We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great wifi, small problem with ants”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cairns City Sheridan
Ranked #59 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed 16 April 2011

Pros: Great rooms, generally clean, and while a short walk from the city center, it's quiet and pleasant. Wifi is good. The restaurant isn't bad, but nothing special: great for nights when you can't be bothered to go out. We stayed for over a week and really enjoyed it.

The only problem we had was with ants: we couldn't rid the bathroom of the little fiends. The front desk said that they sprayed, but it wasn't very effective. I'd give it a four rating if it hadn't been for these uninvited guests.

Room Tip: check for ants
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MerryDevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

246 - 252 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2011

Great resort style Hotel in good location in CAIRNS and Great Value. This was our 4th Visit and it only gets better. The Free Wireless Internet has just been UPGRADED and works everywhere in the Hotel. The Dinner is everything that you could ask for and very cheap for the size of the meals, can't eat a whole meal.

Room Tip: Great Free INTERNET, Great Location and Great Food
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnnoSBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

Trying to work out where to stay in Cairns is a headache, there are so many accommodation places available and so many deals, and so many diverse reviews on Tripadvisor!!
However, we ended up deciding to go with City Sheridan as it offered a great rate for the nights we needed to stay in Cairns. And we are very glad we did.

Reception/check in & check out
Smooth, no problems at all. All front office staff we encountered during our four night stay, over two periods during a week, were friendly, efficient, so helpful.

Rooms
First night 206
Clean, tidy, light, queen bed and single bed. Balcony overlooking pool and palm trees. Air con was noisy but not that annoying, and kept the room at a very pleasant temperature. Bar fridge, good sized bathroom, microwave, kettle, cups etc.

Nights 2 - 4
Room 202, even better than 206. At the end of the corridor so only one neighbour. Air con whisper quiet and so welcome after a day out. Same bedding arrangement as room 206 but bathroom appeared bigger and all amenities same as room 206. TV selection wasn't the greatest but as TV is not high on our list of priorities it did not matter all that much (five usual free to air, three sports, TLC, no movie channels)

Public areas
The restaurant is small but clean and decorated nicely. Had breakfast there and the eggs and bacon were cooked to perfection! There is also a licensed bar.

There is an area at the bottom of the sairs that holds two large brochure racks and also a table, so it appears that most of the tours available from Cairns are well represented.

Pool
Is great; not too big, not too small, exceptionally clean. Hint: get in and out of the pool by the step, the 'ramp style' entrance can be slippery.

Free WiFi; I could access this with no difficulty whatsoever from both the rooms we stayed in.

Note: there is no lift so be prepared to carry your luggage up a couple of flights of stairs.

Yes, as stated by other reviewers, it is not right in Cairns city but it is only three blocks from the big Central shopping centre, and a 20 minute stroll right down to the wharves. Buses run nearby, taxis are cheap, and the walk in the early morning or after 4.30pm, when you can walk on the sides of the strees which have shade (!), or go via the Esplande boardwalk, only two blocks from the motel, is a good way to get some exercise and take a good look around.

If we were to go back to Cairns, we would check out the rates for City Sheridan first and if they stay within the range they were when we were there, would have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LydiaNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

Small Hotel with great pool. Restaurant with the best food served on all our trip. Only down side is that it does not have a elevator and we were on the 3rd floor. Book your tours though hotel and receive a free bar drink. Bonus!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harveyrogalsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

At first we were impressed -- the room looked really nice! But then things got bad. One morning when we had an early tour of the reef booked, the restaurant wasn't open by 7:00 as it was supposed to be. And we had paid up front for the continental breakfast each morning. Thanks to the late start we were in a big panic by the time we made it to the docks! Then one morning my son woke up with bumps on his legs -- hmm, could they be bites? We weren't sure. Then we began to notice tiny ants all over the place -- even up on the bathroom counter and our bedside tables. Now that we're home I'm finding new bites on my legs. Could I have brought bed bugs home from there?!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 74gremlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Sheridan_Motel, Owner at Cairns City Sheridan, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2011

Hello,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Best Western City Sheridan, Cairns. We take these matters very seriously and would like if you could please contact us directly to let us know what room you stayed in. We have had no comments about bugs since we took over in 2009 and are surprised that you didn’t point out the alleged bugs during your stay. We would appreciate if we got this information to deal with the matter professionally.

Kind Regards
Owner
Best Western City Sheridan, Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights right before the cyclone hit Queensland.

The price was the reason we chose the place and we were pleasantly surprised it had a great amount of space and free internet. Cairns is pretty expensive so this was nice.

The only thing I didn't like was the beds being on rollaway wheels so when you sat on them they moved away from the wall and slipped.

For the price it was good and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tropicaltravels6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

perfect spot to stay for several days to use as a base. room was large clean & had aircon. Had a great nights sleep as the room as facting the pool so no street noise. ate in the hotel one evening & food was great!.
wifi in the room wasn't consistant & had to go to the bar to get wifi most of the time but didn't mind that. Hotel also has laundry facilities- great if youa re travelling on an extended trip.
Would definately recommend, & location is a 10min walk from the "action".

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blueesmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunshine Tower Hotel Cairns
0.7 mi away
Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment
0.6 mi away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#54 of 63 in Cairns
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Cairns Southside International
0.1 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#26 of 63 in Cairns
513 reviews
0.7 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns City Sheridan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns City Sheridan

Address: 157 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range: £49 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairns City Sheridan 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Sheridan is located close to the city center of Cairns, regarded one of the most popular hotels in a region that is viewed to be a must visit destination in the world. Cairns is surrounded by lush rainforest, beautiful tropical waters and scenery that has to be seen to believe. Staying with us at the City Sheridan you will be located within a 10 minute walk to Cairns best city attractions including; Cairns central shopping center, large number of world renowned restaurants catering for all cuisines, plenty of lively bars and clubs, Cairns Civic Theater, Cairns Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Bus Terminal, Museum, Arts Gallery, Train Station, Reef Fleet Terminal and the Reef Casino. City Sheridan is also only a 5 minute drive from the airport. ROOMS Our rooms are large in size and cleaned daily. We offer free wireless internet throughout the hotel. All rooms have their own private bathroom and balcony that opens the rooms to the wide open tropical weather and scenery. For in room entertainment your room has a 32-inch TV with free in house movies. Other inclusions is a microwave, fridge with mini-bar, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, safe, tea and coffee making facilities, and a desk with chairs. Your balcony is furnished with a table and 2 chairs. FACILITIES City Sheridan facilities include a tropical outdoor swimming pool with cascading waterfall, tour booking desk, guest laundry, and onsite car parking. City Sheridan also has the Sheridan Lounge Bar, a great place you can meet other travelers and share your stories while enjoying a beverage. The Sheridan Lounge Bar also has a computer terminal with free printing facilities. SHERIDAN RESTAURANT Sheridan Restaurant serves continental breakfast buffet daily from 7:00 am through to 10:00 am. Enjoy your morning breakfast poolside in the company of tropical palm trees and a cascading waterfall. SHERIDAN LOUNGE BAR: After a day out enjoying all the fantastic adventures that the Tropical North Queensland has to offer, relax pool side with a drink chosen from our large selection of beers, wines and spirits. TOUR DESK: City Sheridan tour booking agents are always available to help you through the large variety of adventure options. Great Barrier Reef, Cape Tribulation, and the Daintree are just a couple of the more popular attractions, and for the thrill seekers; skydiving, bungee jumping, hot air-ballooning, or white water rafting might be more your style, with over 200 adventures on offer, there is definitely something for everyone. CHECKING IN: Reception is open from 7:00 am to 9:00 pm daily. If you are arriving after 9:00 pm, the phone that is located on the front reception doors will direct call an after-hours service. If you are arriving after 9:00 pm, please let us know. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cairns City Sheridan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western City Sheridan Hotel Cairns
Comfort Inn Cairns
Cairns Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing