We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean with friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cairns City Sheridan
Ranked #59 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed 8 October 2010

The staff were great and made you feel welcome. They assisted with booking tours and provided local information.
Doors to some of the rooms were very noisy and slammed loadly throughout the night.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayH32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 269 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2010

We stayed at the City Sheridan for 2 nights when we arrived in Cairns. We got a very warm welcome from Alisha who helped with all our enquiries & just made us feel that we wanted to stay & chat for a while. We got to our room which was very clean, comfortable & had everything we needed with the added view of looking out over the pool & restaurant area. We arrived late at night the restaurant was ready for closing but it was no problem for them to feed us, with a delicious meal & nothing was too much trouble. This is where we met Kelly who was very helpful, freindly & very informative about anything we wanted to about our first time experience in Cairns. We were only away for a week & were supposed to be staying for the rest of the week in Port Douglas but we ended up only staying there for 2 nights & we came back to the City Sheridan for the rest of our holiday, even the cleaning staff were freindly & helpful. Thank you Kelly & Alisha & all the staff at City Sheridan, we would definately recommend your Inn to anybody & if I ever get back to Cairns for a holiday thats where we will be staying.
The Extons.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank extontocumwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We were let down by our car rental company which meant we had to spend an extra night in Cairns. We arrived at the hotel at 10.30am and were given a warm friendly greeting and though they hadn't finished the days cleaning, they found us a room straight away. We had a lovely dinner that night in the restuarant - food very fresh and well cooked and presented. We booked in again for our final night before our flight home 2 weeks later and again, we were well looked after and another great meal. I spent some time in the bar by the pool and was served by kelly, who is delightful and very good at her job. The hotel is very reasonably priced and we would stay there again

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nance_and_Mal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

I was in Cairns lately on business and decided to stay at the City Sheridan for a couple of nights, I had read a few reviews about the motel, and was pretty please with what i had read. I was happy to say that the place was very comfortable, friendly and clean. I have rebooked for the next trip in october, and would reccommend the property.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RepTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

I booked a room in this motel for 2 nights in July 2010. This has to be the most irresponsible and disorganised place in Cairns. I arrived in Cairns late in the evening only to be told by the receptionist that my room has drainage problems and that they were not able to contact me to let me know. They booked me in their sister motel called Rainbow Inn. It was a complete dive. I felt like I was walking into a prison with drunk indigenous people staring at me from the balcony. The room I was given was near their so called restaurant. The bed was filthy and full of stain marks. Air con was not in order. TV with only 4 channels (advertised to have Austar) with a missing remote control. I was woken up at 3am by someone continuously shouting outside saying that he will kill everyone. I checked out at 5am as I did not feel safe in that hellish motel. When I returned to City Sheridan, I was told that my room was still not ready. They had two days to have that room fixed but they didn't bother. When I refused to stay at the filthy Rainbow Inn, I was offered a room at Queens Court which was a decent place. I will not recommend either City Sheridan or Rainbow Inn to anyone. Stay at Queens Court instead. I hope everyone finds this review helpful and stay away from these dives.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank R1ddl3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Just returned home from a wonderful holiday here! Very clean. To Kelly, Eddie, Casey. We had a lot to do with you guys, you guys are great, awesome and excellent. We had the best time with you all. A totally awesome experience with two of you in particular. How friendly and helpful your were and always ready to have a laugh. thank you. To Chris and Elisha and Katrina you guys were a pleasure to talk to as well. Nothing was any trouble to any of you 6 people. To the housekeeping staff, you are all lovely as well. Thanks heaps. will be recommending friends and family to this marvellous motel. P.S. Not only were two of you awesome but fantastic and super as well. Anne Inslay

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnieAussieinRocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2010

It was a joy to stay at this hotel - friendly, safe, clean and very reasonably priced. Our room overlooking the pool was clean, well presented and serviced promptly and very adequately each day. The off-street car parking was a bonus.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starmanHerveyBay_Qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunshine Tower Hotel Cairns
0.1 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#26 of 64 in Cairns
504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment
0.8 mi away
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
#16 of 64 in Cairns
352 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cairns Southside International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns City Sheridan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns City Sheridan

Address: 157 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range: £50 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairns City Sheridan 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Sheridan is located close to the city center of Cairns, regarded one of the most popular hotels in a region that is viewed to be a must visit destination in the world. Cairns is surrounded by lush rainforest, beautiful tropical waters and scenery that has to be seen to believe. Staying with us at the City Sheridan you will be located within a 10 minute walk to Cairns best city attractions including; Cairns central shopping center, large number of world renowned restaurants catering for all cuisines, plenty of lively bars and clubs, Cairns Civic Theater, Cairns Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Bus Terminal, Museum, Arts Gallery, Train Station, Reef Fleet Terminal and the Reef Casino. City Sheridan is also only a 5 minute drive from the airport. ROOMS Our rooms are large in size and cleaned daily. We offer free wireless internet throughout the hotel. All rooms have their own private bathroom and balcony that opens the rooms to the wide open tropical weather and scenery. For in room entertainment your room has a 32-inch TV with free in house movies. Other inclusions is a microwave, fridge with mini-bar, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, safe, tea and coffee making facilities, and a desk with chairs. Your balcony is furnished with a table and 2 chairs. FACILITIES City Sheridan facilities include a tropical outdoor swimming pool with cascading waterfall, tour booking desk, guest laundry, and onsite car parking. City Sheridan also has the Sheridan Lounge Bar, a great place you can meet other travelers and share your stories while enjoying a beverage. The Sheridan Lounge Bar also has a computer terminal with free printing facilities. SHERIDAN RESTAURANT Sheridan Restaurant serves continental breakfast buffet daily from 7:00 am through to 10:00 am. Enjoy your morning breakfast poolside in the company of tropical palm trees and a cascading waterfall. SHERIDAN LOUNGE BAR: After a day out enjoying all the fantastic adventures that the Tropical North Queensland has to offer, relax pool side with a drink chosen from our large selection of beers, wines and spirits. TOUR DESK: City Sheridan tour booking agents are always available to help you through the large variety of adventure options. Great Barrier Reef, Cape Tribulation, and the Daintree are just a couple of the more popular attractions, and for the thrill seekers; skydiving, bungee jumping, hot air-ballooning, or white water rafting might be more your style, with over 200 adventures on offer, there is definitely something for everyone. CHECKING IN: Reception is open from 7:00 am to 9:00 pm daily. If you are arriving after 9:00 pm, the phone that is located on the front reception doors will direct call an after-hours service. If you are arriving after 9:00 pm, please let us know. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairns City Sheridan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western City Sheridan Hotel Cairns
Comfort Inn Cairns
Cairns Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing