We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Position”
Review of Mantra Trilogy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Trilogy
Ranked #25 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
cairns aust
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Position”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We are well travellled locals and chose to stay at the Mantra Trilogy because of its central position to shops and restraunts. Which was wonderful. The rooms however were fairly average, and not what I was expecting after seeing the pics on the site. The pictures on the site show more modern upmarket rooms not the basic boring rooms in which had. The staff were friendly and helpful. And we most likely would stay at the Trilogy again if only for its central position.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tink07_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAM-Trilogy, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear tink07_11,

thank you for your recent feedback.
We always appreciate constructive comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards
All the reception staff were very happy to read your review.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    636
    362
    215
    151
See reviews for
505
583
88
335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland, United States
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We booked this hotel through our travel agent, staying here three nights over two stops. This was our first stop after traveling from Maryland to Australia, so a hot shower was in order.

In our first room, the water ran cold, even after letting it run for about five minutes. They gave us another room, and we were able to get barely lukewarm water. We decided to stick it out, since we didn't have many options.

On our second stop here, the situation was similar, with barely warm water.

On the positive side, the hotel is located right on the Cairns Esplanade, with easy walking access to hotels and shopping.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAM-Trilogy, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear Mike D,

Thank you for taking the time and providing us with feedback of your recent stay.
Please accept our apologies for the hot water problems you experienced during your time with us.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to Mantra Trilogy in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

What an amazing experience at the Mantra Trilogy! As soon as we arrived, we were greeted by friendly front desk staff who ensured that we were well taken care of. Alas, we were only at the Mantra Trilogy for a night. There is more than one tower of rooms at the hotel, and we were located in Tower 2. My only complaint is that as you exit reception to go to Tower 2, you pass through the garage and smell the trash. This can be avoided by entering from the outside entrance, although you would have to circle the building to do so.

Our 3-bedroom, 2 bath apartment gave us amazing views of the ocean as well as the mountains and even the beautiful pool down below. The master bedroom was very large, while the other two were average-sized, yet comfortable. This property also offered free laundry in the apartment. The decor was very tasteful and modern; I felt like we were staying in an apartment straight out of a home decor magazine. The location was right along the Cairns Esplanade, so it was easy to leave the hotel to eat and shop. We also had a 5 minute walk to the Reef Terminal, where we boarded the sightseeing cruise out to the Great Barrier Reef. Hotel staff even allowed us to borrow towels to take with us on the cruise and held onto our luggage as we checked out of the hotel earlier that day. The Mantra Trilogy was the most glamorous hotel during our stay in Australia and we thoroughly enjoyed our experience.

Room Tip: Tower 2 offers views of the ocean, mountains, and even the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hashbrowny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAM-Trilogy, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear hashbrowny,

Thank you so much for your review. We are proud to read that you highly recommend the Mantra Trilogy and in particular that you enjoyed your 3 Bedroom Ocean View Apartment so much.

I look forward to personally welcoming you back and next time we hope for more than one night!

Yours Sincerely,

Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

I booked a two bedroom apartment for myself and my family visiting from overseas. The apartment was very modern and well appointed. It had everything we needed, including a coffee machine which we didn't use. The apartment had a very modern feeling. Each bedroom had two single beds (I had to request these as they are normally joined to make king size beds) and we requested a roll-way as there were five of us. I was expecting that the extra bed would be placed in one of the bedrooms but when we arrived we found a sofa bed already made up in the living/kitchen/dining room. The room was not very big and there were only two additional chairs so some of us had to sit on the dining chairs when we were all in the communal area. Some of the apartments in the building seem to be privately owned, and the hotel doesn't have any restaurants or bars. So you actually don't feel you are staying at a hotel. The swimming pool was surrounded by three towers of apartments and didn't look very relaxing place to stay (we didn't use it). The receptionists were overall helpful. There were a few Japanese speaking receptionists so the place must be popular among Japanese. The location was great, close to shops and restaurants. Overall, it was a nice place to stay but I wouldn't have minded more space.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pengapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAM-Trilogy, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear Pengapa,

Thank you for your review we really appreciate your comments.
We look forward to having you with us again.

Warm regards

Christian Lachemeier
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed 7 nights here, receiving a free night. The location was perfect as it is walking distance from restaurants, shopping centre and bus depot.

The gym room was disapointing as the equipment were old and worn, with no tv or even music.

The pool was decent size and perfect to relax in, and looked really good at night.

The room could do with a clean, the bathroom especially. The carpet had stains and the grout in kitchen and bathroom needed a good clean.

The room size however, was pretty good, pretty spacious for a one bedroom apartment with a spacious balcony.

The only issue we had was check in. After our flight had been changed we were in Cairns at 9 am (5 hours earlier than planned). I had called Mantra to see whether we could check in earlier. She assured me that as it is low season it was more than likely we could get in our room earlier than the standard 2pm check in, she said that they would call housekeeping as soon as we arrived, and they would put us as priority. However when we arrived we didn't get in our room til 2 pm, the only reason I am annoyed is because I was reassured that I would have an early check in, so I felt that they shouldn't of gave me that false hope.

As we had to wait for 5 hours to check in we could have our luggage stored in a room, we were giving tags to get our luggage once ready. When we went to get our luggage the receptionist just opened the room allowing us in to a room full of luggage, while she had already returned to desk, I see this as a problem as anyone could claim anyone's luggage and it's not very secure.

Overall it was an okay apartment with it's negatives and positives, was hoping for something more modern and something closer to 4 star.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KK6192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAM-Trilogy, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear KK6192,

Thank you for your constructive feedback.
As we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer your honest and comprehensive comments are extremely helpful.

I am sorry for the service you received upon check in at Mantra Trilogy and will have it addressed with all staff immediately.

It is also very disappointing to read that you felt that the cleaning was not up to standard.
I sincerely apologise and have forwarded your comments to our Executive Housekeeping Manager to review immediately with the team that serviced this room upon your arrival.

Thank you again for taking the time and providing us with your feedback and I sincerely hope we will be given the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Christian Lachemeier
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Highly recommend this resort. We were there over the New Year 2012/2013 period. An amazing room amazing views. We stayed on the 11 floor room 4.........omg...amazing.
The staff were so friendly. Reception staff outstanding and knowledable. Its central to everthing. Great restaurants,shops, IGA, bottle shop, everything really. Everything is in walking distance. Would hightly recommend this resort. Simply beautiful!
We will go there again. We only book MANTRA properties within the Australia region.

Room Tip: We wanted a waterfront room, they were sold out, so we went for a partial view of ocean and the hill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karin1959_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAM-Trilogy, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear karin1959_2013,

Thank you so very much for your review. It is pleasing to read that you found our service and facilities to be exceptional.
Our team works hard every day to present a clean and comfortable property for our guests.

We could not be happier to receive such great comments from a guest that stayed at Mantra Trilogy. It will certainly serve as an encouragement to all staff to read your feedback.
It sounds like you had an amazing start into 2013.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Your sincerely,
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Hotwire has this rated at 4.5 stars; 3.5 is the reality, and even that might be stretching it. Nevertheless, at $104/night on Hotwire, this hotel is good value: it's well located, has a 24 hour staff, as well as a pool and a (rather pathetic) gym. With a nice balcony, my room seemed typical: a refigerator, comfortable bed, large Samsung television, and decent bathroom.

Two issues: one, housekeeping is EXTRA, though you can always ask for extra shampoo, etc. So if you need housekeeping, the $104 hotwire price may not seem like such a bargain. And then there's WIFI, which is outrageously priced at more than 3 times the going rate of internet cafes, including an internet cafe a stone's throw from the Mantra and which is not only air conditioned but also has new Macs for $3/hour. From a previous review, I see that the Mantra manager claims the hotel "can't afford" to provide free internet. Fair enough. But the absurdly priced access here is clearly intended to MAKE money and should be avoided.

Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Pentwater--summerjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAM-Trilogy, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear Pentwater—summerjoy,

Thank you for taking the time and providing us with your recent feedback.

We always appreciate constructive comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards
as well as meet and exceed guest expectations.

It is very regrettable that you did not come across the information of our non serviced rates on Hotwire. In the past 2 years many of the apartment accommodation providers introduced the un-serviced rates due to guest feedback. We unfortunately only operate with un-serviced rates for quite some time where additional servicing can be arranged at extra cost. It was decided then that any additional supplies for the room is provided free of charge via reception if needed. A system that is welcomed by the majority of our guests, but I understand your disappointment if you have not read this information on the web at the time of booking so that the choice would have been yours.

The Wireless internet system installed in the Trilogy complex is owned and operated by Azure Wireless. The system is independent of the hotel and is monitored by Azure staff to ensure connectivity at all times. Regrettably we are also unable to influence the pricing structure. I will forward your comments to the Queensland account Manager of Doco-Intertouch to allow them to review their current structure.

In general we receive great feedback regarding the free to use gym. Whilst the running machines as well as the bikes were upgraded less than 12 month ago and all equipment is serviced on a regular basis it cannot be compared to a professional gym.

Please accept my sincerest apologies and thank you again for taking the time to write to us and advise us of your concerns.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to Mantra Trilogy in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.5 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#16 of 64 in Cairns
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.3 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Trilogy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Trilogy

Property: Mantra Trilogy
Address: 101 - 105 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Trilogy 4.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Trilogy is ideally located above the Cairns Esplanade within walking distance to some of Cairns best restaurants, the Reef Casino, Cairns Central Shopping Mall and the newly developed Cairns Lagoon. Offering open plan designed hotel rooms to spacious self-contained one, two and three-bedroom apartments all have cable TV, private balconies with views over the pool, surrounding mountains or ocean. Apartments offer the added convenience of fully-equipped kitchens and laundry facilities. Onsite guests can spend a lazy afternoon on the pool deck overlooking the ocean, cook up a barbeque on the resort lawns or enjoy an invigorating workout in the gymnasium. From the property you can stroll the length of the Esplanade, an area which has recently undergone a major re-development to include al fresco dining, parklands, BBQ areas and the Cairns Lagoon, a massive patrolled water-park that attracts both tourists and locals alike. Overlooking Trinity Bay and the parkland of Cairns Esplanade, Mantra Trilogy's premier location provides the perfect base to explore the markets, shopping, night life and restaurants of Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Trilogy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Trilogy Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing