We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just average all around”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Ranked #14 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“just average all around”
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

we picked this place because it was rated so high. when we first got there and into our room, we turned on the AC and it leaked water. they told us to just wait to see if it stops and when it didn't, they moved us to a bigger room (only one available), which was a nice upgrade. but even with the upgrade, there's really not much to rave about at all. location isn't the best, as it is several blocks away from all the good stuff. not ridiculously far, but enough to be a factor/pain when going out and coming back late at night. I would suggest finding a place closer to the esplanade.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank finncomics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
I beg to differ on your opinion stated in your review. if it was "just an average" hotel why so many positive comments and a rating of #6 out of 68 hotels in Cairns. These are the reviews of guests who write of their own free will stating that were totally satisfied. The Tropical Cairns Heritage has never promoted itself as a 5 star international hotel, it is a good quality, clean hotel, well maintained and run by an extraordinary manager and a fantastic staff that have made the Tropical Heritage one of the most sought after hotels in Cairns since we acquired the property in 2011.
The tariff provides excellent value for money. We hope to see you again in the near future
Sir Peter Bartetr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    199
    52
    8
    1
See reviews for
88
252
64
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a family for four nights. We arrived after reception had closed but as discussed with Rosemary beforehand, she left us with directions for an easy check-in. The room was large and comfortable. The bed and linen were very good. The bathroom was large and clean. The kitchenette was well equipped. However, the best part about this hotel is the staff who are friendly and helpful. Rosemary is lovely and helped us organise a hire car and gave us advice about our drive up to the Daintree. We loved the thoughtful touches such as refillable jugs of drinking water and the sunscreen, insect repellent and ponchos for use down in the foyer. It's about a fifteen minute walk to the main part of the city or a short $10-$12 taxi to the Reef Fleet Terminal (where lots of boat trips depart from). Free wifi vouchers are provided. I'd happily recommend this hotel and would come back when next in Cairns.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank heretoexplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
We appreciate your review which is made available to the staff. All comments are taken seriously and we continue to do all possible to provide quality accommodation at an affordable rate in an environment of hospitality. Thank you for your review.
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The Tropical Heritage has a colorful, tropical feel with splendid flowers and garden. Framed photos of Papua, Niugini decorate the hall walls. The hotel is clean and appealing, complete with in-room fridge and terrace overlooking palms. Only a short walk to the happenin' Esplanade. Proprietor Rosemary kindly drove us to the wharf for our early morning boat trip to the Great Barrier Reef.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for writing a review. The Tropical Heritage in Cairns shows off the kind of hospitality you can expect in PNG. We always hope that our guests who are not from PNG will one day visit Papua New Guinea to see just what a marvellous tourist destination awaits them. Thank you for your review
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

None of the frills of a five star hotel, but has the comforts. Great welcome from Rosemary and her assistants. Set a little away 10 mins walk from the main shopping area but close to the sea front walk. Rooms are good size with all one needs. Breakfast is continental but with enough to satisfy all.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyril-Mundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review, we appreciate the time taken to express your views and any comments are taken seriously as we are always anxious to improve our service to guests and retain our very high Trip Advisor ratings
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with another couple. The hotel is in a great location, within walking distance of the Esplanade and all the restaurants. Rooms were fine and the staff was great.
Rosemary helped us with all tours and details. We would definitely stay here if we return to Cairns. Cute little breakfast room was very adequate

Room Tip: third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sroch59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review, we appreciate the time taken to express your views and any comments are taken seriously as we are always anxious to improve our service to guests and retain our very high Trip Advisor ratings
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Because we had lived in Papua New Guinea, my adult daughters and I decided to stay at the Tropical Heritage Cairns - we were not disappointed. We could have chosen a multi-storey apartment block with a bevy of assistants, but a smaller, unpretentious boutique hotel sounded more appealing. Apart from the obvious PNG touches such as artefacts and photographs, there was the wonderful Manager, Rosemary, who had lived in PNG for a number of years, plus her lovely assistants some of whom hail from PNG. Rosemary could not have been more helpful - she gave us very good advice on how to make the most of our stay in Cairns. She pre-booked the most suitable Barrier Reef full-day trip for us, and also organised a hire car from a trusted company which collects guests from the hotel and drops them back at the end of the 24 hour period. The rooms were spacious, the bathrooms and kitchenette well-equipped, and the beds very comfortable. Rosemary presented us with a carton of fresh milk each evening, without being asked. We did not mind the easy, level walk to the Esplanade with its cafes, restaurants and bustling night-life. Being two blocks away from the Esplanade, the Hotel is very quiet. To us it was like a home away from home. Anyone with a PNG connection would find it a treat to be with 'wantoks' again. We would love to return one day.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MarieCB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review, we appreciate the time taken to express your views and any comments are taken seriously as we are always anxious to improve our service to guests and retain our very high Trip Advisor ratings
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

It's not fair to compare this hotel/motel with more upmarket and expensive hotels. You get good value for money with rooms of a good size and staff who are helpful and friendly. Yes it's getting a bit older and even a little tired but it was better than I expected. The help yourself continental breakfast was damn good value and there was more than enough choice. The air-conditioning in the rooms worked a treat and the bathrooms were all clean. It's a short walk to the boardwalk and into town so its well placed. Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiverDanSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review, we appreciate the time taken to express your views and any comments are taken seriously as we are always anxious to improve our service to guests and retain our very high Trip Advisor ratings
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#19 of 64 in Cairns
484 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Heritage Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Heritage Cairns

Property: Tropical Heritage Cairns
Address: 8 Minnie St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#5 Family Hotel in Cairns
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Heritage Cairns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taxi service is available approx $20 each way between airport and hotel. Pool is basically large Spa. Internet is available at reception and wifi available throughout hotel. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, flat screen TV, en-suites and air conditioning . All rooms recently refurbished. We look forward to your visit to Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tropical Heritage Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Cairns Hotel Cairns
Heritage Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing