We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food, reasonably priced” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cha Ba thai spicy - CLOSED

Cha Ba thai spicy
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delicious food, reasonably priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Three of us found this restaurant and were very pleased with our meals. The veggie green curry was delicious, as was the yellow fish curry (I sampled them both). The chicken soup I had was wonderfully tangy and chock full of meat. We also shared an order of spring rolls, which were light, crispy, and not too spicy.

Service was very good and quick. Only off-putting feature I would comment on was the odd purple exterior.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hilopatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    7
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Thrilled to find Cha Ba”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

After 2 weeks traveling around North Queensland, we were ready for something other than steak and potatoes four ways. Cha Ba did not disappoint.

We ordered a large tom kha to hate for entree and it was a generous serve. We also shared the chicken with cashew nut for main.

This is a family run business with wife at counter, husband cooking and son waiting. They went to great lengths to make us feel at home with a 9mo baby.

The food was served promptly. The soup had real herbs and the chicken dish was fresh and tasty.

I'd recommend Cha Ba to anyone traveling thru cairns. Parking is easy too.

Helpful?
Thank WorldlyWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
730 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,150 helpful votes
“Solid without being exceptional”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Myself and my partner are Thai enthusiasts and were quite keen to try this restaurant given its strong following on tripadvisor. We went in October 2013. We had a decent, but largely unmemorable experience. The service and setting were OK, without being great and the food served was tasty and well priced, without being exceptional. Overall I enjoyed my experience but found this place too 'informal' for my liking.
As a side note to the readers strangely one of the best Thai places I have found in Cairns is a small food court based thai restaurant called 'Cairns Thai' which is located in a hidden away food court in an arcade opposite GIlligans Backpackers. It is only open lunchtimes and is a very informal setting, but serves delicious Thai with prices in the low teens.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rowan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boyne Island, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best Thai meals & quick service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

All four of our meals were delicious! and served promptly. Will return at every opportunity. The unusual selection of music caused a few giggles at our table, however it was upbeat. BYO.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christi360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

delicious traditional thai food whith typical meals, and so lovely staff... the place to be for eating thai in Cairns :)

Helpful?
Thank croq_fr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cha Ba thai spicy also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing