We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, well presented motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cairns City Sheridan
Ranked #61 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very good, well presented motel”
Reviewed 3 November 2011

I stayed at the Best western city sheridan for my latest buisness travels, it had free wireless internet, pool, laundry, bar and a great restaurant, nothing else really that i could ask for, for someone on business, The rooms are clean and large, with own balcony. Staff where friendly, and willing to help with directions. I enjoyed my stay at the motel, and next time in town for business will stay here again. For under $100 i found it to be great value.

Room Tip: was on the third floor, and enjoyed the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Sheridan_Motel, Owner at Cairns City Sheridan, responded to this review, 6 November 2011
Hello Paul,

Thank you very much for your great response regarding your last business trip to Cairns, Much appreciate you taking time to write the feedback.

We look forward in having you stay with us in the future. If there is anything that you can suggest, we are always willing to listen, all of us here at the Best Western City Sheridan like to make sure we reach guests expectations, or even better, exceeding them.

Regards
Owner/Manager
Chris Jorgensen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    78
    84
    46
    51
See reviews for
55
116
45
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brielle, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed here for two nights in October 2011. The location is a bit far from the Esplanade - only about a 15 minute walk, but you are walking on a pretty main road. Also, be ware there is no lift so you have to drag your heavy bags up about 20 stairs to get to the second level. The room was clean as was the bathroom. The in room air con was also great. The hotel also provided free wifi which is hard to come by, so that was much appreciated. The nights were quiet and the staff provided extra towels when requested. Overall, a good place to sleep for just a couple nights.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdoreEurope22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Sheridan_Motel, Owner at Cairns City Sheridan, responded to this review, 6 November 2011
Hello,

Thank you for your honest feedback, we are always looking to make improvements, so guests comments, are very important.
Regarding our location - I understand that 15 minutes to the city centre could be regarded as a long walk, i like to suggest for guests to walk the 2 blocks to the ocean boardwalk then head into the city, the ocean front is a beautiful location, and usually makes the remaining 10 minute walk a very pleasant, and relaxing one.
All our staff are more than happy to accommodate our guests with the carrying of luggage.

Thank you very much for your feedback, all the staff here at the Best Western City Sheridan appreciate it.

Regards
Owner / Manager
Chris Jorgensen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tweed Heads, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2011

my family stayed at this motel early October 2011 and we loved it, the rooms where very clean, staff where friendly, and the value helped us enjoy the holidays even more.

The motel has free wireless internet, which was a big bonus, and a fantastic restaurant on site, that we ended up eating at for 3 nights out of 4.

The room was big, with a balcony, and there was also a pool, and laundry options.
we have been travelling around queensland for about 5 weeks so far, and this was the best value motel we stayed at, it had everything we needed, and location was very good.
Will return one day...

Room Tip: We had a pool view room which was great as the motel has balconys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Sheridan_Motel, Owner at Cairns City Sheridan, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Hi Jason,

From all of us here at the Best Western City Sheridan, we are very appreciative of your positive feedback, and very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Regards

Chris Jorgensen
Owner / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2011

The staff were friendly, the only thing is they failed to highlight the breakfast price and we ended paying AUD 15 for 2 slices of bread + a glass of orange juice!

There were not lift so if you cannot lift your luggage for 3 storeys, not recommended to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScubaChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Sheridan_Motel, Owner at Cairns City Sheridan, responded to this review, 9 October 2011
Hello,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us,

I appreciate you mentioning the friendliness of our staff, we do our best to make sure that all of our guests are treated in the right manner, and respect. Our staff have been fantastic in doing this.

Our continental Buffet breakfast price is $12.50 per person, so if you feel that you may have paid more than that, then please get in contact with me and I will refund any extra chargers immediatly. Our all you can eat Contiental Buffet Breakfast menu includes Toast, Cereal, Fresh fruit, daily baked fresh muffins, Yoghurts, a varity of 3 fresh juices, and an all day coffee machine, that makes fresh latte, cappuccino, straight black, and expresso, we also have 3 different teas on offer.
I understand that this may not be up to the standard of a Continental Buffet Breakfast that you may expect, and I will look to continue adding requested items over time, We also have a large range of cooked options on the menu.

Not having a lift i understand can be a setback, we have a porter avaialble for all luggage needs for 16 hours a day available, so next time, if we do have the privilidge in you staying with us again, please request luggage to be taken to your room, and our staff will be very happy to help you.

I again thank you very much for your feedback, we take it seriously, and look to always be improving our quality of stay for our guests.

Regards

Chris Jorgensen
Owner / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitoba
Level Contributor
204 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Wish I could give it a 3.5 review. I booked online through the hotel website. We arrived around 8 pm and checked in without problem. The receptionist gave us two free drinks at the hotel bar also. The bar is only open until 8, so we didn’t get to use them that night. The restaurant has very limited hours, and we never made it there to eat. The free wifi at the hotel was much appreciated as apparently nowhere in Australia does this. The room itself was nice. It’s a small hotel so there really is no bad room locations. The air conditioner in the room is pretty marginal. We had it running the whole time, and it was never able to keep up. It would have been absolutely useless in the summer weather. There is no bathtub in the rooms, only showers, so if you have kids, this could be an issue. The front desk is only open limited hours, so late checkins or early morning checkouts could be troublesome. The location is fantastic. Only a 10-20 min walk to anywhere you want to be in Cairns. There is nothing fancy about this hotel, the rooms are basic, the pool is small, there is minimal parking, and there are no vending machines for late night snacking. The room has a small fridge as well. The only room for improvement is that due to the climate, the is always a lack of fresh air in the room. It’s always sort of damp, and there is no fan in the bathroom with only compounds this problem. I would stay here again as it’s only a $20 cab ride to the airport as well.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AC_A340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Sheridan_Motel, Owner at Cairns City Sheridan, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Hello,

Thank you very much for your feedback, and glad you had a great stay with us.

Restaurant hours are from 6pm to 9:30pm, and the bar is open from 10am to 9:30pm 7 days a week, so it is very interesting to read that you had trouble getting a drink from the bar at 8pm, I will follow this up and see how this may have happend.

Reception is open from 7am through to 10pm, we understand that Cairns airport is very rarely closed, so we do offer very late night / very early morning checkins, this is done by a "key in the safe" system which is very popular in the cairns accommodation industry, We wish we could run a 24 hour reception, but due to our size of motel this is not viable. We have many checkins throughout the night with very little issues, so we hope this gives you confidence if you do arrive late on your next trip.

Cairns is a very hot and humid climate, so we understand that it can be uncomfortable at times, we do our best by offering drinks in the room minibars, the pool is open 24 hours, and we also have a bar open from 10am to 9:30pm everyday, the building is also airconditioned throughout, as well as the rooms.

We thank you once again for your feedback, We all take feedback seriously, and if any issues to come up, we are more than happy to look into them.

Regards

Chris Jorgensen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Stayed here for three nights in August on a quick trip to Cairns. Stayed here previously (a few years ago) and was pleasantly surprised with the upgrades that have happen since my last visit!
The rooms were very clean and I loved the fact that there was free wifi!
The staff were wonderful, and though there is no lift, they were only to happy to help me up the stairs with my bags.
There are many wonderful restaurants in Cairns, but I recommend you at least have one night at the hotel restaurant as the steak was really good and really cheap for $20 which was surprising as Cairns restaurants are quite pricey.
Was very happy with everything and will be back again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimmy155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

pros: good location, clean, pool, big room (on 3rd flr, one hundrd therti dolarz)
cons: no elavator, rude receptionist (only 1, others were cool)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Sheridan_Motel, Owner at Cairns City Sheridan, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
Hello,

Thank you for your feedback,
We do our best to make sure that all guests feel welcome when they stay at the Best Western City Sheridan, so regarding the staff members actions that you mentioned, I will look into it, and then help build our great hospitality in the right direction.
We appreciate your other kind words towards our Motel, and hope to see you again in the future.
Regards

Chris Jorgensen
Best Western City Sheridan, Cairns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Cairns City
Comfort Inn Cairns City
#28 of 64 in Cairns
228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.1 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#24 of 64 in Cairns
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#20 of 64 in Cairns
482 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunshine Tower Hotel Cairns
0.6 mi away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#58 of 64 in Cairns
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns City Sheridan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns City Sheridan

Property: Cairns City Sheridan
Address: 157 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairns City Sheridan 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Sheridan is located close to the city center of Cairns, regarded one of the most popular hotels in a region that is viewed to be a must visit destination in the world. Cairns is surrounded by lush rainforest, beautiful tropical waters and scenery that has to be seen to believe. Staying with us at the City Sheridan you will be located within a 10 minute walk to Cairns best city attractions including; Cairns central shopping center, large number of world renowned restaurants catering for all cuisines, plenty of lively bars and clubs, Cairns Civic Theater, Cairns Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Bus Terminal, Museum, Arts Gallery, Train Station, Reef Fleet Terminal and the Reef Casino. City Sheridan is also only a 5 minute drive from the airport. ROOMS Our rooms are large in size and cleaned daily. We offer free wireless internet throughout the hotel. All rooms have their own private bathroom and balcony that opens the rooms to the wide open tropical weather and scenery. For in room entertainment your room has a 32-inch TV with free in house movies. Other inclusions is a microwave, fridge with mini-bar, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, safe, tea and coffee making facilities, and a desk with chairs. Your balcony is furnished with a table and 2 chairs. FACILITIES City Sheridan facilities include a tropical outdoor swimming pool with cascading waterfall, tour booking desk, guest laundry, and onsite car parking. City Sheridan also has the Sheridan Lounge Bar, a great place you can meet other travelers and share your stories while enjoying a beverage. The Sheridan Lounge Bar also has a computer terminal with free printing facilities. SHERIDAN RESTAURANT Sheridan Restaurant serves continental breakfast buffet daily from 7:00 am through to 10:00 am. Enjoy your morning breakfast poolside in the company of tropical palm trees and a cascading waterfall. SHERIDAN LOUNGE BAR: After a day out enjoying all the fantastic adventures that the Tropical North Queensland has to offer, relax pool side with a drink chosen from our large selection of beers, wines and spirits. TOUR DESK: City Sheridan tour booking agents are always available to help you through the large variety of adventure options. Great Barrier Reef, Cape Tribulation, and the Daintree are just a couple of the more popular attractions, and for the thrill seekers; skydiving, bungee jumping, hot air-ballooning, or white water rafting might be more your style, with over 200 adventures on offer, there is definitely something for everyone. CHECKING IN: Reception is open from 7:00 am to 9:00 pm daily. If you are arriving after 9:00 pm, the phone that is located on the front reception doors will direct call an after-hours service. If you are arriving after 9:00 pm, please let us know. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cairns City Sheridan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western City Sheridan Hotel Cairns
Comfort Inn Cairns
Cairns Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing