We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem of a place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Ranked #19 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This is a little gem of a place. It doesn't have a high profile on the street and can't be described as luxurious but it excels for quietly efficient and friendly service and comfort. We had a one bedroomed apartment for a week, with a large king size bed, comfortable relaxing furniture in the sitting room, an excellent digital TV and plenty of surfaces and cupboards. The kitchenette was very basic with just a microwave and sink but that was all we needed. The bathroom was excellent with the best shower on our trip - powerful and flexible (we've stayed in 23 hotels over the past two months going round the world). Rosemary and Cynthia were very helpful with all we needed, including lengthy discussions about the best inclusions and locations for tours. Rosemary was particularly helpful with lifts to the station etc. There was a guest laundry on our floor and a nearby small collection of books too. Disappointingly wifi was only two hours free, but cafes and the public library were useful for this. Air conditioning was quiet, with separate controls for the living room and bedroom.

The Esplanade was a couple of blocks away and a delightful walk along the seafront to the centre of town. For some reason it took us a while to orientate ourselves with this hotel as to which way we were facing, but eventually we got the hang of it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blackcat2york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

We appreciate the time you have taken to write a positive review on the Tropical Heritage Hotel in Cairns. We take all reviews seriously as we are always anxious to improve our services to our valued guests.
I also write on behalf of Rosemary, our Manager - she has been quite busy but I wan you to know that she reads all reviews and shares them with her fantastic staff.
Regards
Sir Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 203 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

On our arrival at the Tropical Heritage my wife and I were welcomed by name and wished a happy 40th wedding anniversary by Rosemary Robertson, the manager. Just like family! And to our surprise: a room upgrade to the corner suite with two balconies - wonderful. Great location too, within easy walking distance to the Esplanade, shops, pharmacy/clinic and restaurants. We received lots of good tips on tours, the Reef and where to eat - especially the RSL. Rosemary made every effort to make us feel welcome. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend the Tropical Heritage in Cairns.

Room Tip: The large, well-appointed corner suite was very quiet, had two balconies overlooking the side garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike7658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

We appreciate the time you have taken to write a positive review on the Tropical Heritage Hotel in Cairns. We take all reviews seriously as we are always anxious to improve our services to our valued guests.
I also write on behalf of Rosemary, our Manager - she has been quite busy but I wan you to know that she reads all reviews and shares them with her fantastic staff.
Regards
Sir Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I checked in the hotel for one night prior to taking the Savannahlander train tour. The manager, Rosemary, said it was no problem to leave my large suitcase and car at the hotel while I was on the tour (I was going to stay at the Tropical Heritage once I returned from the train trip). Rosemary kindly offered to take me to the train station early (6 am!) the next morning. When I returned from the train trip, Rosemary picked me up at the train station (note: on a map the station does not look that far away, but Cairns has long city blocks). The room was very nice, the hotel was quiet, the bed was comfortable, and the price was reasonable. Rosemary's friendliness and help made my stay at the hotel even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mzary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

We appreciate the time you have taken to write a positive review on the Tropical Heritage Hotel in Cairns. We take all reviews seriously as we are always anxious to improve our services to our valued guests.
I also write on behalf of Rosemary, our Manager - she has been quite busy but I wan you to know that she reads all reviews and shares them with her fantastic staff.
Regards
Sir Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This hotel is a great choice not so much for whether the property itself is impressive (it is fine but basically generic) but because the manager, Rosemary Robertson, makes significant effort (where necessary) to ensure that visitors have a great trip.

I had two full days in Cairns, and before I arrived, I booked one full-day snorkeling trip to Michaelmas Cay and one full-day tour of Cape Tribulation and environs. Both of these trips were cancelled by their respective companies at the last minute. Rosemary called around to find me great replacements. The town of Cairns itself is rather dull. Without Rosemary's help, the stay in Cairns would have been a low point of my trip to Australia; because of her help, it was the highlight.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller02139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Great place, close to everything. Rooms were old but clean and we were upgraded which was a really nice surprise.

The Manager Rosemary was absolutely delightful and so very helpful, she definitely made our stay that much more special!

Room Tip: Spa is very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This hotel was really good value for money. Comfortable rooms and close enough to walk to the esplanade and restaurants. The staff were very helpful and Rosemary went out of her way to make sure our stay was great including taking us to our boat for our trip to Cape York. Hope to visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bomberlyn58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

In September I spent one night and a little later two nights at this hotel. Stayed there because the trip advisor comments were so positive and found it met if not exceeded expectations. Rosemary goes out of her way to be helpful and informative and there is a very good atmosphere surrounding this hotel which is clean, comfortable and extremely convenient. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinnyDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

We appreciate the time you have taken to write a positive review on the Tropical Heritage Hotel in Cairns. We take all reviews seriously as we are always anxious to improve our services to our valued guests.
I also write on behalf of Rosemary, our Manager - she has been quite busy but I wan you to know that she reads all reviews and shares them with her fantastic staff.
Regards
Sir Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
609 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
0.1 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#20 of 64 in Cairns
512 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Heritage Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Heritage Cairns

Address: 8 Minnie St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#5 Family Hotel in Cairns
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £60 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Heritage Cairns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taxi service is available approx $20 each way between airport and hotel. Pool is basically large Spa. Internet is available at reception and wifi available throughout hotel. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, flat screen TV, en-suites and air conditioning . All rooms recently refurbished. We look forward to your visit to Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Tropical Heritage Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Cairns Hotel Cairns
Heritage Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing