We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best charter in cairns” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cairns Reef Fishing

Cairns Reef Fishing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cairns Reef Fishing provides exciting full day fishing trips to the Great Barrier Reef. Our trips are $260.00 per person, all inclusive with everything supplied for your day.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best charter in cairns”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Rang on Saturday arvo and was fishing sunday morning, first drop produced some lovely coral trout, cass the deckie was a wonderful host and with his help we landed an amazing Spanish mackerel between 25kg and 30kg, ruff conditions and the boys were still able to put us onto the fish. Best money I have ever spent, great value with lunch included. Thanks heaps boys James.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ausfisho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    15
    3
    1
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not Customer-Oriented”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Look at the way the manager responding to guests who gave negative feedbacks on trip advisor, you will see the service standard of this company.

As you can see, their boats circled around continuously to find fishes with one stop less than 10 minutes. After 10+ stops, me and my mother began to get seasickness. I never got seasickness before, although i often took boat rides, because I never got on a boat which kept circling clockwise and anti-clockwise alternately and continuously. And the cabin was full of gasoline smell which made things worse.

Then we experienced the indifferent way they treated guests. All of the staff pretended they didn't notice we got seasickness, although half of the guests showed their cares to us.

After all, my father didn't catch any fishes at last. How bad luck for him.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
13 Thank lui_lui_lui_lui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CFC_Manager, Manager at Cairns Reef Fishing, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Let me begin with "unless you are in the right spot YOU WILL NOT CATCH FISH".
It costs money and its hard work to move around but we do it to put our passengers in the best spot to catch fish. I have looked at the GPS tracker for your charter and you only moved 6 times, Not 10+ as you claimed.
Even though you and your mother/father didn't catch many fish the other passengers caught lots, that is the luck of fishing sometimes. We do try hard as nothing makes a skipper of a fishing charter happier than seeing his passengers catching fish.
We do feel for someone that get seasick but as there is very little we can do for them we tend to make the best of it for everyone.
CFC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Alot of room for improvement...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Went on a night charter, we left at 4:45pm and got to the 1st spot around 6:15pm. Trolled but no luck! Tried for some trout while there was a little bit of light but still no luck. Moved another 3 or 4 spots throughout the night, was a little annoyed when I overheard the skipper saying there was 'TOO MANY' fish on a spot we passed! We pay good dollar to catch plenty of fish, not to go straight pass them with a blind eye! Besides that there was some big large mouth Nancy's caught and a few massive chinaman's aswell. Time we were told to pack up 10:21pm. Total fish time of 4 hours and 6 mins for $250...daylight robbery, especially from a locals point of view. I must say though the Decky did a great job after copping a lot of flack from the skipper during the night and I'm a proud supporter of the large sinkers.
Sorry but I will not be returning nor promoting this charter in the future.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DYL089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CFC_Manager, Manager at Cairns Reef Fishing, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Our skipper with over 15 years commercial and charter fishing experience, knows that isolated echoes on fish finders are a good sign but clouds of bait fish usually are not good, hence why you partially overheard his comment regarding the bait fish as being "too many fish" to our deckhand.
FYI - It costs $$$ each time we move around looking for the illusive spot for fishing, therefore we don’t move around for the sake of it, we move around with the intent of locating the right spot for catching fish, which you have noted was the case!!! After all nothing makes a skipper of a fishing charter happier than seeing his passengers catching fish.
You were advised when booking your evening fishing charter that the vessel departs around 4.30pm and arrives back at Cairns just after midnight to12.30am which provides ample time (4hrs approx) for fishing. Even though you may have had a quiet night catching fish, we noticed other members of your group and passengers caught plenty of fish, including a 15 year old boy who caught his ‘fish of a lifetime’ 8kg Red Emperor and his family commented to the crew ‘we’re definitely coming back’.
Our charters are all inclusive $250.00pp with no hidden extras once on board and we work very hard to make sure we offer good value for money. Both of our boats are well over 40 feet which we only half fill (max of 12-14 passengers) so that fishing numbers remain comfortable, this way everyone can fish at the same time. We have been told on numerous occasions by many passengers we are way too cheap for what our fishing charters offer.
I have no further information for you regarding the friendly banter you once again partially overheard between the skipper and deckhand regarding sinkers as this is a personal preference.
No matter how many times we ask passengers to arrive on time for our 4.30pm departure there is inevitably someone who is running late which was the case on the night of your charter.
So on behalf of this passenger I can only but apologise for the inconvenience it caused you and wish you better luck with fishing next time you go:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Crew were fantastic , (Cas) the deckie was great nothing was a drama and his knowledge was great. The fish were quiet but the crew made every effort to catch fish even trolling home to catch some Tuna . Hopefully next time get some REDS !

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Roddo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mildura, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

The day started off great and ended the same. Crew had a lot of knowledge about the area & types of fish. Both had a lot of background experience. And weren't afraid to move spots if the fish weren't biting , keep up the good work!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank courts_n_huddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cairns Reef Fishing also viewed

 

Been to Cairns Reef Fishing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing