We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy, Dirty Hotel with extremely unhelpful staff”
Review of Mantra Trilogy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Trilogy
Ranked #23 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed 18 March 2010

I stayed at Mantra Trilogy for 5 days in November 2009. The photos looked great but don't be fooled - it is FILTHY. I'm not sure how such a new hotel can be so dirty but it is. The staff admitted to me that they had issues with the contract cleaners and as such they were in the process of having the cleaning done 'in house'. The manager confirmed to me that this was true. The bathroom was full of mould so i was moved to another room which was slightly better but the bathroom was still bad enough for me to have to purchase cleaning products and clean it myself-not what i thought i would be doing on my holiday! They also call rooms without an ocean view 'ocean view' claimimg that if it says it is ocean view on the plan then it is whether you can see the ocean or not -i could not see the ocean from the ocean view room i paid extra for.

Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
2  Thank iloveholidays1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,011)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,901 - 1,907 of 2,011 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2010

Room was very nice and had some sort of bali theme. I thought it would be a bit roomy being a two bedroom apartment but that wasnt really an issue. Full kitchen and nice bathrooms and beds, nice pool, central location and great view. Cant complain about this place. Although i'm a cairns lad so i might be a bit biased.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tezza17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

Stayed at Trilogy in January while waiting to transfer for work. We got the apartment for a very good price through union shopper so were very happy with what we got. The very modern apartment had a small balcony from which you could see Trinity Inlet and the esplanade. It overlooked the pool which was a little noisy in the late afternoon. It came with seperate bedroom, full kitchen, seperate laundry with dryer and bathroom. The whole apartment was a good size for two. The main attraction though was the central location. You could exit the building straight onto the esplanade just north of the restaurant strip. From the main entrance a short stroll to main shopping area. Service was friendly and there was adequate parking. Very secure building. Would recommend this hotel especially for the location.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fayvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Well equiped, huge, clean room. Room had small fridge and tea/coffee making. Great ocean view from balcony. This place just reminded you of any other nice 4*, modern chain hotel - very nice, just a bit souless. Pool was very nice, went up there a couple of times, sun moves round, but there all day, very few folks used it, so very quiet.

Location was fantastic, right on the Esplanade, right within the shops and restaurants. Excellent value for money at £75 per night.

I was surprised our room was not cleaned at all during our 4 night stay - according to staff it depends on what tarriff you book on (although I wasn't offerred a choice on the site I used to book). There is no restaurant or bar in the complex.

Staff were brilliant. Reception were happy to book a cab (cab to airport $17), they sorted out a tour problem for me. Had a problem with my room safe when I arrived, guy came up to sort it within 10 mins.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

Having stayed in a number of Mantra Apartments around the country for both Business and please I have to say that I am torn between commenting favourably on the location, staff and amenities; these were all fantastic. However, the room was a let down....upon check in the room was a little musty, and in a tropical climate, I can understand this. However, only in the cold light of the next day (and after opening the balcony door for a while) did I discover the source of the musty smell. All the wooden furniture had mold all over it (see photos).

I immeadiately contacted the reception staff and a three-person cleaning team were there in five minutes; however, its a pity they didnt pay any attention to the dust that was on the wall adjcent to the air vent.

Would I stay again, possibly and only if I could get a room that did not have any wooden furniture and that was clean.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank No_Response_given
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2010

We are local to Cairns and wanted a short break.
My husband and i stay here and ate at one of the resturants below.
We loved this apartment with veiws to the water and the quietness from the windows- double glazed? Although in the heart of Cairns it was very quiet.
Would love to stay again

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CNDAV6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASMNQ, Management at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2010

Thank you so much for sharing your comments.

Fantastic to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We will share your comments with the team.

I do look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Trilogy .

Kind Regards,

Tony Hughes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2009

My family and I stayed at the Mantra Trilogy in a 2 bedroom apartment for 4 nights. I would stay there again and recommend this hotel. We had a few very minor problems but overall it was a great place to stay. The pool was fantastic! The apartment was clean, spacious and had everything we needed. Wouldn't recommend people with young children to stay on the 10th floor as it can be scary when the kids go out on the balcony but next time we would just request a room on a lower floor. The gym was great and it was central to everything and all was within walking distance. If you stay here, you won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minimags1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#17 of 63 in Cairns
563 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,163 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Trilogy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Trilogy

Address: 101 - 105 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £66 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Trilogy 4.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Trilogy is ideally located above the Cairns Esplanade within walking distance to some of Cairns best restaurants, the Reef Casino, Cairns Central Shopping Mall and the newly developed Cairns Lagoon. Offering open plan designed hotel rooms to spacious self-contained one, two and three-bedroom apartments all have private balconies with views over the pool, surrounding mountains or ocean. Apartments offer the added convenience of fully-equipped kitchens and laundry facilities. Onsite guests can spend a lazy afternoon on the pool deck overlooking the ocean, cook up a barbeque on the resort lawns or enjoy an invigorating workout in the gymnasium. From the property you can stroll the length of the Esplanade, to include al fresco dining, parklands, BBQ areas and the Cairns Lagoon. Overlooking Trinity Bay and the parkland of Cairns Esplanade, Mantra Trilogy's premier location provides the perfect base to explore the markets, shopping, night life and restaurants of Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Trilogy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Trilogy Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing