We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Ranked #19 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Great place, thanks Rosemary, a must stay place close to everything near the Cairns centre all the shops and the rail station We will return to the Heritage on our next trip to town.Great selection of breakfast goodies to start the day, and good off street security parking, what more would you want.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

We do appreciate your comments, and compliments, it makes it all worth while when people like your selves are so complimentary.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we do hope to see you again some time in the future.
Rosemary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

Lovely homely hotel! Very helpful reception staff! Our room was an apartment on the third floor and was clean and not affected by any noise from other rooms or outside! Only downside was the area for making tea etc was very tiny! Recommend if you don't mind a walk to town and waterfront!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rebecca50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

thank you foryour comments about our homliness, we od not try to be anything more than a friendly, small Hotel where our guests are the most important.
we appreciate your comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Rosemary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Although our reservation was described and booked as a 2-bedroom "suite" with kitchen, it turned out that it was simply two hotel rooms joined by a common door. The "kitchen" was a small sink, microwave, small fridge and 2-person table.
The rooms were clean but Spartan. Nice location and reasonable rate, just not up t on-line description.
Hotel staff very pleasant and accommodating.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElZid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Thank you for your time to write a review, we have the rooms like this to give privacy for those guests who use these rooms for extended families.
We find that they are a popular and economical way of accomodating up to 6 people, with 2 bathrooms, 3 TV's and more than adequate beds, with some facilities for having meals in your own room.
It is disappointing that you did not find them to your satisfaction
Rosemary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

The Tropical Heritage is a great place to stay. The staff there were friendly and greeted us every time they saw us. They have a grill on the patio that they let guests use, opening up their "kitchen" area so that we had access to silverware, plates, napkins, condiments, and so forth. When we went to see the ocean, they gave us beach towels to use. Breakfast was included with our stay and offered a variety of healthy options (cereal, toast, yogurt, milk, juices, oranges, bananas). The rooms are clean and comfortable. We really enjoyed our time there and highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Ask for the rate to include breakfast. I don't know if there's a fitness facility. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Thank you for yur comments, it is great to know when guests have been able to enjoy the facilities we have.
we do not pretend to be big and flashy but we do try hard to please and offer facilities that can be enjoyed.
Rosemary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

If you're passing by Cairns and need a central hotel close to the Esplanade within reasonable budget, then the Esplanade is your hotel. Don't expect much though. In my opinion, it's overpriced for what it is but the most important thing is that it's clean. Skip their breakfast and hit the Esplanade instead.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joellehaddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Public Relations Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we do try to please everyone, but sometimes this is not possible, it is a pity you were disapointed, maybe another time we can do better, we appreciate your comments about cleanliness this is something we do pride ourselves on.
rosemary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Tropical Heritage is in a great location, a short walk to the Esplanade, and close to the main shopping area and markets. The room was clean and comfortable, and the staff extremely friendly and helpful, and booked our airport shuttle bus for us. There is a nice breakfast room and outside seating area.The price was extremely reasonable for inner Cairns.

Our only complaint, and it's not the fault of the hotel in any way, is that it was extremely noisy. Our room overlooked the car park, and there is a backpackers on the next corner, and the guests there stayed up all night, at least for the three nights we were there. We had to get up at 3.00am to catch the airport shuttle at 4.00am, and they were still partying.

The hotel is excellent, and the only reason I've only given it a rating of 4 was the noise from elsewhere.

Room Tip: Don't get a room overlooking the car park - southwestern side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pasqualie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Thank you so much for your review, we appreciate your comments.
We are glad you enjoyed your time in Cairns, and that we were able to assist you.
i do understand your feelings about the noise from the backpackers,this has been kept to a minimum recently where the Freemasons building normally blocks anything out.
Hopefully we will see you once again in Cairns
Regards
Rosemary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We booked a room here after a poor experience in Port Douglas and once again got surprised by the internet photos compared to the room. It was very small and tight and had the noisiest AC unit ever. After we went to bed the unit started to tick like a clock and did this for the majority of the night and the unit hummed along nicely with this so we woke very tired indeed.I guess we will have tio read the reviews before we book next time!

Room Tip: Check out the reviews first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Thank you for your review, please accept apologies for air conditioner noise, we are gradually replacing all RAC air conditioners with split units. The size of the rooms vary on the type of room requested, the studio rooms are smaller than spar rooms and suites but they do represent excellent value for money and not overpriced. Since January 2013 we have been offering one nite free after two night this effectively is a 30% discount and to make the deal even more attractive we have been supplying complimentary continental breakfast free of charge.
As you can see from the review of our other guests, they do not share the view that the Heritage is overpriced and generally very satisfied with the hotel and the services it provided.
Our Manager, Rosemary is away attending to the funeral of her Mother in the meantime, my Brother Bruce is managing the place and according to guests he is doing a good job.
Let me know if we can be any further assistance, we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Sir Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
610 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
0.1 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#21 of 64 in Cairns
515 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Heritage Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Heritage Cairns

Address: 8 Minnie St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#5 Family Hotel in Cairns
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £60 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Heritage Cairns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taxi service is available approx $20 each way between airport and hotel. Pool is basically large Spa. Internet is available at reception and wifi available throughout hotel. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, flat screen TV, en-suites and air conditioning . All rooms recently refurbished. We look forward to your visit to Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropical Heritage Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Cairns Hotel Cairns
Heritage Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing