We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Ranked #19 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We were travelling as a family so booked two rooms at this hotel and stayed for only one night as we were moving on to Port Douglas the next day.
Everything was easy and the staff were really helpful and suggested some great restaurants for us that proved to be exactly what we were after.
Location is great - a short walk to the shops or restaurants. The rooms were nice and spacious and very clean.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keywee2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

324 - 330 of 513 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2012

This hotel lives up to its high rating on TripAdvisor. The room was clean and a decent size. The bathroom was massive and in immaculate condition.
There's a pool on site that's sheltered from the sun for those who want to escape the heat and humidity.
Wireless Internet is available at this hotel and you can get 2 hours complementary and above that, you'll need to purchase time. I never used the full 2 hours as I was only at the hotel to sleep.
The hotel does provide a breakfast, at a cost of $8.50 and had cereals, toast, juices, etc. I opted to head to one of the many cafes on the Esplanade, which is a short walk. As Cairns is not that big, virtually everything is within walking distance of the hotel. Hotel staff were great at providing directions to various places in the town.
The airport is on the northern part of town and a taxi to the hotel was just over $20. There is a shuttle service that the hotel can arrange and can be cheaper, depending on the number of guests.
I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ryan8437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Excellent location, accommodations, and service! This hotel was 2nd nicest place we stayed in and for the price it beats the nicest one. Rosemary is so incredibly nice. She was always interested in what adventures we went on and wanted to hear all about it when we returned. We actually looked forward to going back to our hotel just to talk to her! It's conveniently located just blocks away from the major shopping area and also there's a huge "flea" market in that area too that was open every night. One warning - there is a huge bat colony down Lake Street I think it was.... but we walked by several times and they never bothered us - were just really noisy! 2-hour wi-fi usage is complimentary with your room purchase and if you need to print boarding passes they'll let you do that on the downstairs computer. They do have a breakfast option which includes a few cereal options, milk, juice, tea, coffee, fruit (although if you don't give notice you might not get much choice of fruit), yogurt, and toast. When we stayed there the cost was AUD$10 (Dec 2011). We had a fridge and coffee in the room. There was also a clothesline in the bathroom - very nice!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tazgirl64801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

I stayed here on route to go to the Great Barrier reef. I chose it because it had great reviews and it was affordable and it had WiFi. Another great bonus was the luggage storage. Great hotel, Divinely cool. Lovely room and lovely bathroom. Will definitely stay here again. Easy stroll to city and shops as well as to esplanade. 1 block from bus stop.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BelindaBenoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We arrived in the evening and awoke the next morning in a tripical paradise. Our welcome had been lovely and very kind to tired travellers.
Our room had been upgraded and far exceeded our expectations.
It proved to be a home from home with all the facilities we wished for.
Rosemary could not have been more helpful, she even gave us a lift to the station for our trip to Kuranda.
Her help was invauable in finding which trips would suit us
Couldn't recommend the Heritage more.

Room Tip: All seemed good, we were on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicia155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

This small, clean hotel is located in a quiet location about 5-10mins walk from the centre of Cairns. Our double room seemed to have been recently refurbished and was perfect for our 4 night stay. The hotel has BBQ facilities, a small swimming pool and continental breakfast is also available.

All of the above can be found in resorts all over the world. The extra bonus with this hotel is that it has Rosemary as a Manager/Owner. She is an absolute star! We arrived late in the evening because our flight had been delayed. We then had the extra stress of a mix up with our luggage on the airport shuttle bus. Rosemary got out of bed and, after a number of phone calls, located our luggage for us and then (still in her pyjamas and dressing gown) drove us to collect it from a nearby hotel. On another occasion there was a very heavy rainstorm and she took us to pick up our rental car to save us from getting soaked. Great personality and great customer service!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

This is a great place to stay in Cairns, walkable to the main drag and seaside area, with quiet rooms and great service. I really appreciated the kind manager/owner who was so sweet and helpful. She went out of her way to help us out on a couple of occasions, and that kind of customer service is rare these days. While our room was in need of renovations, the hotel was working on a massive renovation project. Once the renovations are done, this would be a "5-star" rating on Trip Advisor!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
614 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,144 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#22 of 63 in Cairns
519 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Heritage Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Heritage Cairns

Address: 8 Minnie St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#5 Family Hotel in Cairns
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £51 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Heritage Cairns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taxi service is available approx $20 each way between airport and hotel. Pool is basically large Spa. Internet is available at reception and wifi available throughout hotel. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, flat screen TV, en-suites and air conditioning . All rooms recently refurbished. We look forward to your visit to Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Tropical Heritage Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Cairns Hotel Cairns
Heritage Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing