We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smelly, not a good place for sleeping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
Ranked #12 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“smelly, not a good place for sleeping”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I stayed at Gilligans 3 nights in a dorm (10 beds). Not the best choice. I saw also the female 8 beds dorm with balcony and this is much better but anyway, you won't sleep or rest unless you are very very tired. The music from the Gilligans pub/disco is very loud and the people like to party in the rooms as well.
The free meal is a small plate, you can upgrade paying $3, I tried pasta and was awful, really the worst pasta ever. It was like they prepared it ages ago.
People leave their stuff in the room and it stays there, nobody will collect it, they just leave it everywhere around the room and toilet. There is 1 toilet for 10 beds.
Regarding the service, there was only 1 receptionist very polite from England and another one called Paola. The others weren't very nice and looked at us like we were stupid, not helpful at all when we asked them information. My friends wanted to extend their stay after the 2nd night, the guy at the reception told them to check out and check in again with all their luggage up and down.. No sense.

Room Tip: Female dorm with balcony is more clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    293
    128
    55
    68
See reviews for
10
75
318
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

This is the biggest hostel I've ever seen in Australia !

A lot of young people and every night there are little events which may entertain you.

Moreover the rooms are clean and have a bathroom.

The only thing what I didn't like was the rude security.

However if you're looking for a party place this is definitely the rigth place

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vandimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuneo, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The right place!
A lot of young people...ready to party every night!
Very large rooms with private bathroom!
Good free meals.
Wifi not excellent.
Every night the hostel organize a theme night in the ground floor club and it's often full of people.
Good place to have fun...not so much to have rest.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charliebrown222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Everything about this hostel is catered for partying and drinking from the minute you walk through the door. I would recommend it for short stay trips to cairns, its a good location and base for trips to the reef etc. however, the whole place lacks character and felt very regimented.
I cannot fault the rooms, they were spacious and clean with separate en suite and shower and a huge balcony but overall the hostel was pretty unwelcoming and not very social as everything is aimed towards the bar which is a separate building to the hostel. It's reasonably priced and worth a stay if you want a party weekend!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ashvw87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa S, Director of Sales at Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Gilligan's central location makes it the perfect base for enjoying all the great things Cairns city centre has to offer. Gilligan's was purpose built with the needs of all individual travellers in mind. The entertainment venue is separate to the accommodation catering to those guests that may want to party and make new friends. However, every level in the accommodation sector has a chillout or communal area and there are 4 quality kitchens for those who wish to cook a meal for themselves or with a group of new friends. Thankyou for your positive feedback regarding the rooms. Gilligan's is, unique, in that each room type has its very own en-suite, a big bonus for all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Its ok. Not more. The kitchen was clean so was the room. Sleeping there is not very good. I had a room on the first floor and I could here the music from the club and the noise from the streets. This is really a hostel for people who want to party.
There is WiFi in the room but it's very slow. You have to sit in the TV-Room to get a good connection.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felix D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa S, Director of Sales at Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hello and thankyou for this recent review. Gilligan's offer several room types to our customers all with en-suite bathrooms. The accommodation you meantion are the cheaper dorm rooms which are on the lower level and are closer to the entertainment venue, however for a few dollars more you can book a smaller room type, on a higher level, away from the nightlife. We highly recommend this for anyone not looking to party or that has a busy travel itinerary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
370 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Great hostel chill by the pool in the bar! Enjoy the party atmosphere all day and night meet so many people here! Always and event going on ! Got a zip line too if you dare! Spent some good days here with guys of banana farm!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa S, Director of Sales at Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thanks for your recent review regarding your stay at Gilligan's here in Cairns. Myself and the team love to hear positive feedback from our happy customers. Look forward to having you stay with us again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This was our last stop on our journey of the east coast and it topped our travelling off! The rooms were big, the people we shared with were all friendly, and the staff were helpful. we stayed here when a cyclone hit Cairns so we were advised to stay indoors for 48 hours, but it was great, everyone came and sat in the coridoors and we all sang songs while someone played a guitar..literally the best atmosphere! and Gilligans bar is the place to be! Shows on everynight, cheap food and a really good vibe.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayley j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa S, Director of Sales at Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
What a great review you have left on Trip Advisor about your stay with us a Gilligan's. Nice to know even thought there was a pending cyclone you felt safe, and relaxed, and you still managed to enjoy yourself while staying with us. Good on you for making the best of the situation! Thankyou for taking the time to post this review it's much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
1.4 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.5 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#19 of 64 in Cairns
482 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort

Property: Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
Address: 57-89 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gilligan's is the ultimate experience in accommodation and entertainment set in the heart of Cairns. Offering guests stylish backpacker accommodation, nightly entertainment and a relaxed atmosphere whilst soaking up the sun, why choose to stay anywhere else?All room types are fully equipped with full en-suite bathroom, air-conditioning and four floors of communal areas. Or perhaps try our deluxe dormitories; designed to offer that little bit extra. Available in 4 and 6 bed configurations, these rooms offer TVs, refrigerators and some have a private balcony to kick back and relax after a long day at the reef, rainforest or even a lazy day by our pool.Free linen, Free car parking, Free crockery use in kitchens, VIP prices for in house guests, Half price to our international DJ eventsand so much more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, TravelUp, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel Cairns
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel And Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing