We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, Fabulous, Will Go Again...and Again....and Again”
Review of Mantra Trilogy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Trilogy
Ranked #25 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Cairo
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great, Fabulous, Will Go Again...and Again....and Again”
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We've stayed 3 times now in Cairns, and Mantra Trilogy topped the lot. Super friendly and helpful staff - even when rushed off their feet. They came and opened the electronic boom gate to the parking when I managed to de-magnetise my key (twice!), gave us (me, my 70 year + parents, and my 6 year old daughter) extra towels, soap, shampoo etc, whenever we asked, and helped out with local info. Insider tip - eat at Splash Restaurant, which you can reach downstairs via the pool entrance onto the Esplanade.
The rooms were a nice size - we had a jacuzzi in our master bedroom bathroom, and our dining room balcony opened directly out onto the pool - it was like having the entire pool area as our private backyard! Plus we still had views across the ocean. The kitchen utensils were a bit sparse, given that we had a dishwasher; we couldn't have filled it up before running out of plates.
The biggest disappointment was the wireless Internet access - I jumped up and down at Reception and they told me they couldn't fix it because it was a contracted service. I was really angry, because hubby was overseas and we had intended to Skype. But the staff did make sure I received a full refund. So make sure you have your own Internet access to avoid any hassles.
The gym was cute - running machines, rowing machines, weights, and some eye-candy to go with it!!
The paintwork around the ramparts to the pool was a bit tired, but nothing unsightly, and the landscaping was really nice and tropical, even when the sun wasn't shining, you still felt like you were on holiday.
The corridor of the tower (I think it was 2) needed constant airing - probably because it was sitting on top of the restaurants, but the apartment always smelled fresh. Mould is most likely a problem in the rainy season, but July is usually sunny (it did rain twice while we were there).
Oh, and if you're a greenie, you'll be disappointed. They don't separate the garbage - there's a shute just next to the lifts where everything goes in, straight down to the garages.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAGinEgypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    613
    353
    206
    149
See reviews for
487
566
84
320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
shellharbour
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Very impressed with the accomidation and the location. Could not ask for better in Cairns. I have travelled to Cairns seven times in the past seven years and this was the best place I have stayed. Loved it!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovecairns_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

We stayed at the Trilogy in Jan. 2010. Had a dual key two b/room apartment in tower three.
Tower three is the newest of the three towers. ( wink!!)
It was very neat, pleasant, and very convenient.
Right next to all the restaurants, shops, grocery store,lagoon, and coffee shops.
Good pool, gymnasium, and spa.
The staff are very friendly and the manager Mr Tony Hughes is always very helpful and friendly.
We visit Cairns twice a year and we always stay at Trilogy on the Esplanade. It's like our second home.
As with any large hotel/resort there will be issues from time to time but, i found the staff and especially Tony (manager) very helpful.

Arthur from Melbourne.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nutsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment last minute for a catch up holiday with my best friend and both of our boyfriends. We got a duel key apartment and it was perfect for us. Bedroom in the main apartment bit was a bit small, but plenty of communal space and 2 bathrooms. Decent balcony that looked out over the pool and had "Ocean glimpses"
Location was great too.

Some stains to carpet and the sofa had seen better days, but overall a lot better than the reviews had me expecting!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank e11en84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2010

Really disgusting! Our room looked like it had not even been cleaned, there was grease over the kitchen, untnesils and dinning table. The smell of mould in the hall was terrible and the bathroom shower was covered in mould and leaking. When we got into the swimming pool we were surrounded by white flake type floaties, we decided to get out and did not return. This hotel has a serious housekeeping problem and I would NOT advise anyone to waste there time and money staying here.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dacey11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLMT, Front Office Manager at Mantra Trilogy, responded to this review, 31 May 2010
It disappoints me to learn that you encountered a number of issues during your stay, regrettably none of them were brought to my attention.
The pool is tested twice daily to conform to health standards and records are maintained of such.
On inspection we noticed white material floating on the surface that were found to be flower petals from
the adjacent tree.
However, to assist me further in investigating these matters and as I have previously responded to your initial letter of complaint ,
I again invite you to contact me directly to discuss in more detail and address these issues accordingly.
I look forward to hearing from you.
Kind regards
Christian Lachemeier
07 4080 8000 or Christian.lachemeier@mantra.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2010

Looks good from a distance but inside is bland and run down. The room had mould everywhere. The place smells old and musky. The utensils, crockery and cutlery was dirty and all needed to be cleaned. We felt unclean staying here. Apart from the good location I would not recommend this place to anyone. Definitely not the star rating it is given online!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ekdelaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2010

We were only in Cairns overnight and thought that we would treat ourselves to a night at a nice property. We were disappointed. For what was supposed to be 4.5* it was more like 3*. At check-in staff did not have any enthusiasim and they did not have our booking, but did find it after searching for a while. One staff member started to serve us and then abruptly said "I have to go" and ran off to the back office. Another staff member came to help us and barely said two words. Car park had limited spaces and parking spaces were very small. Room was pokey, could not walk around the bed without shuffling sideways between furniture. Carpet was filthy. For a resort which is obviously not that old the walls were damaged and overall untidy - not expected for 4.5*. Bathroom, nice decor, shame about the soap scum, long dark hairs and razor cap left behind by the previous guest/cleaners. No hot water, had to have cold showers. King size bed was nice, but only two decent pillows. Third pillow was too thin to be of any comfort. Only three pillows in total. Overall, the best thing was location, close to restuarants and city centre. Unfortunately, we will not be back and suggest others give it a miss too.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeremy4Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
508 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#16 of 64 in Cairns
535 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Trilogy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Trilogy

Property: Mantra Trilogy
Address: 101 - 105 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Trilogy 4.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Trilogy is ideally located above the Cairns Esplanade within walking distance to some of Cairns best restaurants, the Reef Casino, Cairns Central Shopping Mall and the newly developed Cairns Lagoon. Offering open plan designed hotel rooms to spacious self-contained one, two and three-bedroom apartments all have cable TV, private balconies with views over the pool, surrounding mountains or ocean. Apartments offer the added convenience of fully-equipped kitchens and laundry facilities. Onsite guests can spend a lazy afternoon on the pool deck overlooking the ocean, cook up a barbeque on the resort lawns or enjoy an invigorating workout in the gymnasium. From the property you can stroll the length of the Esplanade, an area which has recently undergone a major re-development to include al fresco dining, parklands, BBQ areas and the Cairns Lagoon, a massive patrolled water-park that attracts both tourists and locals alike. Overlooking Trinity Bay and the parkland of Cairns Esplanade, Mantra Trilogy's premier location provides the perfect base to explore the markets, shopping, night life and restaurants of Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Trilogy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Trilogy Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing