We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Southern Cross Atrium Apartments
Ranked #29 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I stayed here with my wife and really enjoyed our time here. The complex was a nice quiet location. The apartments were well equipped. We stayed here in April and was very quiet at the time, so we very relaxed peaceful stay. would come back again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hoops82Neath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

308 - 314 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights between Christmas and New Year's in a 1-bedroom apartment. While not a 'luxurious' apartment, they are very well sized, equipped with all the necessary items and was a great choice for my stay in Cains.

I was solo and I wouldn't recommend a 1-bedroom for more than 2 people as the couch wouldn't be large enough to sleep on. The bed itself was comfortable; flat-panel TV worked fine (swivel between bedroom and family room is a nice touch); bathroom was large and stocked with clean linens; kitchen well furnished and the balcony was large as well.

My apt over looked the carpark so it was quiet without other guests. There are several small pools, which I used one morning. There are several BBQs throughout as well.

The complex is next to a shopping mall that, besides normal stores, has a Coles (grocery store) and a Target. The esplanade is a quick 5-10 minute walk.

It was great to have additional space vs. a standard hotel room and would definitely recommend these apartments to anyone I know coming to Cains.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DeltaFlyer_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

the apartments were well equipped with all the cooking utensils ect ,5 min walk to cairns central shopping centre. rooms that are called garden room was actually overlooking the carpark , but this didn't worry us as we were only staying here to visit family close by over Xmas. our room was not cleaned properly from the previous guests but when I informed reception they promptly rectified this . Overall would probably stay again but no different to many others in cairns

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marianneSilkwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

The apartments are very well sized and good value for money. Late check in was available on Christmas Eve. Had a BBQ on their pool side BBQ Xmas day. Little walk into the marina for our boat trips and bars around that area at night. But close to main shops during the day. Overall. Would return for sure.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lhaare9 H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Southern Cross Atrium Apartments (Cairns) for a week (7 nights) in November 2013.

On check in to the 2 bedroom apartment we were advised of a free mid-week cleaning service.

We asked to change rooms after the first night because it was up 3 flights of stairs and with two young kids it was hard work to climb.

We were lucky enough to get moved a level lower with less stairs to climb with the kids every day but had to settle a cleaning fee (ok).

Then our free mid-week clean never arrived (not informed) and when asked, we were told it won't be done because we changed rooms...

Fair or not? I'll leave it to the reader to decide.

Cot $50 each per week additional.
High chair $10 per night additional.

Pools are good. Service not so.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank TravellerAndrew2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We agree with the recent reviews, We could not fault anything about it. We stayed for 7 days, and although the kitchen area had everything you could need, we only had breakfast and ate out every single night. (It was a real holiday). We loved the huge shower, and the useful shelf for putting toiletries on. The swivel TV was brilliant - we watched in the living area at night and turned it around to watch the morning TV from the bed. We had no problems with noise, as we were in the middle of the southern most block on the first floor. The narrow wooden stair up to our apartment was a bit of a worry, luckily we didn't have too much luggage.The office was very helpful in organising a tour and a car. And although it was not supposed to be serviced, we were pleased to get a new set of linen and toiletries half way through our stay. We definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: South side rooms were very quiet. The stairs up to the first and second floor probably not suitable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Makaroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

After reading so many negative reviews I was very hestitant to book rooms for 3 couples travelling together from WA. All it took was a phonecall to explain that we would like to be near each other....so were given a Deluxe poolside apartment plus 2 studio rooms all side by side.
Rooms and linen spotless..everything you needed is in rooms...lovely pool and barbeque areas...and none of the noise other people are talking about. Will definitely recommend to everyone and would not look at any other accommodation if we return to Cairns.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 1145, 1146, 1147
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.9 mi away
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
1.1 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#21 of 64 in Cairns
515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Cairns Central Apartments
0.5 mi away
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Cross Atrium Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Cross Atrium Apartments

Address: 3 - 11 Water St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: £62 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Cross Atrium Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in a modern 'Atrium Style' Southern Cross Apartments Cairns are built around a recreational spa, lap sized swimming pool, tropical pool, gym and beautifully landscaped barbeque area that pays homage to our tropical lifestyle.The Southern Cross Atrium Apartments features Studio, one and two bedroom luxury apartments combining the convenience and energy of a Cairns inner city location and only minutes from the major shopping precinct of Cairns.Just a few minutes walk to the city centre, Railway Station, Convention Centre and recently transformed Cairns Esplanade, the Southern Cross Atrium Apartment complex is built in three stages, each with it's own distinct theme and first class facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Cross Atrium Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Cross Atrium Apartments Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing