We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourite hostels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
Ranked #11 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Had a brilliant time at this hostel, my last stop on my east coast trip. Brilliant room mates, big and tidy kitchens and top nightlife. Definitely stay here or you'll be missing out big time!! Cheap or free meals with a drink purchase was an awesome deal too :)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Travelbug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (999)
There are newer reviews for Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

543 - 549 of 999 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Very disappointed at how I was treated at Gilligans tonite by staff !! Very pathetic and would not recommend this place to anyone Who expects a table to sit at while they eat when 70% of the eating area is "reserved" and no one is at that table but u get kicked off it of ur not the person that reserved it

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stayed for 3 nights and from the moment I arrive the staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms are very clean and spacious.
Gilligans has everything you need at your doorstep and it's bar downstairs is a great place to meet new friends.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Kellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Have just checked out after 5 nights at Gilligans. I can honestly say this was the best hostel that I've stayed in throughout Australia. My boyfriends and I upgraded to a double room and was like staying in a hotel. Lovely big bed, air con, plasma tv and stylish bathroom. It wasn't too loud at night and we slept perfectly. The bar food was delicious and for $3 a night for a large portion you can't go wrong. Loved Gilligans, it defiantly made our stay in Oz!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Charlotteswebb90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

The longer you stay the worser it gets.

The 4 bed room was good! Really
But its just a party hostel....
And the stuff was rude at the reception! Every time a long queue.

I went there because of its number one nightlife there... If i would come again I think I would stay in the northen greenhouse

Stayed: March 2014
Thank iPatrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed three nights in an 8 share dorm and had a terrible time.
The staff were rude and unhelpful. Our toilet broke and they never fixed it despite of numerous reminders. Every morning they would barge in and clean really loudly, not being the slightest bit sorry to wake everyone up.
Every night they locked fridges so you couldn't access your food.
The good thing about the hostel is the club, which is a good venue.
Our stay was also worsened by disrespectful room mates (which really isn't Gilligans fault).
I recommend everyone to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Chose another hostel
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aotkpta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stayed here on a business trip to Cairns, after numerous other hotels that i have stayed in it was up there with the rest. The beds were comfy, rooms spacious, staff friendly and an all round nice environment whilst being in the centre of town

Room Tip: Rooms hotel rooms facing Grafton Street are the best
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sailbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
1.4 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
603 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.0 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
0.1 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
The Northern Greenhouse
#13 of 84 in Cairns
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort

Address: 57-89 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: £14 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gilligan's is the ultimate experience in accommodation and entertainment set in the heart of Cairns. Offering guests stylish backpacker accommodation, nightly entertainment and a relaxed atmosphere whilst soaking up the sun, why choose to stay anywhere else?All room types are fully equipped with full en-suite bathroom, air-conditioning and four floors of communal areas. Or perhaps try our deluxe dormitories; designed to offer that little bit extra. Available in 4 and 6 bed configurations, these rooms offer TVs, refrigerators and some have a private balcony to kick back and relax after a long day at the reef, rainforest or even a lazy day by our pool.Free linen, Free car parking, Free crockery use in kitchens, VIP prices for in house guests, Half price to our international DJ eventsand so much more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel And Resort
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing