We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cairns Luxury Apartments - Harbourlights complex

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cairns Luxury Apartments - Harbourlights complex
Ranked #27 of 89 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

The apartments are well located near good restaurants and adventure activities. The layout of our apartment was not the best, as the bedroom did not have any natural light. The ventilation in general is poor. The harbour views and location are what might score the apartment a very good - otherwise the overall experience is average.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siphov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns Luxury A, Guest Relations Manager at Cairns Luxury Apartments - Harbourlights complex, responded to this review, 2 November 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for choosing to stay with us.

We are sorry to hear that you were not pleased with the apartment. I am not sure which you stayed in from your username so I cannot comment on specifics, however I know that some do not have a direct window. Being open plan apartments they rely on sunlight from the full length windows along the other side of the apartment. I am also sorry to hear you were also not pleased with the ventilation as usually people comment on the amount of fresh sea air they have when leaving the balcony doors ajar.

It would be really helpful if you could contact us directly so that we can know which apartment you stayed in so that we are able to improve our service.

I hope that next time you choose to visit Cairns you will stay with us again, perhaps in another apartment, so that we can help you to have the best stay possible.

Kind regards,

Francesca Beckett
Guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    23
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
27
39
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Paid for a 5 night stay, booked via ratestogo website, wasn't apparent that this was part of a different complex. Taxi driver had no idea of where we were going. Eventually worked it out after dragging our bags back and forward. No room servicing until day 4- tried to contact off site office to query and were basically fobbed off. Too much effort to even drop us off clean towels. No manager available to discuss why our room wasn't serviced, messages left but no return call from manager either. Worst service we've ever had in what was a reasonably expensive stay. I would recommend the Hilton - right next door and breakfast included for not much more cost! At least you would have a concierge who might politely listen to you and provide some service with a smile.

Room Tip: higher floors on harbour side might be better, we were just above the restaurants and it was noisy o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns Luxury A, Manager at Cairns Luxury Apartments - Harbourlights complex, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Hi Margaret,

I'm sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay and are unhappy with the service that we provided. We are a small, family run business with only a few members of staff and pride ourselves on offering an excellent personal service to all of our customers.

Because of the deal you booked (saving yourself almost 30% - you are a very good bargain hunter!!!) the stay did not include daily servicing, something that we feel should absolutely have been made clearer on check in so we could have helped to rectify the situation - before a situation even arose. I believe that the housekeepers did service the room after the complaint was made and I hope this appeased you, if only a little.

Although there are many advantages to booking with a smaller company, one of the disadvantages is that during quiet times of the day we do only have one staff member working. I believe one of the things that upset you most was that the staff member you spoke to was unable to come directly to your room with some fresh towels and a refill for your welcome pack. I wanted to explain that it wasn't a case of any of us being unwilling to help, but unable to leave the shop unattended.

I hope that if you ever return to Cairns you would choose to stay with us again so we are able to demonstrate the level of customer service that we strive to attain.

Apologies and regards,
Francesca Beckett
Cairns Luxury Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

These apartments are in a perfect location, right on the boardwalk. It is lovely to stroll past the water on a sunny day. There are so many wonderful restaurants nearby. The room was great, and had a lovely view of the marina. The bed was very comfortable. I definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns Luxury A, Manager at Cairns Luxury Apartments - Harbourlights complex, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hi Rosie,
Thankyou for your review regarding our apartments. We really enjoy getting feedback from our guests and we are thrilled that you had a fantastic time in our region and enjoyed the facilities that we have to offer. Thanks for your recommendation, it is greatly appreciated.
Cheers,
Ivana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Great apartment of convenient location. Spacious room and comfortable furniture. Beautiful harbor view and the balcony is just perfect for the sunset. Love the kitchen but later find tiny ants coming from nowhere!!

Room Tip: definitely have a harbor view room, it's worth to pay extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xx x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns Luxury A, Manager at Cairns Luxury Apartments - Harbourlights complex, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Eul 1,
Thank you for taking the time to send in your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that you were impressed with the great harbour views this room has to offer. The little black ants you described are known as sugar ants and they do like to come out occasionally when rain is around and unfortunately we can not do much about them as they love living in the tropics as much as we do!
We hope that you will be able to return to Cairns Luxury Apartments again some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We've just back and so sad we should plan being there longer. Very warm welcome but you need to check in at the Visitor Info center around the corner before headind to the Harbour Light complex. Great room decoration, clean, recommend the harbour view. Very close to the fleet terminal for GBR trip and close to the esplanade and the restaurant around! But there were no daily service so if the agent consider to add just light daily cleaning service we will give Excellent!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chrinthip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns Luxury A, Manager at Cairns Luxury Apartments - Harbourlights complex, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, and for the great feedback - we are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us! We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed that your room was not serviced daily (this is because the apartments are considered 'self contained' rather than a hotel room) and should you stay with us again we hope that we can make you think that we're very "excellent" indeed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

The Harbour Lights is situated in a brilliant location right on the waterfront. This part of Cairns is very tourist orientated and has a large selection of restaurants and high end shops. The casino is directly across the road if that's your style. Our room was a studio and was small but functional. There was a small fridge, LCD TV and coffee and tea making facilities. The bathroom was small but well set out and had the biggest shower I've ever seen. The room looked a little plain with big grey walls and no pictures or paintings and a lot of patch-ups in the wrong tone. There's a pool on level 4 with a small gym, this area has nice views over the city. Dundee's restaurant is on the ground level and is pretty busy, we had a nice meal there and the service was good. The central part of the hotel looks a bit like a prison with a bar like aluminium barrier, it's a very strange design choice. All up this is an ok choice, it's clean, well located and modern.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Evandstace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns Luxury A, Manager at Cairns Luxury Apartments - Harbourlights complex, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us such great feedback, we always appreciate hearing what you enjoyed and, of course, what we can do to improve thing s for future guests.

We're so glad to hear you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the amenities which are located so close by - a definite advantage! Just to let you know that we have recently updated the decor of many of our rooms due to guest feedback and they are looking rather lovely indeed! Sadly we're unable to change the interior section of the building but we do understand that the architect made an interesting design choice...

I hope that next time you visit Cairns you'll stay with us again as not only do we love to look after our VIP returning guests but you'll be able to see all of the improvements we've made.

Kind regards,

Francesca Beckett
Cairns Luxury Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We arrived late on March 22 for a 10 day stay at Cairns Luxury Apartments. It was our first big family holiday and I had planned and researched it all months in advance. When we arrived in the evening it was pouring rain, carting our luggage from the visitor information center with two small children in the rain after travelling all day was difficult and we were guided to the wrong floor. We walked around in circles unsure where to go. I contacted and spoke to a very helpful man named Patrick, who was most apologetic and informed us we were given the wrong floor. Patrick escorted us to the correct floor to our apartment. The apartment location was great, we loved the views, and the general layout was great but we had a few issues. For luxury apartments we were a little disappointed on the condition of the furnishings. The floor was cream carpet which was covered in stains, which gave it a dirty look. The cupboard with the microwave was loose at one hinge which was hazardous as you had to juggle it to get it back into place.. Some of the blinds in one of the bedrooms were broken or missing which looked untidy and messy. The worst part was the ensuite bathroom which had no curtains or privacy as it was facing the Harbour. Unless you wanted to wave to 300 tourists on the boats whilst going to the toilet, we gave that bathroom a miss, therefore, the en-suite was pretty much useless.

I did make mention of the bathroom to the ladies in the tourist office, who advised they would have someone come up to put plastic sheet up for some privacy, but no one ever came. These were small things, but for luxury apartments they could have been better. If someone was to evaluate this apartment for ratings, I honestly doubt it would get more than 3 stars, it seems the apartments condition depend on the owners, so I assume some apartments are better than others.

As for location, it was fabulous! I loved the views. All in all FNQ apartments were friendly and helpful, so I have no complaints on the customer service and I would definitely book with them again. My only advice is a little more attention to detail can go a long way on first impressions.

Room Tip: Get a room with a harbour view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CKVICTORIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments
0.4 mi away
Cairns Aquarius
Cairns Aquarius
#25 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,085 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cairns Harbour Lights
Cairns Harbour Lights
#17 of 89 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vision Cairns Esplanade
Vision Cairns Esplanade
#19 of 89 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Luxury Apartments - Harbourlights complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Luxury Apartments - Harbourlights complex

Property: Cairns Luxury Apartments - Harbourlights complex
Address: Shop 1 34 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 89 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cairns Luxury Apartments - Harbourlights complex 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns Luxury Apartments are individually chosen apartments located on the Water Front of the Cairns Marlin Marina. These apartments are located in the Cairns Harbour Lights building and are rates 4 1/2 star. Our apartments include studio harbour view rooms (TEA & COFFEE FACILITIES ONLY), 1 bedroom self contained inlet & harbour view apartments, 2 and 3 bedroom self contained harbour view apartments. Check-in is via our Visitor Information Centre conveniently located diagonally opposite the complex. Our friendly staff can also organise all your touring needs. Office hours are from 8am - 9pm daily except Christmas Day and if you are checking in outside of these hours please advise us and we will organise alternative arrangements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cairns Luxury Apartments - Harbourlights complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing