We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really fun”

Active Tropics Explorer - Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$115.97*
and up
Cape Tribulation, Mossman Gorge, and Daintree Rainforest Day Trip from Cairns...
More Info
US$87.78*
and up
Full-Day Tour from Cairns: Atherton Tablelands and Waterfalls
More Info
US$151.40*
and up
Cape Tribulation and Daintree Rainforest tour with accommodation
Ranked #36 of 159 Tours in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: CAPE TRIBULATION Cape Tribulation, is famous as the place where the rainforest meets the reef, a wilderness area like no other. This pristine region is a wilderness dream of lush tropical rainforests, tropical white beaches, sleepy rivers and breathtaking natural beauty preserved by World Heritage listing for future generations. A haven for those wishing to pursue an alternative lifestyle, the freedom, untouched beauty and relaxing style of this region attracts nature lovers and backpackers seeking the perfect holiday escape. World Heritage reef and rainforest come together along this section of the northern coast - nowhere else are these two natural wonders side by aside and so accessible to travelers "Explorer this truly Magical Place" Active Tropics Explorer have been operating to Cape Tribulation since May 2000, and over the years have provided many highlights for travelers who have visited to our region.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
“Really fun”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We decided to go on the waterfalls and rainforest tour because it was cheap and they did hostel pick-ups so it was perfect. The day was so much fun and great value for money. Our guide Joe answered all our questions and knew so much about everything! He also made us feel very safe when walking through the rainforest and swimming in the waterfalls. We saw tree kangaroos, lizards, giant spiders... The waterfalls were beautiful and Lake Eacham was great too. AND Joe brought snacks. We would definitely recommend this tour to anyone coming to Cairns.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Josh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    39
    26
    5
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Daintree Rainforest and Cape Tribulation”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

March isn't a very good time to go to the Great Barrier Reef nor the rain forest as it's rainy on and off. This tour was way over rated. Our guide was funny enough and gave a good overview of what we were doing, but the trip didn't meet my expectations. We were scheduled to visit Cape Tribulation, the Daintree rain forest, an indigenous educational talk, and scenic drive. We did all that, but the indigenous talk didn't meet my expectations. I was comparing it to the indigenous experiences in South America and this one was very short, almost 20 minutes or so. We got a chance to go swimming in Mossman gorge area, but it wasn't enough time to change, dip in and then change again. We only got half an hour. The ice cream stop is nice. Since it was rainy and foggy we didn't really get a chance to hang out at the Cape Tribulation beach. This tour was average for $134. Tour is from 8-4.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank sneekymongoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
1 review
“#1 tour in Australia!!!!”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

we did the trip to the rainforest and waterfalls today this was the best tour of our whole 22 months in Australia. every stop was breath taking and the experience of our guide joe was incredible. we saw lots of animals even two tree kangaroos that our guide saw due to its poo!! we cannot recommend this tour and especially our guide enough he brought our group together during the day and answered all our questions this is the tour we will be recommending to all our friends who make it to cairns in the future.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank tinklybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Sightseeing adventure!”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My Aunty and I went on the tablelands adventure with Jo as the tour guide. Wow! Jo provided a fantastic insight into all aspects of the journey and I cannot believe the amount of sights we got to see. Waterfalls that take your breath away and the rainforest itself is beautiful. Before leaving the bus Jo versed us all on the safety concerns like wild life and certain plants and trees that can cause harm.

All together fantastic adventure. And great value! $85 is way to cheap. You get to see all of inner Queensland pretty much.


Highly recommend to all! Regards from steven and Emma

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stevenjamesmcnamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very interresting”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I did the tour on the 04.02.2014 with the tour guide Jordan. Jordan has a big knowledge about the history, the nature and the animals and he was very motivated.
This tour was one of the best things which I did in my whole time in australia!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandro H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Active Tropics Explorer - Day Tours also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Active Tropics Explorer - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing