We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - wonderful service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Ranked #19 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Just spent 3 nights at the Heritage. Can't say enough nice things about Rosemary - she was wonderful and very helpful in arranging trips to the reef and the rainforest and booking our airport shuttle. She even drove us to the marina and the train station. Our room was spacious and clean. And the hotel is convenient to the Esplanade. Would recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Cairns.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Thank you for taking time to respond. Such reviews are very helpful and I am sure Rosemary will treasure your comments - she is a marvellouw lady that takes personal pleasure in ensuring that every guest is treated like a member of her family. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Sir Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

260 - 266 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2012

Stayed in Heritage (also known as Tropical Heritage). Very comfortable stay. If you are like us you will have a number of activities booked. Rosemary on the front desk was inavluable in helping sort out a few problems with bookings we had made. We had pre booked a couple of activities but i am sur rosemary would have been very able to help book suitable trips. She was very knowledgable about all the different options.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Unraveling_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2012

Thanks for taking time to respond. We are pleased Rosemary was able to assist in tours including the opportunity to witness the Eclipse on nov 14. Like you we also saw this amazing spectacle. We look forward to your return visit.
Sir Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We stayed at Heritage Cairns for 2 nights in late November. Rosemary who works the front desk, is the most helpful and wonderful person! We were there during the Eclipse and many things were booked solid. Rosemary was able to book us on 2 excursions - and this was no easy task! She just went about calling up places and getting us booked on tours. It was thanks to her hard work and effort we were able to do exactly what we wanted to. THANK YOU! The rooms were clean and comfortable and it was an easy walk to Cairns main 'hot spots'. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2012

On behalf of Rosemary and her top staff, thankyu for taking time to write a positiv review. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Sir Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Our room was very comfortable, clean, spacious, and had all the amenities we needed for a reasonable price. It was quiet but in a good location for walking to the Esplanade and downtown Cairns. The staff was fabulous! Rosemary saved us from making a huge mistake and could not have been more helpful during our 7 day stay. The staff recommendations for restaurants, shopping, transportation, and sightseeing were excellent. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Book directly for a better deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

We appreciate the time you have taken to write a positive review on the Tropical Heritage Hotel in Cairns. We take all reviews seriously as we are always anxious to improve our services to our valued guests.
I also write on behalf of Rosemary, our Manager - she has been quite busy but I wan you to know that she reads all reviews and shares them with her fantastic staff.
Regards
Sir Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We received a very warm welcome from Rosemary on arrival. The reception area is full of all the trips you can take from Cairns which is great and Rosemary was available for questions all the time. (Not sure when she sleeps :)) You are also given 2hrs free wireless if required which worked great in the room.
Room was comfortable and clean with small balcony. there was a small fridge and kettle but no toaster. Asked Rosemary on reception and then had a toaster so thought this very nice. We were also given Beach towels - very much appreciated. There is a safe in the room. The location was slightly off the main streets which meant a good nights sleep. We had a car and there is private carpark round the side of the motel) everything was easy access. We took the car into town but you could easily walk. Free parking on the streets was from 5pm but gets busy later. We parked at the Marina for our Reef trip which was a cheaper and quicker option than taking and paying for pick up. An enjoyable stay and would not hesitate to stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendySwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2012

Thanks for the review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. In regard to the lack of toasters in rooms - they were all removed as a number of fire alarms occurred each resulting in a visit from the Fire Service and a fee of $1000, hence no more toasters in rooms. Some of our family rooms have micro wave ovens, but again no toasters!
Sir Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We stayed four nigts at the Heritage. The location of this small and quaint hotel couldn't be better. It is located 5 minutes from the Esplanade where most of the restaurants are located. Our room was on the third floor. It was a nice size, with a very nice balcony, clean and comfy. It was also very quiet around the hotel area which made it for 4 wonderful sleep nights. The hotel is nicely decorated, the staff is very friendly. We dealt mostly with Rosemary and she was incredible friendly and helpful. We also loved that there is a computer and printer in the lobby and that you get one hour of free internet. We had four wonderful days in Cairns and after seeing how far Port Douglas was from the airport, we were glad we chose Cairns as our base.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovemytraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

When we made the decision to purchase the Cairns Heritage, we took into consideration the location and whilst it was easily accessible to the CBD, it was equally close to the Cairns Base and Cairns Private Hospitable - it was the right decision. We appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Sir Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Everyone I met there were warm and friendly. The rooms were clean, neat and tidy and comfortable. Best value and the complimentary breakfast was an added bonus for choosing Heritage Cairns. Not too close and not too far from both the Esplanade and city center.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank misingPNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

It is always nice to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay at Heritage Cairns and in particular comments about Rosemary and her staff who really go out of their way to make our guests return as friends. Hope to see you again in the future.
Sir Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
608 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
0.1 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#20 of 64 in Cairns
511 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Heritage Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Heritage Cairns

Address: 8 Minnie St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#5 Family Hotel in Cairns
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £59 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Heritage Cairns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taxi service is available approx $20 each way between airport and hotel. Pool is basically large Spa. Internet is available at reception and wifi available throughout hotel. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, flat screen TV, en-suites and air conditioning . All rooms recently refurbished. We look forward to your visit to Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropical Heritage Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Cairns Hotel Cairns
Heritage Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing