We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it”
Review of Green Island

Green Island
Book In Advance
More Info
US$71.56*
and up
Green Island Half Day Trip from Cairns
Ranked #15 of 121 things to do in Cairns
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Worth it”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We took the cruise on Big Cat to Green Island. The trip was great, very scenic view from the boat. The submarine ride was great and you get a good view of the coral reef. Snorkeling was a bit of disappointment as you dont see much of anything. There is a special trip to the deep seas and i understand you get to see big fishes and good amount of coral. But you have to book this in advance.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dev G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    613
    490
    300
    98
    52
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“green island cruise”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

semi sub glass bottomed boat and glass bottom boat half day tour. amazing views of the reef and reef life. well worth the trip. a snorkeller would probably want to do the whole day.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank susan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicksburg, Michigan
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place But Check The Temperature!”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We hopped on the ferry to Green Island, gateway to the Great Barrier Reef. While others enjoyed going snorkeling, I'm not into that because I almost drowned when younger. However, I did enjoy the glass bottomed boat tour, even though a half-hour cruise was too short. We saw coral, many large & small fish & a couple of turtles. We did go around to the park trail on the island, where we saw many birds & even an eight-inch or more walking stick. However, I would definitely do the walk when the temperature is a bit nicer. By the time we returned to the gathering place, we were dripping with sweat due to the heat & humidity. I would definitely recommend enjoying this island when the weather is a bit cooler. By the way, the ice cream shop is a definite do-not-miss, & that helps cool a person off.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Moitime1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot to bum at the beach!”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I went snorkeling at the reef and I was dropped off on the beach of the island on a dinghy. After arriving on the beach we freshened up at the public restrooms and headed straight back to the beach. We didn't partake in any of the accommodation, activities or food that is offered on the island but had a great time relaxing on the beach. We enjoyed the view, the sand and the water. It was the perfect way to end our day of snorkeling before we headed back to the mainland.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joy_Autumn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perak, Malaysia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Ideal place to relax”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

With the clear water and some coral reefs on the seabed, there is always something in Green island that can attract you. However, if you are someone that is looking for more adventurous activity or planned to explore more the marine life in great barrier reef, you might need to go for scuba diving or other places instead of green island.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kehoe92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Green Island also viewed

 

Been to Green Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing