We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cairns City Sheridan
Ranked #60 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Melbourne VIC Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Value!”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This hotel is good value for money. Simple but OK. I had no real problems during my stay. I stayed on the 2nd floor and on the pool side. I was lucky there were no inconsiderate guests in my area. The pool was nice. The air con and fans worked well. It is in walking distance to the Esplanade area. I'd stay here again. Rebecca at the front desk is very helpful!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grasshopper7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    78
    84
    46
    49
See reviews for
53
116
45
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Contacted hotel 2 weeks in advance and was advised could check in early as we had an early flight. arrived at 9am and told to come back at 2pm.Room on top floor, no lift and I have and struggled each time, when I approached for a room downstairs, reply was bad luck.
Pool was NOT cleaned for the 10 nights we were there.
Half drank bottles left in fridge from previous guests,
On leaving, office was suppose to open at 7am, no one there so back up stairs just to leave key in room, and there were O'seas guests waiting OUTSIDE for breakfast, and they were booked on a tour. That's very poor, especially the prices they charge.

Room Tip: to many steps to climb. Stipulate a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed here because it was just an overnight stay before catching a flight out in the early morning. Upon approaching the hotel, the large "MOTEL" word painted across the building didn't make it seem that appealing. I know it's not a high-end hotel, but at least don't advertise it like a backpacker's place. The electronic key did not work, so after multiple tries, they had to give us a regular key to enter the room. We were on the 3rd floor, and as the other reviews have stated, there are no elevators, and the wifi is very spotty. The room was hot and stuffy. The furniture and beds were old and worn. However, the worst part were the ants that were running around basically EVERYWHERE in the hotel. They were all along the walls, floors, air conditioning wall unit, but especially around the microwave and mini-fridge. When I told the front desk about this, they seemed to be sympathetic, but stated that all rooms were like this and it was something that all buildings had a problem with in Cairns. Not really, as we had stayed in the Holiday Inn along the Esplanade too, and that one didn't have any problems like this at all. Also, the front desk only is staffed during the day, so since we needed to check out early, we had an issue leaving the key since we didn't have an electronic card key. Yes, this location is one of the cheaper places to stay in Cairns, but I would recommend to spend a little extra money and get a nicer place. At least we didn't have street noise issues. We were in the building facing Upward Street, not the main building facing Sheridan Street. Plus, with the A/C and ceiling fan running all night, we had enough noise from that to not notice any street noise.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flipsyde112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karratha, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here twice now, and will never stay again, Rooms are stinking hot, very basic and small. We were on the 3rd floor and with no elevator, at 12 at night luging 3 bags and two kids up stairs is the last thing you want to do after traveling all day. I requested a room on the lower floor with a cot and did not get either. Then at breakfast we asked for a high chair and they said we don't have any. So we struggled to eat with children on our laps. The staff were not so helpful nor happy.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 193Laura454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
304 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I am a regular best westerner and am aware of the varying degrees of accommodation. We had a room on the third floor at the front, a bit noisy but we were staying over night only. Room condition OK for an older motel. Third floor with stairs. Internet for 3rd floor did not work but linked into 2nd floor internet - great connection. Nice easy walk down town. Would stay again for overnight/2 night stay if in area. Receptionist friendly and helpful. Shuttle booked by receptionist and arrived on time.

Room Tip: If noise a bother, ask for room at back of complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John, Virgin Islands
Level Contributor
119 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Needed a nice little room for overnight in Cairns & read reviews on Hotels.com & Tripadvisor...didn't sound too bad.
But it was truly substandard.
Awful location on busy street next to adult book store & across from motorcycle shop. Room on 3rd floor (no elevator...carry bags yourself up 6 flights). Advertised free wifi...sorry doesn't work on 3rd floor. Room furnished so cheaply. Major noise all thru the night like some whining animal (never figured that out), but also road traffic sounds. We are usually not picky travelers but this was way below any standard we set.
Found a nice Holiday Inn on the Esplanade..Wish we'd stayed there.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sstj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed here due to a late flight in from overseas. It was close to airport and cheap. But I would not stay here longer. Downsides were that late arrival meant check in was not open so you have to pick up phone at the door and wait to be connected to someone to handle your check in. You access safe for keys to the room and in our case the safe did not open.
The room was up a flight of stairs - no lifts . The room was at the front and noisy due to traffic. The air conditioner was noisy and the room not very well cleaned ( toothpaste on spout of tap and one of the cups for tea was still dirty. The bed was also uncomfortable and squeaked when you moved.

Breakfast was included in the price of room and is self service. Just a continental breakfast- juice, toast and cereal. Fruit bowl which didn't have much choice. No glasses out for juice and you boil the jug for hot water for the tea. All of this cost normally $14.50 so may be best to go to the coffee shop across the road.
Staff were very friendly though.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rykony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Balinese Motel
Balinese Motel
#35 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunshine Tower Hotel Cairns
0.2 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Cairns City
Comfort Inn Cairns City
#28 of 64 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
#18 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.4 mi away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#62 of 64 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns City Sheridan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns City Sheridan

Property: Cairns City Sheridan
Address: 157 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairns City Sheridan 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Sheridan is located close to the city center of Cairns, regarded one of the most popular hotels in a region that is viewed to be a must visit destination in the world. Cairns is surrounded by lush rainforest, beautiful tropical waters and scenery that has to be seen to believe. Staying with us at the City Sheridan you will be located within a 10 minute walk to Cairns best city attractions including; Cairns central shopping center, large number of world renowned restaurants catering for all cuisines, plenty of lively bars and clubs, Cairns Civic Theater, Cairns Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Bus Terminal, Museum, Arts Gallery, Train Station, Reef Fleet Terminal and the Reef Casino. City Sheridan is also only a 5 minute drive from the airport. ROOMS Our rooms are large in size and cleaned daily. We offer free wireless internet throughout the hotel. All rooms have their own private bathroom and balcony that opens the rooms to the wide open tropical weather and scenery. For in room entertainment your room has a 32-inch TV with free in house movies. Other inclusions is a microwave, fridge with mini-bar, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, safe, tea and coffee making facilities, and a desk with chairs. Your balcony is furnished with a table and 2 chairs. FACILITIES City Sheridan facilities include a tropical outdoor swimming pool with cascading waterfall, tour booking desk, guest laundry, and onsite car parking. City Sheridan also has the Sheridan Lounge Bar, a great place you can meet other travelers and share your stories while enjoying a beverage. The Sheridan Lounge Bar also has a computer terminal with free printing facilities. SHERIDAN RESTAURANT Sheridan Restaurant serves continental breakfast buffet daily from 7:00 am through to 10:00 am. Enjoy your morning breakfast poolside in the company of tropical palm trees and a cascading waterfall. SHERIDAN LOUNGE BAR: After a day out enjoying all the fantastic adventures that the Tropical North Queensland has to offer, relax pool side with a drink chosen from our large selection of beers, wines and spirits. TOUR DESK: City Sheridan tour booking agents are always available to help you through the large variety of adventure options. Great Barrier Reef, Cape Tribulation, and the Daintree are just a couple of the more popular attractions, and for the thrill seekers; skydiving, bungee jumping, hot air-ballooning, or white water rafting might be more your style, with over 200 adventures on offer, there is definitely something for everyone. CHECKING IN: Reception is open from 7:00 am to 9:00 pm daily. If you are arriving after 9:00 pm, the phone that is located on the front reception doors will direct call an after-hours service. If you are arriving after 9:00 pm, please let us know. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairns City Sheridan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western City Sheridan Hotel Cairns
Comfort Inn Cairns
Cairns Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing