We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hostel in Australia!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
Ranked #12 of 89 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best hostel in Australia!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Have just checked out after 5 nights at Gilligans. I can honestly say this was the best hostel that I've stayed in throughout Australia. My boyfriends and I upgraded to a double room and was like staying in a hotel. Lovely big bed, air con, plasma tv and stylish bathroom. It wasn't too loud at night and we slept perfectly. The bar food was delicious and for $3 a night for a large portion you can't go wrong. Loved Gilligans, it defiantly made our stay in Oz!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charlotteswebb90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    288
    127
    53
    65
See reviews for
9
74
308
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

The longer you stay the worser it gets.

The 4 bed room was good! Really
But its just a party hostel....
And the stuff was rude at the reception! Every time a long queue.

I went there because of its number one nightlife there... If i would come again I think I would stay in the northen greenhouse

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank iPatrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed three nights in an 8 share dorm and had a terrible time.
The staff were rude and unhelpful. Our toilet broke and they never fixed it despite of numerous reminders. Every morning they would barge in and clean really loudly, not being the slightest bit sorry to wake everyone up.
Every night they locked fridges so you couldn't access your food.
The good thing about the hostel is the club, which is a good venue.
Our stay was also worsened by disrespectful room mates (which really isn't Gilligans fault).
I recommend everyone to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Chose another hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aotkpta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitsundays
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stayed here on a business trip to Cairns, after numerous other hotels that i have stayed in it was up there with the rest. The beds were comfy, rooms spacious, staff friendly and an all round nice environment whilst being in the centre of town

Room Tip: Rooms hotel rooms facing Grafton Street are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sailbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Dan Kelly was the best bartender ever he made my stay so amazing!!!! Love you dan Kelly xxxxx reception was slow and useless but overall the resort was like a nice hotel. Pool area and bar very nice, was expecting tacky but had an amazing week.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Libby N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Gilligan's is probably close to a paradise for those who come there looking for parties, drinks, and action-oriented tours. Most of the clientele (and the staff) are young and good-looking. There's no age limit of who can stay here, but it is clear who the target market is. If you're 30+, you will feel old.

But the facilities are first-class and quite unique from the other hostels. For this I'll give it 5 stars. The lagoon-themed pool is great, complete with a waterfall, sandy beaches, and sun lounges. It could be intimidating entering this area, as normally it is frequented by the "beach-ready" types. The bar/nightclub is excellent, with discounted prices for guests (also free dinner if you buy drinks from the bar). Location - couldn't be better. Right next to Rusty's market, in the center of Cairns CBD.

In the accommodation area, there's a well-equipped kitchen in every floor. The Deluxe 4-share room is spacious, with a balcony (so you can smoke without disturbing the non-smokers), flat-screen TV, fridge, and separate toilet and shower. Only reading lamps are missing (but seriously, you don't come to Gilligan's to read a book). The same room is offered as a "hotel-type" accommodation in the opposite wing - it is quite costly at $129, but after much mingling with the party people, it's worth the money to have some space for yourself.

Some previous reviews complained about the staff, but during my stay they were all nice and helpful. Sometimes they can be "stretched" as busloads of backpackers descend on the hostel (the reception area is not big, considering the size of this hostel), and at other times they can seem too "cool" for your typical backpacker staff, but overall I don't have anything to complain.

I can complain, however, about the booming sounds from the nightclub that last until 5 am on Friday/Saturday nights. Earplugs won't help...the bass is so loud that the walls vibrate. But again, this is perhaps part of the fun; if you're in the correct age bracket, you are supposed to sleep from 6 am to 2 pm on weekends.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpiceNSpruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

I had heard many good things about this hostel so my friend and I decided to book it for 4 nights while traveling in Oz.
When we first walked into our 8 dorm room I wasn't too impressed. The decor was very basic (in comparison to the brightly coloured decor throughout reception and the hallways) and it smelt really bad, like mold. There were 4 sets of bunk beds and we each got a safety box for our valuables which we used our own locks to secure them. Once we were unpacked and had a few drinks we soon forgot about the negative details.
We went down to the nightclub on our first night and it was probably one of the best nights out I've ever had. So much fun, good music, nice staff, lots of people. A great night! The only problem with staying in a party hostel is it's hard to sleep with all the noise. I found this difficult on the first night but soon got used to it and barely noticed.
I found by our last night I was sad to leave, mainly because everyone in our room were so lovely and we had gotten to know them quite well.
I would definitely recommend this hostel to those who are looking to meet new people and want to party. I wouldn't recommend staying here if you want early nights and are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.6 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
1.1 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort

Property: Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
Address: 57-89 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 89 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gilligan's is the ultimate experience in accommodation and entertainment set in the heart of Cairns. Offering guests stylish backpacker accommodation, nightly entertainment and a relaxed atmosphere whilst soaking up the sun, why choose to stay anywhere else?All room types are fully equipped with full en-suite bathroom, air-conditioning and four floors of communal areas. Or perhaps try our deluxe dormitories; designed to offer that little bit extra. Available in 4 and 6 bed configurations, these rooms offer TVs, refrigerators and some have a private balcony to kick back and relax after a long day at the reef, rainforest or even a lazy day by our pool.Free linen, Free car parking, Free crockery use in kitchens, VIP prices for in house guests, Half price to our international DJ eventsand so much more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel And Resort
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing