We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cairns City Sheridan
Ranked #61 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Bundaberg
Level Contributor
142 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Excellent for the price”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Very friendly service, clean, tidy and good sized rooms. I stayed for 5 nights for business and found it very good for the less than $100 per night. It is only 10 minutes walk to the big shopping centre. Situated on the main northern arterial road.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank GregoryBBundaberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    78
    84
    46
    49
See reviews for
53
116
44
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Close to most things, staff ultra friendly and helpful, free wifi, rooms neat and tidy and serviced daily.

For the price it's a bargain with pool and bar, perfect way to spend arvo relaxing with drinks beside pool.

Will def be using again when back in Cairns.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Daveturf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

It is a lovely inn close to everything. Will go there again. It is close to Muddies play ground for the kids although they have a lovely pool as well. The staff is very helpful and accommodating even with sick kids in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jnj512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This was a motel not a five star hotel. We paid about £20 per head per night and for that we had a very clean room, free internet, a balcony that got the sun all day, fridge, microwave and a pool to use. There's also a washing machine and dryer at $3 each which was very handy half way through our 3 week trip. Ok, so it's not luxurious but it's about a 10 minute walk to the shops, bars, esplanade etc. and the reception staff were some of the most helpful we've ever come across. They even booked our shuttle transfer for us back to the airport saving us the hassle.
If you want 5 star accommodation then this isn't for you but if you want a clean base to stay at with nice staff then this fits the bill. We paid a lot more in other Australian cities for a lot less. We loved it here and would highly recommend.,

Room Tip: All rooms had sunny balconies and faced the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alfiex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
109 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

My wife and i were only staying here for 1 x night - this was 1 x Night too long!

We had flown internationally ( time zones etc ) to Cairns and were fast asleep at 19:30.

We had the usual 'Do Not Disturb' sign placed on the outside of the room door.

There was a knock on the door which woke us up and we ignored.

The very next moment someone opened the door and tried to enter the room using a skeleton key ( lucky we had the chain on the door ).

10 minutes later I called reception to report the incident... to which the receptionist answered with "It was me".....

Management seriously need to train their staff and redress this brazen privacy ( security? ) breach.

This Motel is generally an 80's style dump and in dire need of modernisation.

Do yourself a favour and book somewhere else....

Room Tip: Best If You Book Some Where Else - Just Not Here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Midleton, Ireland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Rooms were very clean & serviced every day. Fridge, microwave & tea facilities in room. Lovely clean pool, small but perfect for a cooling down dip. Laundry facilities also for a $3 charge per wash & $3 per dry. Had a lovely balcony overlooking the pool.
Location is a bit of a walk in & out from the town centre & lagoon but very close to Central shopping centre.
Very reasonable price, would definitely stay here again & would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at rear overlooking the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoanneMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Well things have certainly picked up if the previous reviews are anything to go by. The girls at reception could not be more helpful and breakfast was was worth the money with fresh coffee, fruit yoghurt cereals choc chip muffin bars and juice. For the price my partner and I paid we were well pleased. A few cold beers by the pool after a trip out to the reef, what a way to end our holiday in Cairns.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank turtle72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunshine Tower Hotel Cairns
0.2 mi away
Balinese Motel
Balinese Motel
#35 of 64 in Cairns
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
#19 of 64 in Cairns
321 reviews
0.4 mi away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#62 of 64 in Cairns
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Cairns City
Comfort Inn Cairns City
#29 of 64 in Cairns
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns City Sheridan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns City Sheridan

Property: Cairns City Sheridan
Address: 157 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairns City Sheridan 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Sheridan is located close to the city center of Cairns, regarded one of the most popular hotels in a region that is viewed to be a must visit destination in the world. Cairns is surrounded by lush rainforest, beautiful tropical waters and scenery that has to be seen to believe. Staying with us at the City Sheridan you will be located within a 10 minute walk to Cairns best city attractions including; Cairns central shopping center, large number of world renowned restaurants catering for all cuisines, plenty of lively bars and clubs, Cairns Civic Theater, Cairns Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Bus Terminal, Museum, Arts Gallery, Train Station, Reef Fleet Terminal and the Reef Casino. City Sheridan is also only a 5 minute drive from the airport. ROOMS Our rooms are large in size and cleaned daily. We offer free wireless internet throughout the hotel. All rooms have their own private bathroom and balcony that opens the rooms to the wide open tropical weather and scenery. For in room entertainment your room has a 32-inch TV with free in house movies. Other inclusions is a microwave, fridge with mini-bar, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, safe, tea and coffee making facilities, and a desk with chairs. Your balcony is furnished with a table and 2 chairs. FACILITIES City Sheridan facilities include a tropical outdoor swimming pool with cascading waterfall, tour booking desk, guest laundry, and onsite car parking. City Sheridan also has the Sheridan Lounge Bar, a great place you can meet other travelers and share your stories while enjoying a beverage. The Sheridan Lounge Bar also has a computer terminal with free printing facilities. SHERIDAN RESTAURANT Sheridan Restaurant serves continental breakfast buffet daily from 7:00 am through to 10:00 am. Enjoy your morning breakfast poolside in the company of tropical palm trees and a cascading waterfall. SHERIDAN LOUNGE BAR: After a day out enjoying all the fantastic adventures that the Tropical North Queensland has to offer, relax pool side with a drink chosen from our large selection of beers, wines and spirits. TOUR DESK: City Sheridan tour booking agents are always available to help you through the large variety of adventure options. Great Barrier Reef, Cape Tribulation, and the Daintree are just a couple of the more popular attractions, and for the thrill seekers; skydiving, bungee jumping, hot air-ballooning, or white water rafting might be more your style, with over 200 adventures on offer, there is definitely something for everyone. CHECKING IN: Reception is open from 7:00 am to 9:00 pm daily. If you are arriving after 9:00 pm, the phone that is located on the front reception doors will direct call an after-hours service. If you are arriving after 9:00 pm, please let us know. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairns City Sheridan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western City Sheridan Hotel Cairns
Comfort Inn Cairns
Cairns Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing