We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mantra Trilogy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra Trilogy
Ranked #27 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Gold Coast,Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Great room, great location only the TV let it down. Foxtel stations came through thick and fast but Freeview stations only occasionally. OK you don't go to Cairns to watch TV but...it was the rainy season and rain in the tropics is VERY wet to walk around in. It's near beach, dining and shops. Its clean efficient and has a gym and outside swimming pool. Nice three days.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B4its2late8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rupert H, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear B4its2late8,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and have a great holiday considering the recent weather.

Thank you for your patience with our TV channels. The issues with the local channels have now been resloved.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for any future reservations. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra Trilogy again soon.

Kind regards,

Rupert Hayden-Gilbert
Executive Assistant Manager
Mantra Trilogy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    556
    303
    187
    135
See reviews for
439
517
74
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mission Beach
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

My husband and I usually stay at Harbour Lights, the Sebel or the Hilton whilst in Cairns, however could not secure a booking on short notice due to Chinese New Year, and so thought we would give this property a try as the location was great….. that is where it ends.

For just over $200 for the night, we were appointed a room with a lovely outlook of the esplanade. … The bed was a complete joke with pillows as thin as it gets and a lovely bar running down the centre of the bed from where the two singles were joined, and upon entering the room we saw a sign placed on top of an overturned clean ashtray indicating that our room had been made up as a non smoking room ….. only problem with this is that the these rooms are dual entry, so you open one door only to enter a small alcove with two more doors… and clearly the people in the room beside us were chain smokers for as soon as we opened the door the cigarette smoke smell was savage, and our room was pungent.

Of course we contacted management who did the right thing and moved us to a different room….. only to be confronted with two single beds, and a new pungent smell of mould…. started the air conditioning, which only pumped the stink in more.

Upon inspection of the bathroom, there were hairs around the toilet bowl, mould growing in the grouting of the white tiles (real good look), there was water in the shower and on the floor and some had splashed onto the toilet seat….. a blanket was bunched up in a ball and placed at the top of a cupboard as well... made me think that someone had vacated the room in a bit of a hurry and it wasn't even cleaned properly…. maybe a duty manager's room?

We won't be staying there again… ever… and won't recommend.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here unless all the good places are booked out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank MissionBeachLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rupert H, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear MissionBeachLocal,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

Kind regards,

Rupert Hayden-Gilbert
Executive Assistant Manager
Mantra Trilogy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed here with my wife and two boys. We had a two bedroom suite, which was perfect for what we needed. Full kitchen, balcony, and a generally comfortable room. The location is perfect, right near the esplanade and within walking distance of restaurants, the lagoon, and many others. We visited those pool twice, was a little cold but had a area the kids could play in. This place has gone one our short list of places to stay when we go to town.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank matt_the_og
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rupert H, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear matt_the_og,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We are very happy to hear you had a great holiday and we were able to provide you with a memorable holiday.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for any future reservations. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra Trilogy again soon.

Kind regards,

Rupert Hayden-Gilbert
Executive Assistant Manager
Mantra Trilogy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed for the first time at the Mantra Trilogy in Cairns and we highly recommend the resort to anyone wanting to stay in Cairns. We found the staff very friendly and helpful and we were well looked after. Our 2 bedroom unit was clean and tidy and as we were there for 10 days, it was serviced during the week as well. It is handy to shops, restaurants and nice walks along the waterfront.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne-Marie4568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rupert H, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Anne-Marie4568

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time tell us about your experience.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kind regards,

Rupert Hayden-Gilbert
Executive Assistant Manager
Mantra Trilogy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We've stayed here twice in 1 bed self contained rooms. They are always neat and well appointed. The hotel is located well and a walk to everything important. However there is always a delay to check in and check out, and its annoying that the access cards cut out right on 10am check out time because you often need them due to the delay in waiting to check out (waiting for trolleys or lifts to load the car in the car park). Overall its a good price for the location, friendly staff and clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alisonstraveltimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rupert H, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Alisontraveltimes

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

We are very happy we were able to provide you with a memorable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Kind regards,

Rupert Hayden-Gilbert
Executive Assistant Manager
Mantra Trilogy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Willunga, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Our family recently stayed at the Mantra Trilogy in Cairns, We highly recommend to anyone else looking to stay in Cairns, to stay here. The service and friendly staff will ensure you are well looked after.. Thank you we had a great stay, everything we need was here, and the staff were amazing...

Room Tip: We stayed in the 3 bedroom apartment, wonderful views and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rupert H, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Abb-Marie4568

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Kind regards,

Rupert Hayden-Gilbert
Executive Assistant Manager
Mantra Trilogy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed here for our 25th wedding anniversary on the Australia day weekend and while the staff were lovely as always, the place is in need of a facelift.
Our room was not particularly clean, the carpets had stains on them, we had a King bed and there was a huge lump through the center of the bed. The bed was so close to the fridge the door would not open properly.
On arrival our room safe did not work and after asking for it to be fixed 3 times it was finally done 24 hours after we asked.
There are only around 30 car parking spaces so its a first in best dressed deal, we had to park in the street every night due to this.
The foyer on the 7th floor smelled musty every time we were there, it needs some ventilation or air con.
The only good thing about this hotel is the location as its close to many shops and restaurants.
We have stayed in many Mantra Hotels as we like the consistency of them but i am sorry to say this Mantra does not cut it.

Room Tip: Don't book room one on the 7th level tower 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petertravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rupert H, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Petertravels,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am disappointed to hear that you were not happy with the standard of the room that you were allocated. The apartments are currently scheduled for a refurbishment; this will enhance the overall presentation of the rooms and also the guest experience

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra Trilogy again soon.

Kind regards,

Rupert Hayden-Gilbert
Executive Assistant Manager
Mantra Trilogy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cairns Aquarius
Cairns Aquarius
#26 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#14 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.3 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Trilogy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Trilogy

Property: Mantra Trilogy
Address: 101 - 105 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Trilogy 4.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Trilogy is ideally located above the Cairns Esplanade within walking distance to some of Cairns best restaurants, the Reef Casino, Cairns Central Shopping Mall and the newly developed Cairns Lagoon. Offering open plan designed hotel rooms to spacious self-contained one, two and three-bedroom apartments all have cable TV, private balconies with views over the pool, surrounding mountains or ocean. Apartments offer the added convenience of fully-equipped kitchens and laundry facilities. Onsite guests can spend a lazy afternoon on the pool deck overlooking the ocean, cook up a barbeque on the resort lawns or enjoy an invigorating workout in the gymnasium. From the property you can stroll the length of the Esplanade, an area which has recently undergone a major re-development to include al fresco dining, parklands, BBQ areas and the Cairns Lagoon, a massive patrolled water-park that attracts both tourists and locals alike. Overlooking Trinity Bay and the parkland of Cairns Esplanade, Mantra Trilogy's premier location provides the perfect base to explore the markets, shopping, night life and restaurants of Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Trilogy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Trilogy Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing