We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Cairns(Cairns)
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$273
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cairns Plaza Hotel(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reef Palms(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Tree Inn(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra Esplanade Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (521)
Filter reviews
521 results
Traveller rating
242
206
61
11
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
206
61
11
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet streetshort walktwo blockscontinental breakfastyogurtfree internetstayed here for nightsbed was comfortablereef triphome away from homecentre of townshort stayair concairns esplanaderosemarytoursaustralia
Filter
Updating list...
344 - 349 of 521 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2011

A nice little hotel in a great location and with friendly staff. Rooms were clean and a reasonable size. I have no reason not to recommend it, but did seem to luck out with my timing and coincided with a party period. There were 3 noisy nights during my stay one of which kept me up to 330 am. In fairness this is not the owner's fault and they were probably fairly powerless to do much. The problem was younger types drinking heavily and partying in the rooms. Sound insulation is not great (as per some previous reviews for this hotel) and in my room which had an adjoining (locked) door, I could hear the TV and most conversation of other guests, including times when they got amorous! As verandahs are present in some rooms, conversations can be heard if people are outside. Overall sleep was average and sometimes poor due to these noise issues. Otherwise the hotel is nice and would be a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pezoporus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2011

We are always pleased to receive reviews from our guests. In this case it appears that some of our guests in nearby rooms were making a noise which of course happens in many hotels throught the world. I am sure had you called reception, action would have been taken to mimimise the problem. We apologise and trust you understand that in this case it was beyond our control.
For the past 12 months we have undertaken the refurbishment of the entire hotel, this process is continuing and a contract has been let to replace all curtains in all rooms.
Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We stayed 2 nights in Cairns at the Heritage before our travels took us to Port Douglas. Overall, it’s a fine place, and we score it more like 3.5 out of 5. The staff is wonderful and friendly, and very helpful. Our room was a one-bedroom suite and it was clean, functional, and comfortable, although a bit dated. The hotel manager informed us they were hosting a wedding during our stay, so they put us in a room that was far away from the wedding party rooms just in case there was some late night noise. We didn’t hear anything and slept quite well.
The location is close enough to walk to the Esplanade and Lagoon area within about 15 minutes. It is also easy access to the highways to get to Innisfail and Port Douglas.
We were told the Heritage is just about to undertake a renovation by adding in a brand new wing, expanding the pool area, and updating the rooms, and I’m sure when this is complete the place will be awesome. Location is really good. If we are ever back in Cairns, we would stay here again.
During our first night, someone must have thought it would be funny to activate a fire alarm at 4 am (they broke the little glass piece and pulled the alarm). Everyone in the hotel evacuated and we waited for the all-clear from the fire department about 15 minutes later. The hotel staff handled this very well.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2011

Thank you for your response, we have noted your concern and look forward to your return.
Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Everything was excellent bed, room cleanliness,,close to Esplanade,bus to city centre. Rosemary was so friendly and obliging. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 692Maureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2011

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate your comments, suggestions and advise that we are continuing to upgrade the Heritage to make it #1 in Cairns, the same rating as the Madang Resort and Kalibobo Village enjoy in Papua New Guinea which we hope will be your next destination!
Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights in August and was very impressed. Rosemary is a lovely lady who genuinely cares about her guests. She helped out with booking trips and even drove me to an early morning pick up. My room was always very clean and the bed jwas very comfy. The hotel is in a great, quiet location. Cant recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire37England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2011

We are very luck to have Rosemary Robertson as our Manager assisted by Cynthia Bubner both of who are exceptional people backed by a fantastic staff. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Friendly, helpful staff, place was clean and tidy, comfortable beds, slightly out of town which is good as it was quieter and still not far at all to walk into town and restaurants/shops.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelsnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews