We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cha Ba thai spicy - CLOSED

Cha Ba thai spicy
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

delicious traditional thai food whith typical meals, and so lovely staff... the place to be for eating thai in Cairns :)

Helpful?
Thank croq_fr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    7
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
283 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“3 verging on a 4”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Having only had the one meal here I can't seriously provide a truly comprehensive review, rather just that of 2 courses, some rice and a beer.

To this end I had the Yellow Curry with chicken. Out of 10 I could only give the curry a 5 at best. It was thin, lacked spice and the chicken was chunky and a tad chewy. Far from what I had hoped.

My wife ordered a full Barramundi and she well and truly liked it. She gave it an 8 out of 10 claiming it to be tasty, lacking in smell and well deserving of her taste buds.

The rice was fairly gluggy and the Singha beer not quite cold enough.

However, when we arrived I couldn't help but notice the really lovely decor, the place definitely had a good feel to it. The people were nice (there was a total of 6 patrons in the time we were there on the Sunday evening), the crockery terrific.

Ultimately though it was let down by a poor dish. But as stated at the outset, I would need to try other dishes before providing a solid review.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cuspub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great thai food!!”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

I got takeaway from cha ba thai spicy and it was very tasty and authentic. I got the beef massamum, phad thai and chicken panang. Every meal was really delicious and am looking forward to trying some of their other dishes next time I visit cairns. Highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heidz85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A surprise birthday indulgence”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

I was given a surprise birthday by 7 of my closest friends at Cha ba tonight and the food wine champagne and service was exemplary and I was so appreciative of Patricia's ( the owner) hospitality. The entrees of curry puffs spring rolls money bags and fish cakes were all to the usual high standard and the fish choo Chee was just superb . I always feel like part of the family when dining here and tonight was no exception - Thankyou once again

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goonellabah, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great night”
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff, quick service, tasty food. Group of 13 catered for easily. Spacious so not crowded for groups or couples.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cha Ba thai spicy also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing