We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate hotel correct price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cairns City Sheridan
Ranked #61 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Brussels
Level 6 Contributor
853 reviews
218 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Adequate hotel correct price”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We arrived at the airport in the late afternoon and we used the shuttle to reach the hotel.
As the shuttle do several stops, depending on the hotels the other people are staying, the way to the hotel is not direct, anyway you lost just 5-10 minutes.
At the hotel even though in the reservation we asked for a twin room (two men) when we open the door we discovered we were given a double bed room. So we went downstairs again in order to have a twin room.
The hotel is adequate but far from being cosy.
The distance from the centre is about 2 km. and the price is correct for what we received.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rosario_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    78
    84
    46
    52
See reviews for
55
116
45
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandy, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I must admit, I was concerned when I read all the negative reviews of this property a couple of days before we were to arrive. When I booked the room for 4 nights it had a favorable rating, so I wondered what had happened in the interim. Happily I am able to report nothing! We were initially given a room on the third floor, but since there is no elevator, I requested a lower room, and was given one immediately. The room was spacious, clean and the bed was very comfortable. Yes, the fixtures in the room are dated, but were not disgusting as some have described it. I am quite particular with the quality of the hotels we visit and this one was fine. The only negative I have is the cleaning lady wasn't consistent with leaving shampoo, soap and towels. But the room was always clean. No, it isn't a 5 star property, but it doesn't advertise itself as one. The free wifi is great, and has good speed. Front desk staff were always willing to help and offer suggestions for activities. I would stay here again if I am fortunate enough to return to Cairns again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

The location is about a 15 minute walk from the Esplanade (if you don't have your own car). It's not situated in a great neighborhood.

The room was plain and very dated. There was only a sheer curtain covering the sliding door (people could see in if they wanted to). There's stairs to get to the 2nd and 3rd floors (no elevator).

I'm glad I only stayed one night. One good thing is that this hotel offered free wi-fi, which is hard to come by in Cairns.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this hovel. The website is totally mis-leading. The four star rating is probably given by a novice fiction writer!
Where to start? The location on the southern edge of North Cairns. So any sojorn into the CBD or onto the Esplanade requires a significant walk (if you don't have your own car). The area is less that salubrious, on the first night I listened to a couple having a domestic in the street for over half an hour!
The room was plain awful. Dirty and dated, the bathroom was pokey, the hot water tap was so stiff, as to be unusable. Door frame was rusted at the bottom. The room itself was infested with ants and other bugs, the ceiling was dirty and marked. None of the flat surfaces were cleaned or dusted either on our arrival or at any-time during our stay.
When my wife retrieved some dropped coins from under the bed, she got more than she bargained for, in the form of a half-smoked cigarette, a dirty tissue, and some kind of round white tablet....and there they stayed for the entire four nights...
The mattress was stained and smelly. The mattress "protector" was old, worn and similarly stained.
The air con unit was condemned from the Ark, and whenever we turned it on, it was so loud we had to turn up the TV, and conversations were conducted at a yell!
And the TV line-up, well, the advertised pay TV consisted of a cartoon channel, 3 movie channels - one of which was frozen on the same scene for the whole time, and another of which refused to come on -
The kicker came when we opened a drawer and found therin an invoice left by a previous guest,.......in August, 2000!!!!!!! That was the date on the invoice.
When we asked for ice (as advised to do so in the guest information) we were told that the ice machine was broken but we could buy some from the serice station down the road.
Also, when we asked the opening times of the restaurant, we were advised it was closed becauses was one of the reasons we booked in the first place! They could have told us at the time of booking!
And when we went to complain, the manager was not available.
Take our advice, stay away..

Room Tip: Try another hotel..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CindyandMichaelO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Booked a 2 night stay in the family room and informed the staff that I was going to be checking in late. On arrival my key was in the reception safe as expected. Carried our luggage and 2 kids up to the 3rd level to find someone else in our room. Rang the manager and all he could say was there's other motels in the city with night managers and I could try them to see if they've got any vacancies. I asked him if he could hook me up for the night through his contacts since they're part of a large chain of motels and his response was, "Mate, it's midnight and I can't do anything". I managed to find a room down the road and explained to them what had happened, and their response was, "It happens all the time". Thanks buddy for ur help. Told all my mates about your awesome service and I hope no one else makes the same mistake in dealing with this crap. They offered me the 2nd night for free which I accepted but first impressions were horrendous!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Samso83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

I havnt actually stayed at this hotel because they cancelled my booking and gave it to someone else. I booked my double room 3 weeks in advance via telephone. 3 days before i was due to stay i had a call from the front desk to confirm my booking. All was good until 10 minutes later she called me back and told me that they had double booked and i would no longer be able to stay. I apparently lost my booking to somebody who booked online at the exact same time and date that i did, tho this person had not left a name or any contact details so they got priority over me. Sounds like a load of crap!!! Will never consider booking at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Krizandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We stayed here as an overnight, very convent location to the Airport and the esplanade. The hotel is very aged, the room very basic what you would expect in a 1/2 star motel. When we stayed here the restaurant had been closed down, however not a far walk to a few places to eat. The lady at the front dest was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Check out the Italian Restaurant just down the road from the hotel... Very good pizza
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#24 of 64 in Cairns
476 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Cairns City
Comfort Inn Cairns City
#28 of 64 in Cairns
229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#19 of 64 in Cairns
484 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#58 of 64 in Cairns
342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balinese Motel
Balinese Motel
#37 of 64 in Cairns
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns City Sheridan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns City Sheridan

Property: Cairns City Sheridan
Address: 157 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairns City Sheridan 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Sheridan is located close to the city center of Cairns, regarded one of the most popular hotels in a region that is viewed to be a must visit destination in the world. Cairns is surrounded by lush rainforest, beautiful tropical waters and scenery that has to be seen to believe. Staying with us at the City Sheridan you will be located within a 10 minute walk to Cairns best city attractions including; Cairns central shopping center, large number of world renowned restaurants catering for all cuisines, plenty of lively bars and clubs, Cairns Civic Theater, Cairns Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Bus Terminal, Museum, Arts Gallery, Train Station, Reef Fleet Terminal and the Reef Casino. City Sheridan is also only a 5 minute drive from the airport. ROOMS Our rooms are large in size and cleaned daily. We offer free wireless internet throughout the hotel. All rooms have their own private bathroom and balcony that opens the rooms to the wide open tropical weather and scenery. For in room entertainment your room has a 32-inch TV with free in house movies. Other inclusions is a microwave, fridge with mini-bar, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, safe, tea and coffee making facilities, and a desk with chairs. Your balcony is furnished with a table and 2 chairs. FACILITIES City Sheridan facilities include a tropical outdoor swimming pool with cascading waterfall, tour booking desk, guest laundry, and onsite car parking. City Sheridan also has the Sheridan Lounge Bar, a great place you can meet other travelers and share your stories while enjoying a beverage. The Sheridan Lounge Bar also has a computer terminal with free printing facilities. SHERIDAN RESTAURANT Sheridan Restaurant serves continental breakfast buffet daily from 7:00 am through to 10:00 am. Enjoy your morning breakfast poolside in the company of tropical palm trees and a cascading waterfall. SHERIDAN LOUNGE BAR: After a day out enjoying all the fantastic adventures that the Tropical North Queensland has to offer, relax pool side with a drink chosen from our large selection of beers, wines and spirits. TOUR DESK: City Sheridan tour booking agents are always available to help you through the large variety of adventure options. Great Barrier Reef, Cape Tribulation, and the Daintree are just a couple of the more popular attractions, and for the thrill seekers; skydiving, bungee jumping, hot air-ballooning, or white water rafting might be more your style, with over 200 adventures on offer, there is definitely something for everyone. CHECKING IN: Reception is open from 7:00 am to 9:00 pm daily. If you are arriving after 9:00 pm, the phone that is located on the front reception doors will direct call an after-hours service. If you are arriving after 9:00 pm, please let us know. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cairns City Sheridan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western City Sheridan Hotel Cairns
Comfort Inn Cairns
Cairns Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing