We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
Ranked #13 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Reviewed 25 September 2010

I loved Gilligan's. It is an amzing backpackers place, clean rooms, nice bunk beds, awesome pool n bar. The free meal isn't anything special but it gets you fed. Ladies night on thursday .. 5 free glasses of champagne! Also go on the Ultimate party bar crawl .. other than that just stay at Gilligan's it has evrything... bar, club n a great social life.. the locals flock there on weeknds.
Best stay ever !!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laur_c88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (999)
There are newer reviews for Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

839 - 845 of 999 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2010

On arrival off the Oz Experience bus we went to check in...this took ages as the guy was only a trainee.. but we were patient.. got our room key and went to our room.. it was an 8bed mixed dorm with a balcony at the front of the hostel overlooking the road. This is the best sort of room in my opinion as its not too near the nightclub which is attached to the hostel, so you dont get all of the noise from the music at night. Within minutes of being in the room, we'd made friends with our new roomies.
We ended up staying at Gilligans for 2 weeks... the meal that you get as part of your stay there isnt very goood... especially as im a vegetarian..there was only usually one option for me to eat..and that was usually pasta with tomato sauce... but being a backpacker.. i just got on with it! The club thats attached to the hostel is very lively with different events going on throughout the week.... there are also good promotions on drinks!
We made soo many friends at this hostel and our room became like a little family.
Security in this hostel is pretty good compared to soem we stayed in... there is a man on the dooor at night that checks that everyone going in is a resident.
The hostel is quite expensive...but including a meal, and the facilities at the hostel..its not too bad... and it was the end of our trip so we were willing to pay that much more... its still cheaper than what we were paying in sydney!!
can i also say that the pizza place outside of Gilligans on a night time is awesommeee!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rositainglesita69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Good backpackers for good price. Not suitable for those who seek a quiet place.

Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
Thank GosiaS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Stayed here after being recommended by several other travellers. Our room, a mixed 4 bed, wasnt the best- bathroom was nice and clean but the bedroom was in need of an update. Also there was no way to turn off the air con which was blasting out 24/7- complained to reception as it aggravated my excema but they just said there was nothing they could do. Pool area is quite small so we spent our days by the nearby lagoon instead. Ate one meal in the hostel and that was enough! The bar is def the best part of this hostel. Theres something on every nite and everyone was really friendly. If you get bored head to the nearby Woolshed bar which is legendary.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gembob82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Mates have traveled to this hostel from around the world and other parts of Australia 2 years in a row for an insanely awesome new years party. Worthwhile checking out and possibly the best hostel in Australia still after all these years.

You have to check out the pictures of the pool, there is a waterfall next to the beach area... can it get any better, outside the beers on the back deck overlooking the pool...

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

we stayed here for three nights in total in a 4 bed deluxe dorm. The room itself was clean, however the night club downstairs is extremely loud so dont expect to get a great nights sleep.The pool and bar area are good, there are some good offers on drinks etc. The main problem with this establishment is the standard of service. It makes no sense why a hostel which is ideal for backpackers would treat its customers so badly. We tried to book tours, buses etc however we were given very little details and considering the amount of things to do in the area, this was very disappointing. At the front desk the service is similiar. Based on the service we moved to Shenanigans which is only down the road and we booked all our tours etc with them instead.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmacaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

more a resort than a hostel, this enormous hotel was definitely our favourite of the whole east coast. the rooms are spotless and modern, the kitchens are clean and well equipped (although every guest gets a free dinner every night), the bar is lively and the staff are helpful. the sheer size of it means that you'll probably bump into people you know and/or make some new friends there! we also found the pool very handy as the cairns lagoon was closed when we were staying there (get down there in the early hours if you want a sunbed!), and the guys at the travel desk were really helpful when we were looking to hire a car for the day. absolutely no complaints whatsoever, would definitely recommend gilligans to any backpacker visiting cairns! be warned, if you're looking for a good nights sleep this may not be the place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shuggie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
1.4 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
601 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.0 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
0.1 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort

Address: 57-89 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: £14 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gilligan's is the ultimate experience in accommodation and entertainment set in the heart of Cairns. Offering guests stylish backpacker accommodation, nightly entertainment and a relaxed atmosphere whilst soaking up the sun, why choose to stay anywhere else?All room types are fully equipped with full en-suite bathroom, air-conditioning and four floors of communal areas. Or perhaps try our deluxe dormitories; designed to offer that little bit extra. Available in 4 and 6 bed configurations, these rooms offer TVs, refrigerators and some have a private balcony to kick back and relax after a long day at the reef, rainforest or even a lazy day by our pool.Free linen, Free car parking, Free crockery use in kitchens, VIP prices for in house guests, Half price to our international DJ eventsand so much more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel And Resort
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing