We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice easy resort to stay in.”
Review of Mantra Trilogy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Trilogy
Ranked #24 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in some of the best hotels so my standards are high. I thought this hotel was good. Not special but good. It ticked all the boxes and the staff were accommodating when we needed extra blankets, towels and keys. The pool is not exciting but large enough for families to have space. The room was medium sized with a sofa bed for extras and was comfortable.
This place would probably be good for a family. The shower/ bath was excellent and our fridge was good. It was an ok stay bit lacked personality! Location was perfect!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Frankie-Lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rupert H, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Frankie-Lewis,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

Kind regards,

Rupert & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,847)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,442 - 1,448 of 1,847 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at Mantra Trilogy during Ironman weekend. It's location almost on the Cairns Waterfront is ideal but this year (2014) the event was mainly held in pouring ran which was unfortunate for the large spectator contingent so we did not get a view of sunny skies which one hopes for on the upper floors (no fault of Mantra Trilogy).
We had a two bedroom apartment and whilst all the necessities are there in terms bedding, utensils, etc, it is probably getting to the point that some refurbishment is required as lounge seating is looking a bit dated. The reception staff are very helpful and no doubt we will be back next year

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Remmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rupert H, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Remmers,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. The apartments are currently scheduled for a soft refurbishment in late 2014.

We are taking bookings for the 2015 Ironman event. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if you wish to make a booking.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Rupert & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I booked this accommodation based upon the location on the esplanade and the convenience and access to restaurants. Upon check-in we were allocated a room in tower 2. When I exited the lift into the hall outside our room I was overcome with a very powerful smell of wet towels, mould. We entered the room and it was just was bad, if not worse. We decided to go for a walk and hoped when we returned the smell would be gone (hoping it was just a temporary thing). Unfortunately when we returned I decided I could not stay in the room and I called reception to complain. They advised they would move us to another room. The next room they moved us to was the exact same room two levels above. This room had exactly the same problem. Even with the sliding doors stacked back all the way I couldn't stand the smell. Shame as the view over the water was really nice. Reception called to check if I was satisfied and I advised them that no, I actually wasn't satisfied. I was then advised that this was Cairns and it was a humid environment. I calmly advised the staff member that I had stayed in many other places in Cairns and none of them smelt like these two rooms. They then moved us again to another room in another tower which wasn't as bad. I do believe the staff member really tried to assist us greatly and her customer service skills were high level but the product just doesn't live up to an appropriate standard. The smell is atrocious and made me feel sick after a short period of time. There was no way I could have slept in that room. I then logged in to trip advisor and see there are other reviews with the same complaint. The tiles around the pool and pathways were dirty and could do with a good gernie. I would not stay at this property again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bindi1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rupert H, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Bindi1974,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

Kind regards,

Rupert & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Both my partner and I were in Cairns for a holiday. Whilst we didn't know it, the Ironman was being held this particular weekend. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Mantra Triology it was so close to everything. The customer service was fantastic the facilities were great, however because it was so cold we couldn't use the really nice swimming pool. The rooms are average though. The view is fantastic as we were on the 4th - 5th level we could see the sea from our balcony. The dual key apartments are interesting however, it can be very noisy when you hear your next door neighbour's door opening and closing. The bathroom layout is bizzare as the toilet is right behind the door and toilet is placed low to the ground. Bath in the bathroom very nice, bed comfy, space in the room good. Customer service also allowed us to use shower facilities near the gym whilst we were waiting for our flight late at night and looked after our luggage during the day - this was a bonus. Thank you Mantra.

Room Tip: Choose a room with sea views and a non-dual key room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blaisey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rupert H, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Blaisey1,

We are glad to hear that both you & your partner enjoyed your holiday with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Rupert & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My family and I stayed at Mantra Trilogy Resort over the Cairns Ironman Weekend. You could feel the region was full and there was a great buzz you could feel from the event as Mantra Trilogy sat directly across the road from the trnasition and welcome area.

Checking in was great, we had an early flight in from Brisbane so arrived around four hours earlier than check in time; a lovely Japanese receptionist (can't remember her name) kindly checked us in and saved our bags for us as our room had been used the night prior.

She called us approximately one hour later and advised that we could check in so we came back to the resort and went up to our room.

We had a dual key two bedroom suite; both very clean, tidy and modern with great views over the pool area and Cairns esplanade.

We found the service of the resort team, cleanliness of the room and central location of the resort was just fantastic all round.

Unfortuantely at this time of year it was unseasonally cooler than normal so the pools were on the touch of being cold but once you got used to it they were fine. Good for the legs after the ironman anyway providing welcome relief.

Would definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the second tower adjacent to the first tower, if you could get the tower directly oppos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damosan75_MSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rupert H, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Damosan75_MSS,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us conisdering we failed to deliver our iconic sunny tropical weather the region is renowned for.

We are currently taking bookings for the 2015 Ironman event. We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kind regards,

Rupert & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Three adults stayed one week in two bedroom apartment number 401 on the 4th floor. It was very spacious and comfortable. From the entry hall there were basically two individual self contained apartments one of which had a full kitchen. A few minor things such as light globes blown and a wall clock with no battery were soon attended to. There is a small balcony opening from each room so we turned the air conditioning off and had a pleasant breeze moving through all the rooms. The windows had to be closed at night and fans used owing to the continual screeching noise from fruit bats which have taken up residence in the street trees outside. There was no real view other than buildings from any of the windows unfortunately; a water view would have made our stay all that more pleasant. Very pleasant staff on front counter and check in was hassle free. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a room with water views if that's your preference. Perhaps It may be noisier on that sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neville g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rupert H, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear neville g,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed holiday with us.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Rupert & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Quite surprised, the room was clean and was serviced three times in two weeks which was welcomed
We were on the 7th floor tower two and the view was excellent

The only downsides were the availability of parking so we only hired a car for three days, outdated technology for access being swipe cards that were very troublesome
and the bed which was two worn out king singles with a central zip which was extremely uncomfortable with the springs protruding the outer sides which was surprising for a Mantra premises as we have stayed at Mantra in Qld, NSW, ACT being a club cusoon members and all the bedding has been very good

Apart from this it was a pleasant stay and will return

Room Tip: Tower two seems the better with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NswOldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rupert H, Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear NswOldie,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Rupert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#17 of 64 in Cairns
546 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.3 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Trilogy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Trilogy

Address: 101 - 105 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £77 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Trilogy 4.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Trilogy is ideally located above the Cairns Esplanade within walking distance to some of Cairns best restaurants, the Reef Casino, Cairns Central Shopping Mall and the newly developed Cairns Lagoon. Offering open plan designed hotel rooms to spacious self-contained one, two and three-bedroom apartments all have cable TV, private balconies with views over the pool, surrounding mountains or ocean. Apartments offer the added convenience of fully-equipped kitchens and laundry facilities. Onsite guests can spend a lazy afternoon on the pool deck overlooking the ocean, cook up a barbeque on the resort lawns or enjoy an invigorating workout in the gymnasium. From the property you can stroll the length of the Esplanade, to include al fresco dining, parklands, BBQ areas and the Cairns Lagoon. Overlooking Trinity Bay and the parkland of Cairns Esplanade, Mantra Trilogy's premier location provides the perfect base to explore the markets, shopping, night life and restaurants of Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Trilogy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Trilogy Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing