We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party Bar!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
Ranked #13 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Party Bar!!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I wasn't staying here so can't talk about the accommodation side of things.

Came here for a good night out and got one.
Great drinks specials, live music early.

Will return when I am next in Cairns.
Good times.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackoGman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    298
    128
    56
    68
See reviews for
10
75
320
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

On Friday morning we were hitchhiking from Cairns to Port Douglas and Mark, a manager of the hostel Galligans in Cairns pulled over and drove us half way. He just got done with his night shift and drove us further North passing his place to drop us off at a got spot to continue our journey. He was so nice and even showed us a secret place with about 300 wallabies on one field on the way. Mark helped us out a lot and was friendly, had interesting stories to share and showed us the most wallabies we have ever seen in one place. Once again: Thank you so much, Mark!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lui c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

It's currently 330am and I am still awake. After the other guest staying in the room vomited and left, the reception guy was very nice and sent someone straight away to fix the issue.

The hostel itself is very clean and nicely designed, the kitchen facilities are the best I have seen in a hostel.

If you want to party and don't care about noise than this is a great hostel to pick. However if there is even the slightest chance you don't want to go out drinking I would recommend finding an alternative location. You really won't much sleep even if you can get past the incredibly loud bass from the club.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed in a four bed dorm in Gillies in July 2014 and really liked it.
The room was clean and had all the necessary equipment (fridge, tv...).
The atmosphere is really cool, you'll meet people from all over the world, spend days by the pool with them, eat together in the evening and party all night !
Great music, both on the inside stage (house music) and on the outside stage (live bands). Staff is very kind and helpful but be careful, the cleaners will do your room at 9 am even if you are still in bed!
If you are traveling alone or even just want to meet people, and have a super smashing time in Cairns, Gilligan's is the place you want !

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Alan-James1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I like parties as much as the next person…..BUT….not when I’m trying to sleep! This is a party hostel and is relatively clean given the number of guests staying…but be prepared for all the issues that go along with everyone drinking and partying all night long. Would choose a quieter hostel next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I stayed at Gilligans 3 nights in a dorm (10 beds). Not the best choice. I saw also the female 8 beds dorm with balcony and this is much better but anyway, you won't sleep or rest unless you are very very tired. The music from the Gilligans pub/disco is very loud and the people like to party in the rooms as well.
The free meal is a small plate, you can upgrade paying $3, I tried pasta and was awful, really the worst pasta ever. It was like they prepared it ages ago.
People leave their stuff in the room and it stays there, nobody will collect it, they just leave it everywhere around the room and toilet. There is 1 toilet for 10 beds.
Regarding the service, there was only 1 receptionist very polite from England and another one called Paola. The others weren't very nice and looked at us like we were stupid, not helpful at all when we asked them information. My friends wanted to extend their stay after the 2nd night, the guy at the reception told them to check out and check in again with all their luggage up and down.. No sense.

Room Tip: Female dorm with balcony is more clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

This is the biggest hostel I've ever seen in Australia !

A lot of young people and every night there are little events which may entertain you.

Moreover the rooms are clean and have a bathroom.

The only thing what I didn't like was the rude security.

However if you're looking for a party place this is definitely the rigth place

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vandimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
1.4 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travellers Oasis Backpackers
1.0 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
0.1 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
The Northern Greenhouse
#10 of 84 in Cairns
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort

Property: Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
Address: 57-89 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gilligan's is the ultimate experience in accommodation and entertainment set in the heart of Cairns. Offering guests stylish backpacker accommodation, nightly entertainment and a relaxed atmosphere whilst soaking up the sun, why choose to stay anywhere else?All room types are fully equipped with full en-suite bathroom, air-conditioning and four floors of communal areas. Or perhaps try our deluxe dormitories; designed to offer that little bit extra. Available in 4 and 6 bed configurations, these rooms offer TVs, refrigerators and some have a private balcony to kick back and relax after a long day at the reef, rainforest or even a lazy day by our pool.Free linen, Free car parking, Free crockery use in kitchens, VIP prices for in house guests, Half price to our international DJ eventsand so much more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel And Resort
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing