We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FABULOUS ROOM, FABULOUS STAFF, FABULOUS HOLIDAY!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cairns Luxury Apartments - Harbourlights complex
Ranked #27 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“FABULOUS ROOM, FABULOUS STAFF, FABULOUS HOLIDAY!”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We recently stayed with the Cairns Luxury Apartments during my holiday in Cairns for 5 nights. We had the most wonderful stay, and would definately stay here again if we come to Cairns.
It had a beautiful view from our balcony, and we enjoyed watching the boats come and go from the marina which was right in front of us.
The apartment was roomy and had a contemporary feel about it. We had everything we needed to prepare meals in the fully equiped kitchen. Loved having 2 bathrooms and a bath also.
The location was perfect, everything is close by and walking distance from the complex.
The staff were very friendly and accommodating, and greeted us by name when we came into the reception. This was located a short distance from the complex, but it was clearly described in our confirmation email where we had to go to check in.
It was great that we could book our tours in the same place as where we checked in.
All in all we had a great time and the only drawback was we had to leave!

Room Tip: Book a harbourview room, its definately worth it. Best location in Cairns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welltravelled349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    23
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
27
39
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago IL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Our family of 5, Mom, Dad and sons aged 24, 20 and 15 had the pleasure of staying here from Christmas Day until Dec. 30, 2012. We could not have enjoyed the condo or location more. We literally walked out of the condo and a very short walk and we were at the pier where all of the diving boats, sightseeing boats, etc... are docked.

We booked through Priceline and because our arrival was Christmas Day, the management company made arrangements to have our driver pick us up at the airport with all of the check-in information and keys since the office would be closed.

The condo was a 2 bedroom with a modern updated feel. The second bedroom was large enough to fit 3 beds and our 3 boys shared that room. The living/dining areas were spacious and well furnished including a 47" flat screen TV. The air conditioning worked well and the kitchen was well supplied with cookware, china and flatware.

Also, there is a large balcony that overlooks the water, just beautiful.

We will definitely stay here again when we return to Cairns.

Room Tip: Check out Priceline, ask for a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaryad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The 2 bedroom apartment has the airconditioner motor right in the middle of it!!! The noise was terrible, we tried sleeping with the fan on but it mad a really bad noise.We than changed bedroom only to find there was no fan, no block out blinds and no security screen to be able to sleep with the door open.The batroom, way too small,could not have two people at once in it.There was no bottled water anywhere.The next day we went to the reception and of course they could not help us,we got told to go across the road to the information shop,only to be told they also could not help us and they were happy to refund us the money!! What the ??? Are this people makig way too much money?? So we checked out and went across the road to the wonderfull Shangri-la ,cheaper ,fantastic and owesome!!!!

Room Tip: Ask lots of questions, about the rooms.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAHarbourlights, Public Relations Manager at Cairns Luxury Apartments - Harbourlights complex, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
It is always great to get feedback and we are very happy to receive fair and just comments including criticism as our aim is to provide excellence in accommodation and service. On this occasion we believe the comments to be very unfair. We were very concerned and wanted you to have an amazing experience in Cairns so felt we were doing you a service by offering a refund, which clearly you were not happy with. You complained about the noise from the harbour and mentioned that boats were beeping their horns at 5 am, when in fact no boats leave before 8:00am. You also mentioned not being able to completely black out your room. Our blinds are white and modern and do not provide complete darkness during the day. We were fully booked and could not offer you a room away from the harbour, so for your benefit only we offered you the opportunity to stay elsewhere. Our accommodation should not be compared to a hotel room as you were booked into a 2 brm apartment which does not have mini bar facilities. Your post regarding the Shangri La also mentions a complaint about noise from the near by bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I had booked a Studio Harbour View room on Hotels.com and we followed the directions to Harbour lights, but the check-in desk at the Harbour lights complex is not for the luxury apartments, so we had to walk out again and check-in with the agent across the road, while the room was back inside the Harbour lights complex. That is fine, however, I wish there was better instructions on the booking.
The studio itself was nicely decorated and the room was clean. I loved the view of the Harbour which was very nice. The location is perfect, you are also very close to many bars and restaurants. After our stay we were catching a cruise and it was walking distance to the wharf for boarding our ship.
However, in our room, the air-con made a horrendous noise, you couldn't have it on while sleeping, it was just too noisy. We were staying only for a couple of nights and the weather was not too hot so it was OK to switch if off but at the height of summer this would be a problem.
Overall it was just OK, it was a pretty standard room and OK for the couple of nights I would give it 3.5 stars.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miti81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAHarbourlights, Guest Relations Manager at Cairns Luxury Apartments - Harbourlights complex, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. Yes the apartments are in a fabulous location, and we do pride ourselves on taking extra measures to make sure our apartments are extremely clean and tidy. Since receiving your feedback regarding the air-conditioner being too noisy we have arranged to have it inspected and have had new bearings replaced in it and extra sound proofing. Hopefully this has resolved the issue, as we were very upset to get a complaint. As for the check in details, it is mentioned in the confirmation correspondance that you will need to check in at the Visitor Information Centre diagonally across from the Harbourlights Complex. Due to your valued feedback, we will endeavour to make it clearer on our confirmation letters. We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your stay with us, and we hope you enjoyed your visit to Cairns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Found in a central location in Cairns, well within walking distance for all the local attaractions including The Lagoon, The Casino and the Boulevard.

The room was spacious and if we had wanted to, we had the facilties to make our own meals but as it is so close to so many eateries, that the hardest decision each day was where to eat.

Comfy bed too! and this is one thing I trake very seriously when I travel. The bed will always deternmine if I have a good holiday....and I did!!!

Thanks to all the helpful staff who made our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a harbour view! It's worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAHarbourlights, Manager at Cairns Luxury Apartments - Harbourlights complex, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give your feedback! We appreciate it! We do pride ourselves in the location of the Apartments being right in the City, along the Marina where all the best places to eat in Cairns are and so close to anything elso you may need for a great stay like the Casino and Lagoon. The Apartments do have wonderful facilities not to mention great views and we try to make them as comfortable as possible.. Beds being top of the list of importance!! Thank you again for spending time on your feedback! Kind regards Lisa, Kerry and Patrik.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2013

I checked in on the 31st Dec and checked out on the 5th Jan.
I will say that my family and I have thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this accommodation. The apartment had everything for a visiting family with young children (kitchen, dish washer, washing machine, dryer, spacious, clean, safe, well appointed). More importantly, I spoke to a different person every time I walked into the reception / information centre ... and every single time I got the same high level of professionalism and courtesy. I can't say the same for every place (hotel, restaurants, theme parks, etc) we ventured into in the last 2 weeks (Gold Coast to Cairns).
I will certainly recommend this accommodation to my family and friends.
Wishing the team in Cairns Luxury Apartments the best for the rest of the year and keep up the great work.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rp921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAHarbourlights, Manager at Cairns Luxury Apartments - Harbourlights complex, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay over the Festive season with us! It is so lovely to hear how pleased you were with the Apartment and its facilities. The beautiful Apartments are really geared to a great family stay where it is important to have these facilities available. Thank you for the compliments regarding our Staff here at the Visitor Information Centre - when we have a passion for our region and all it has to offer we really do love to share the information. We look forward to seeing you all back on your next trip to Cairns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
225 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Our decision to stay at this property was based on the previous reviews posted by our travel colleagues on Trip Advisor. The staff at the main office were helpful and just plain wonderful people. We were fortunate to be given an upgrade to a one bedroom unit overlooking the marina from the corner of the second floor. The apartment complex
location, right in the middle of the boat harbor, couldn't be better and is complimented by strict security, convenient car parking and a small but functional gym. The unit was clean, functional and furnished with modern contemporary furniture and a flat screen TV with plenty of viewing channels. There was ample closet space, the kitchen facilities impressive, the bathroom sparkling clean and the hallway equipped with a first class washer and dryer. Not only was the bed large and comfortable, the balcony featured the perfect furniture to enjoy a fine meal, refreshing beverages and the evening sunset. This property is a superb value in the best part of town and we can say our Trip Advisor reviewers were "spot on." Not only that, it is directly in front of the walking/jogging/ bicycle path that runs miles up and down the beach and marina. It is not however a Five-Star property, but it does have a stellar location and first class management. A great value when hanging out in Cairns, consider staying here rather than at the more "pricey" hotels.

Room Tip: Just show up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rohbogen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAHarbourlights, Manager at Cairns Luxury Apartments - Harbourlights complex, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Thank you for your feedback! We love hearing back from our guests and appreciate the time you have taken to comment on our services and the amazing Apartments we are lucky enough to manage. Apartment complex's are so different from Hotels or Resorts and are rated differently too so its great to hear that you have enjoyed everything we can offer our guests. Perhaps we will see you on your return to beautiful Cairns to enjoy our wonderful Apartments again!! Kind regards Lisa, Patrik & Kerry, Cairns Luxury Apartments-Harbourlights Complex.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments
0.4 mi away
Cairns Aquarius
Cairns Aquarius
#27 of 64 in Cairns
213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cairns Harbour Lights
Cairns Harbour Lights
#17 of 85 in Cairns
732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Piermonde Apartments
Piermonde Apartments
#12 of 85 in Cairns
188 reviews
0.3 mi away
BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Luxury Apartments - Harbourlights complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Luxury Apartments - Harbourlights complex

Property: Cairns Luxury Apartments - Harbourlights complex
Address: Shop 1 34 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cairns Luxury Apartments - Harbourlights complex 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns Luxury Apartments are individually chosen apartments located on the Water Front of the Cairns Marlin Marina. These apartments are located in the Cairns Harbour Lights building and are rates 4 1/2 star. Our apartments include studio harbour view rooms (TEA & COFFEE FACILITIES ONLY), 1 bedroom self contained inlet & harbour view apartments, 2 and 3 bedroom self contained harbour view apartments. Check-in is via our Visitor Information Centre conveniently located diagonally opposite the complex. Our friendly staff can also organise all your touring needs. Office hours are from 8am - 9pm daily except Christmas Day and if you are checking in outside of these hours please advise us and we will organise alternative arrangements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cairns Luxury Apartments - Harbourlights complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing