We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Ranked #13 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended!!!!”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Great place, close to everything. Rooms were old but clean and we were upgraded which was a really nice surprise.

The Manager Rosemary was absolutely delightful and so very helpful, she definitely made our stay that much more special!

Room Tip: Spa is very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    194
    50
    8
    1
See reviews for
86
247
63
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This hotel was really good value for money. Comfortable rooms and close enough to walk to the esplanade and restaurants. The staff were very helpful and Rosemary went out of her way to make sure our stay was great including taking us to our boat for our trip to Cape York. Hope to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bomberlyn58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

In September I spent one night and a little later two nights at this hotel. Stayed there because the trip advisor comments were so positive and found it met if not exceeded expectations. Rosemary goes out of her way to be helpful and informative and there is a very good atmosphere surrounding this hotel which is clean, comfortable and extremely convenient. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinnyDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
We appreciate the time you have taken to write a positive review on the Tropical Heritage Hotel in Cairns. We take all reviews seriously as we are always anxious to improve our services to our valued guests.
I also write on behalf of Rosemary, our Manager - she has been quite busy but I wan you to know that she reads all reviews and shares them with her fantastic staff.
Regards
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We spend 5 nights in this hotel. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. We enjoyed the grill in the garden very much were we could have our own bbq! Sauces, salt, pepper and tableware were provided - great!
Rosemary, the manager, was extremly kind and helpful with booking our tours to Kuranda and the reef. She even drove us to the station/pier so we didn't have to pay extra for the shuttles. Really appreciated!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelCookiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Clean, friendly, good location! Wonderful one night stay having just arrived in Australia after approximately 20 hours of travel. Staff could not have been more friendly or accommodating. Location very good, easy walking distant to lagoon, shops and restaurants. Room and bed very comfortable and quiet. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Polly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The hotel is only a couple of blocks from the water front and a similar distance from the mail shopping area - all very walkable. There is a definite PNG 'feel' about the hotel because of all the art work. Room was are quite and bed is comfortable however one issue is the air conditioner unit - the back rooms >X08 seems to have wall mounted units thus lots of noise as they clunk in and out. The front rooms have split systems.
Staff are friendly and the place is clean.
The breakfast room is small but adequate and they provide a very basic continental style breakfast with homemade jams etc.

Room Tip: A room on the second or third floor and one with a split air-con unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OUTBiking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
We appreciate the time you have taken to write a positive review on the Tropical Heritage Hotel in Cairns. We take all reviews seriously as we are always anxious to improve our services to our valued guests.
I also write on behalf of Rosemary, our Manager - she has been quite busy but I wan you to know that she reads all reviews and shares them with her fantastic staff.
Regards
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moresby
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This time I stayed for 5 days and was with my niece from the UK who had spent 6 weeks in PNG with me. We had a lovely large suite which was very comfortable, clean and well equipped.
Lovely to see Rosemary and her staff again and this time meet the wonderful Trixie.
I'll be back in November. The Heritage continues to provide excellent value for money in a central location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudithPortMoresby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
We appreciate the time you have taken to write a positive review on the Tropical Heritage Hotel in Cairns. We take all reviews seriously as we are always anxious to improve our services to our valued guests.
I also write on behalf of Rosemary, our Manager - she has been quite busy but I wan you to know that she reads all reviews and shares them with her fantastic staff.
Regards
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
554 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,059 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#18 of 64 in Cairns
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#16 of 64 in Cairns
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Heritage Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Heritage Cairns

Property: Tropical Heritage Cairns
Address: 8 Minnie St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#4 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#5 Family Hotel in Cairns
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Heritage Cairns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taxi service is available approx $20 each way between airport and hotel. Pool is basically large Spa. Internet is available at reception and wifi available throughout hotel. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, flat screen TV, en-suites and air conditioning . All rooms recently refurbished. We look forward to your visit to Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropical Heritage Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Cairns Hotel Cairns
Heritage Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing