We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Styles Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$75
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Regis City Quays(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
Mantra Esplanade Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$119
US$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$147
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$288
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (521)
Filter reviews
521 results
Traveller rating
242
206
61
11
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
206
61
11
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet streetshort walktwo blockscontinental breakfastyogurtfree internetstayed here for nightsbed was comfortablereef triphome away from homecentre of townshort stayair concairns esplanaderosemarytoursaustralia
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
231 - 236 of 521 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Although our reservation was described and booked as a 2-bedroom "suite" with kitchen, it turned out that it was simply two hotel rooms joined by a common door. The "kitchen" was a small sink, microwave, small fridge and 2-person table.
The rooms were clean but Spartan. Nice location and reasonable rate, just not up t on-line description.
Hotel staff very pleasant and accommodating.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElZid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Thank you for your time to write a review, we have the rooms like this to give privacy for those guests who use these rooms for extended families.
We find that they are a popular and economical way of accomodating up to 6 people, with 2 bathrooms, 3 TV's and more than adequate beds, with some facilities for having meals in your own room.
It is disappointing that you did not find them to your satisfaction
Rosemary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

The Tropical Heritage is a great place to stay. The staff there were friendly and greeted us every time they saw us. They have a grill on the patio that they let guests use, opening up their "kitchen" area so that we had access to silverware, plates, napkins, condiments, and so forth. When we went to see the ocean, they gave us beach towels to use. Breakfast was included with our stay and offered a variety of healthy options (cereal, toast, yogurt, milk, juices, oranges, bananas). The rooms are clean and comfortable. We really enjoyed our time there and highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Ask for the rate to include breakfast. I don't know if there's a fitness facility. We were so busy during our trip to Cairns that we didn't look for a fitness room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Thank you for yur comments, it is great to know when guests have been able to enjoy the facilities we have.
we do not pretend to be big and flashy but we do try hard to please and offer facilities that can be enjoyed.
Rosemary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

If you're passing by Cairns and need a central hotel close to the Esplanade within reasonable budget, then the Esplanade is your hotel. Don't expect much though. In my opinion, it's overpriced for what it is but the most important thing is that it's clean. Skip their breakfast and hit the Esplanade instead.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joellehaddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Public Relations Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we do try to please everyone, but sometimes this is not possible, it is a pity you were disapointed, maybe another time we can do better, we appreciate your comments about cleanliness this is something we do pride ourselves on.
rosemary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We booked a room here after a poor experience in Port Douglas and once again got surprised by the internet photos compared to the room. It was very small and tight and had the noisiest AC unit ever. After we went to bed the unit started to tick like a clock and did this for the majority of the night and the unit hummed along nicely with this so we woke very tired indeed.I guess we will have tio read the reviews before we book next time!

Room Tip: Check out the reviews first!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Thank you for your review, please accept apologies for air conditioner noise, we are gradually replacing all RAC air conditioners with split units. The size of the rooms vary on the type of room requested, the studio rooms are smaller than spar rooms and suites but they do represent excellent value for money and not overpriced. Since January 2013 we have been offering one nite free after two night this effectively is a 30% discount and to make the deal even more attractive we have been supplying complimentary continental breakfast free of charge.
As you can see from the review of our other guests, they do not share the view that the Heritage is overpriced and generally very satisfied with the hotel and the services it provided.
Our Manager, Rosemary is away attending to the funeral of her Mother in the meantime, my Brother Bruce is managing the place and according to guests he is doing a good job.
Let me know if we can be any further assistance, we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Sir Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Lovely room, clean and suitable for my needs. Close to town, easy walk to everything, Rosemary very kindly drove me to the port terminal for one of my tours while I was there. A very pleasant and restful 5 day stay and I'd recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: I had a lovely 3rd floor studio room for one - perfect for my needs.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janine2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Many thanks for your comments, we are glad you rnjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you in Cairns again some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews