We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good-value accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Ranked #14 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“good-value accommodation”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights while on holidays in the region. It is located a couple of blocks back from the esplanade so no spectacular views, but our 3rd floor room had a nice outlook. It is an easy walk to the shops and cafes. As noted by other reviewers, the women at the reception were always very friendly and helpful. The room was basic but clean and all we really needed as we were out doing tourist things for most of the day. The melanesian decorations around the hotel were a nice touch.
One downside of the hotel if you have a car is that the carpark is outside and hidden around the corner with little surveillance. The hotel offered a continental breakfast in a dark and not very appealing room on the ground floor so I would suggest you bring your own or try many of the cafes in the city.

Room Tip: The third floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G0Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Thank you for your review, it is very helpful to us to see ourselves through the eyes of our guests. In regard to the rooms, all rooms have ensuites, digital LCD TV, fridges, coffee tea making facilities and all rooms have been refubished in 2011/12. It would be helpful to know what else we could do to improve the rooms withing the constraints of the competitive tariff? Also we have several categories ranging from studio rooms which I understand you selected up to Executive Suites which are amongst the most luxurious available in Cairns
In regard to the car park, we are aware of security even though we have not experienced any problem but we are negotiating a fence with electric gate access on the rear car park as well as an additional security camera.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Heritage and look forward to your next visit.
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    201
    52
    8
    1
See reviews for
89
253
65
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mandurah
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Our room was clean. The staff were friendly and helful. We even asked to be upgraded to a balcony room and that was no problem. They did not even charge us for it. Great advice on what to do in Cairns and where to eat. Value for money.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrevJ61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Thank you for your review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and your request for upgrade was possible. We always endeavoiur to upgrade rooms is available.
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I stayed for a few days in April 2012. The service and hospitality is what will bring me back to this hotel next time in Cairns. My flight arrived at 4am and Rosemary left my key and a nice welcome note in the lock box so I could access my room immediately. Now that is a seriously early check in but I was not charged for the extra night. How lovely it was to be accommodated in such a way. The large hotel chains would never have considered such a thing. My room was very clean and all the fittings and furnishings were near new. Very nice beds and quite location. I walked to the shops, the waterfront and the movies just down the road. Nothing to complain about and Rosemary and the team come highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedroandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We required accommodation close to Cairns Private hospital to enable us to visit a family member during a weeks admission. As well as being a 5 minute walk to the hospital, the hotel was only a short walk from the waterfront which allowed us to enjoy relaxing walks along the boardwalks to the lagoon and Pier. Rooms were spacious, with a refrigerator and microwave and crockery and cutlery sufficient for preparing simple meals. A washing machine and dryer was available for the hotel which made it easy to manage our own washing for 3 adults and family member in hospital. Also within walking distance of the hotel was St Monica's Cathedral with it's magnificent stained glass windows - a modern representation of the creation story with Australian and local themes included. All of the staff were very helpful and assisted with any of our requests. Hotel decor had a theme of the tropics with paintings and statues of Melanesian themes.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vagabondAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

My top criteria when selecting and evaluating a hotel is cleanliness. The amenities are nice to have but not always a requirement. And the Heritage goes to the top of my list for well-kept and immaculate rooms, bathrooms, kitchenette, and lobby area. Our suite was furnished with attractive furniture, a very comfortable king bed, great TV, and all the cooking utensils we needed. We prepared breakfast and lunch in the room, then had dinner at the local restaurants.

The short walk to the Esplanade was enjoyable and we made good use of the lengthy boardwalk that runs along the waterfront. We did not hesitate to get advice and assistance from Rosemary, Cynthia, and the staff. Once we began chatting, it was clear that they are all lovely people as well as experts in the region. Rosemary put in quite some time booking a tour for us and researching kayaking options. She made us feel comfortable asking all those questions new visitors have.

All in all, I would highly recommend the Heritage and agree with other reviewers that it exceeds the expectations of a 3.5-star hotel. And I made the choice to stay there based on all the glowing TripAdvisor reviews. Just one thing I wish I'd known in advance: there is a 2% surcharge for paying with a credit card.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icingblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Big, clean, good room with even a balcony! Must sitting at the balcony enjoy the afternoon tea and ocean wind.

The lady of the front desk is very friendly and helpful.

2 hours free WIFI is good enough for us, and even 24 hours WIFI is not expensive. (6$ for 24 hours?)

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BlackKnight97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We checked in at the last minute and fortunately there was room. Great location and the staff are the definition of welcoming Australian hospitality. The suites are spacious and clean, and include a kitchenette if you're that way inclined. All for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank y2ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
589 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
0.1 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#20 of 64 in Cairns
493 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Heritage Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Heritage Cairns

Property: Tropical Heritage Cairns
Address: 8 Minnie St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#5 Family Hotel in Cairns
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Heritage Cairns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taxi service is available approx $20 each way between airport and hotel. Pool is basically large Spa. Internet is available at reception and wifi available throughout hotel. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, flat screen TV, en-suites and air conditioning . All rooms recently refurbished. We look forward to your visit to Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tropical Heritage Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Cairns Hotel Cairns
Heritage Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing