We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing view & location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mantra Trilogy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Trilogy
Ranked #26 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
North Shore City
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“amazing view & location”
Reviewed 13 July 2009

travelled with 2 children (7&8). Stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment 11th floor. View looked out over the sea. Million dollar view. Watching the boats come back from the outer reef with a glass of wine at the end of day on our deck was majic!
Good sized apartment all rooms great views. Close to all the action. Only issue is that the pool is in between 2 buildings which acts as a wind tunnel and is covered in shade most of day making the pool and pool area cold!
Apart from that a good place- would stay again

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nurdsens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    546
    303
    187
    134
See reviews for
432
512
73
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2009

I brought my sister and parents to this magnificant apartment. We were given a 2 bedroom apartment with ocean view. My parents could not believe that this would be the most luxurious apartment they have ever stayed. Large living area, large 2 bedroom with ensuite, large balcony with outdoor table and chairs. The furnitures are very modern. Mum & dad prefer home cooked meals so mum cook almost every night and we ate at the balcony watching the ocean. Life doesn't get better than this I think.

And of course, Mantra Trilogy is right at the centre of town with great service.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanberraTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2009

We booked one night at Mantra Trilogy based mostly on a great four day stay at the Mantra on Southbank in Brisbane. We had an early flight the next morning and wanted somewhere close to the airport but still convenient to the esplanade. Mantra Trilogy fits the bill with this respect, but the dirty, musty-smelling room and lacklustre service was a disappointment.

An important point to make: reception is NOT on the Esplanade as mentioned on tourist maps, websites and even our trusty hire-car GPS; it is around the block in Abbott Street, something we discovered after finding a park down the street and carrying luggage up to the Esplanade address.

Once we found the hotel's reception, we were lucky to get one of the two, count them, two carparks out front. We had been informed that parking options consisted of an undercover park available on a "first-come-first-served" basis, or out on the street, which on an early Saturday evening, proved to be a struggle.

The room itself was comfortable enough, we were fortunate to have a fifth floor balcony that offered a view of sorts of both the Esplanade and the sunset over the hills, but was in dire need of a good clean and very smelly.

We had no plans other than a meal out and a bit of telly-watching before an early night; our room was fairly well insulated from the Saturday-night street noise, but our TV would only work for 15-20 minutes at a time before we had to switch it off at the wall and back on again, so after a while we just gave up.

If we were ever to be in Cairns again, we would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cristo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASMNQ, Management at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, 2 February 2010
Thank you providing us with your valuable feedback. My sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us.

Feedback such as yours is important to us as they afford us an opportunity to review our procedures and make enhancements to our operations.

I have also addressed your feedback with the departments involved and the necessary actions have been taken.

Thank you providing us with your valuable feedback and we do hope to welcome you back to Mantra Trilogy.

Kind Regards

Tony Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Brisbane
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

Myself and a work colleague stayed at this hotel in May 2009 for 4 nights. The hotel was located within walking distance to shops, cafes and restaurants and the view over the Pacific Ocean was great! The 2 bedroom apartment was modern and included both a kitchen, laundry and spacious living areas. While the bathrooms were small and not well-lit, this did not really matter as the hotel facilities were excellent! The is an IGA shop just outside the front door and plenty of parking spaces for guests who have a car. The plasma screen TV in the lounge was great and had a selection of cable TV stations. The reception staff were helpful and friendly also. The room and lift keys were very hard to use and they did not work at times. Overall, a modern marvel of a hotel that I would recommend to both leisure and business travellers.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itinerary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koh Tao, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2009

I stayed at the Trilogy with 6 other people before/after a dive trip with Pro Dive Cairns (check out my review on them as well). We booked online, and even though it was over Easter, prices were reasonable. For the seven of us (1xnight in a 3xbedroom, 2 nights in 2x2bedroom), it cost $165pp to stay for the 3 nights.

The first night we checked in for was in a 3 bedroom apartment, which was enormous. The decor was quite nice, kind of "bush meets beach" art chic that tends to pop up in most tourist spots that I've visited like Cairns. The two main bedrooms were spacious, with their own bathrooms (complete with spa and his/hers wash basins) and walk in robes, while the third bedroom was quite cramped and small beds, obviously meant for children only. We had our seventh person on a roll-out mattress in the living room. I arrived at the hotel in Cairns from the airport at 830am and the room was readym and I was able to check in long before the advertised 2pm. Considering I woke up at 330am to go to the airport this was a huge bonus in my eyes.

The other nights we checked back into two 2-bed apartments. These were comparatively much smaller than the 3-beds. It wasn't just the case of removing the smaller second room, to compare, it was the large second master bedroom that was removed from the floor plan (essentially) to arrive at a 2-bedder. Again, the two singles were narrow, as they're designed to be put together as a second double bed, or if needed split into two singles.

Facilities in both apartments were fantastic. Modern whitegoods and washer/dyrer. Very modern stainless steel gas stove and faux-wood/faux-granite kitchen. There were comfortable suede seats and large plasmas in both apartments, although TV reception was terrible and only one channel really seemed to work well enough to watch (still in B&W and scratchy audio). The pool is quite nice, with plenty of tables and chairs and sunbeds, but off limits after 10pm. There is a small gym with limited facilities, but we didn't use it. The Cairns night markets are within walking distance and there is a dayspa built into the hotel. Everything you want to get to (except the Casino maybe?) is well within walking distance from the hotel.

If you're looking for an "ocean-view" (check my photos) I can tell you now, it's not the fault of the hotel (although poor advertising), Cairns Harbour along that whole strip is really just a giant, shallow mudflat which is not exactly scenic at low-tide. This is a result of the shipping channel just to the south, which the Americans dredged in the WWII era, with the mud from the channel being pumped either side of it, instead of to a less central (and unsightly) location, creating these mudflats. Still, the shipping channel allows the diveboats and other large vessels to get in/out, so it's kind of a necessary evil, because if you pump all that silt out to sea you'll destroy the Reef.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkfest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2009

There was 4 of us so we booked the dual room - one bedroom apartment and one hotel room. We arrived at 10am and they had the room ready by then. The entire place was large and clean. It had everything - fully equipt kitchen, washing machine and dryer, hair dryers, swimming pool and gym.

Location was quite good; 3 minutes walk to the lagoon pool and shops.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whippedcream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Martha VIC
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2009

5 Girls in a 3 bedroom ocean view appartment for the weekend.
What a great location this hotel is in - you can walk everywhere.
Our appartment was nice, neat, clean - but could be a little cleaner (alot of dust)
Staff were very pleasant and most helpfu. Our room was ready prior to 2Pm check in.
With Airconditioning and fans the heat was never an issue in the room.
We all agreed that we would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,058 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cairns Aquarius
Cairns Aquarius
#27 of 64 in Cairns
212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#15 of 64 in Cairns
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.3 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Trilogy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Trilogy

Property: Mantra Trilogy
Address: 101 - 105 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Trilogy 4.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Trilogy is ideally located above the Cairns Esplanade within walking distance to some of Cairns best restaurants, the Reef Casino, Cairns Central Shopping Mall and the newly developed Cairns Lagoon. Offering open plan designed hotel rooms to spacious self-contained one, two and three-bedroom apartments all have cable TV, private balconies with views over the pool, surrounding mountains or ocean. Apartments offer the added convenience of fully-equipped kitchens and laundry facilities. Onsite guests can spend a lazy afternoon on the pool deck overlooking the ocean, cook up a barbeque on the resort lawns or enjoy an invigorating workout in the gymnasium. From the property you can stroll the length of the Esplanade, an area which has recently undergone a major re-development to include al fresco dining, parklands, BBQ areas and the Cairns Lagoon, a massive patrolled water-park that attracts both tourists and locals alike. Overlooking Trinity Bay and the parkland of Cairns Esplanade, Mantra Trilogy's premier location provides the perfect base to explore the markets, shopping, night life and restaurants of Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Trilogy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Trilogy Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing