us. ( very unprofessional)

The staff had no idea what they where doing & the head waitress was worse then the young ones, not to mention very rude.

Alot of people had told us how bad it was but thought we'd give it benefit of the doubt but seriously no excuses now, the staff need serious customer service training & the buffet come on you can't be serious.

Won't be seeing us again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cyclonetracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy J, Marketing at Brothers Leagues Club, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hi Cyclonetracy, I'm sorry to hear of your bad experience at Lanterns. We really appreciate you taking the time to offer your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Only if you're hungry”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Lanterns restaurant is a very ordinary smorgasbord restaurant the food is over stewed and some of it looks as if it has already been eaten once. It is a good place to go if you want to fill up quickly so you can get to play the poker machines, or a teenager with more hunger than taste buds.The price is not low enough to justify the poor food . It would be a good idea if the people running this restaurant visited some of the clubs in our larger cities and see how a smorgasbord restaurant should be.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank deWarren198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy J, Marketing at Brothers Leagues Club, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hi deWarren198, Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit to Lanterns recently, we will most certainly take your feedback and look to improve any areas you have highlighted. Thank you for taking the time to review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brothers Leagues Club also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Brothers Leagues Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing