We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Great Service - Exactly what I expected” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropical Heritage Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Ranked #15 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Service - Exactly what I expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

This placed received many good reviews and I agree with all of them. The rooms are comfortable and clean and parking is not a problem. People at the front desk were friendly and helpful - full marks.

Location wise it is also great. It's a short walk to the beginning of the esplanade where you can find places to chill out and eat. It's also easy acccess to Captain Cook's Highway making it easy to explore Cairns.

In summary, it's a quiet, comfortable place for us to relax after long days exploring Cairns.

Interesting to note also that the hotel is next to a Masonic meeting hall - for all you conspiracy theorists out there.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerantauDunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    192
    50
    8
    1
See reviews for
83
246
63
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a total of four nights with a three night stay at Fitzroy Island in the middle. We could not have asked for anything more. Rosemary at the front desk was extremely helpful and was enthusiastic in assisting us with our plans. She drove us to the railway station on the day we were going to Kuranda and drove us to the Ferry for our trip to Fitzroy. She helped us plan out our activities and even went so far to make reservations for the scenic railway and our trip to the Cairns Zoo.

The only downside I found was how dated the rooms felt, but that really doesn't bother me since I spend as little time in hotel rooms as possible when travelling.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissylb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

The hotel is conveniently located next to the esplanade and the rooms are nice and big and clean.

What makes this hotel special though is the person who sits at the front desk called Rosemary. Rosemary basically looked after all my tour needs for me and I did not have to do much at all except tell Rosemary what I would like to do.

Always up for a good chat and you can see that Rosemary tries to get to know what her customers want and then delivers. Definitely took the stress out of trying to organise tours myself and her recommendations were always spot on.

If I go back to Cairns again will have no hesitation at staying at the Heritage again.

Cheers
Mark

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed at Heritage Cairns for 2 two-night stays with a two-night trip out to the reef on Reef Encounter in between. We booked a studio room, which was small, but more than adequate for our needs. It provided all the comforts I could have asked for and then some. It isn’t the lap of luxury – if you’re looking for gilding and silks, look elsewhere - but it was clean, comfortable, well appointed (iron, ironing board, in-room safe, electric kettle, mini-fridge, soaps and toiletries all included), and provided us with a great home base from which to explore Cairns and the surrounding areas. The building and grounds are meticulously maintained and tidy. We had a small balcony overlooking the lush courtyard area where we enjoyed a beer or a glass of wine at sunset – a perfect way to wrap up the day before washing up for dinner and our evening adventures. Additionally, there are laundry facilities on site, which was a welcome surprise and came in handy at the mid-point of our Australian adventure.

As previous posters have mentioned, its location is really quite ideal. It's just a short walk to literally anything you want to do. We did not have a car, and didn't feel that we needed one at any point. We did take Rosemary up on her offer to drive us down to the Jetty to catch our boat out to the reef (complementary, by the way), but other than that, we were on foot everywhere.

I must make mention of the staff. I didn't catch everyone's names, but to say they go the extra mile is an understatement. They advised us on day trips and activities, stored our luggage while we were out on the reef, even booked our shuttle back to the airport for us. They know the area inside and out, and do everything they can to make sure their customers have access to anything they might want to make their trip more enjoyable.

The only shortcoming I can mention is with the internet access. They have that thing locked down like prison during a riot. The price they charge is reasonable, though the firewall limits you pretty severely. I was blocked from sites like Google Maps and Cnet Downloads, and the entire Android Market (I’m on a tablet) was off limits. If you’re going to sell internet services, it ought to be –you know – all of it.

Overall, though, a great place, phenomenal staff, and I would definitely come back if I found myself in that part of the world again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

A nice little hotel in a great location and with friendly staff. Rooms were clean and a reasonable size. I have no reason not to recommend it, but did seem to luck out with my timing and coincided with a party period. There were 3 noisy nights during my stay one of which kept me up to 330 am. In fairness this is not the owner's fault and they were probably fairly powerless to do much. The problem was younger types drinking heavily and partying in the rooms. Sound insulation is not great (as per some previous reviews for this hotel) and in my room which had an adjoining (locked) door, I could hear the TV and most conversation of other guests, including times when they got amorous! As verandahs are present in some rooms, conversations can be heard if people are outside. Overall sleep was average and sometimes poor due to these noise issues. Otherwise the hotel is nice and would be a good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pezoporus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, 6 October 2011
We are always pleased to receive reviews from our guests. In this case it appears that some of our guests in nearby rooms were making a noise which of course happens in many hotels throught the world. I am sure had you called reception, action would have been taken to mimimise the problem. We apologise and trust you understand that in this case it was beyond our control.
For the past 12 months we have undertaken the refurbishment of the entire hotel, this process is continuing and a contract has been let to replace all curtains in all rooms.
Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

We stayed 2 nights in Cairns at the Heritage before our travels took us to Port Douglas. Overall, it’s a fine place, and we score it more like 3.5 out of 5. The staff is wonderful and friendly, and very helpful. Our room was a one-bedroom suite and it was clean, functional, and comfortable, although a bit dated. The hotel manager informed us they were hosting a wedding during our stay, so they put us in a room that was far away from the wedding party rooms just in case there was some late night noise. We didn’t hear anything and slept quite well.
The location is close enough to walk to the Esplanade and Lagoon area within about 15 minutes. It is also easy access to the highways to get to Innisfail and Port Douglas.
We were told the Heritage is just about to undertake a renovation by adding in a brand new wing, expanding the pool area, and updating the rooms, and I’m sure when this is complete the place will be awesome. Location is really good. If we are ever back in Cairns, we would stay here again.
During our first night, someone must have thought it would be funny to activate a fire alarm at 4 am (they broke the little glass piece and pulled the alarm). Everyone in the hotel evacuated and we waited for the all-clear from the fire department about 15 minutes later. The hotel staff handled this very well.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, 6 October 2011
Thank you for your response, we have noted your concern and look forward to your return.
Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingaroy, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

Everything was excellent bed, room cleanliness,,close to Esplanade,bus to city centre. Rosemary was so friendly and obliging. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 692Maureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, 6 October 2011
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate your comments, suggestions and advise that we are continuing to upgrade the Heritage to make it #1 in Cairns, the same rating as the Madang Resort and Kalibobo Village enjoy in Papua New Guinea which we hope will be your next destination!
Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#19 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Heritage Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Heritage Cairns

Property: Tropical Heritage Cairns
Address: 8 Minnie St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cairns
#5 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Heritage Cairns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taxi service is available approx $20 each way between airport and hotel. Pool is basically large Spa. Internet is available at reception and wifi available throughout hotel. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, flat screen TV, en-suites and air conditioning . All rooms recently refurbished. We look forward to your visit to Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tropical Heritage Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Cairns Hotel Cairns
Heritage Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing